can a geforce3 ti200 run battlefield (the first one)?

Joined
Aug 10, 2001
Messages
2,312
i know it might not be pretty, but the geforce3 ti200 DOES support directX 8.1 right? so the game should run. am i right?

okay, second question- now how bad would it be? someone wants to buy an old dell p3 933mhz system with 256MB of ram to run the game. so i don't think they can expect too much in terms of performance anyway.

TIA
 

optlox

n00b
Joined
Nov 7, 2005
Messages
45
Actually... bump it upto 512 or higher, you should be good to go... we got it to somehow run on an old school 500mhz gateway... with only 256! laggy as hell but still ran.
 

dderidex

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 31, 2001
Messages
6,313
Linkage

At 1024x768, with an AthlonXP '2800+', average FPS is 59.7.

That's not bad, actually.

However, note that with a GeForce2 Ti, jumping up to an AthlonXP '2800+' saw the FPS jump from 37.1 to 52.4. The GeForce4 Ti4200 shows a similar jump - 42.3 to 69.

That's a pretty good indication this game is SERIOUSLY CPU-bound, so a PIII 933mhz...will probably be a little rough. Paired with a sufficiently powerful CPU, a GeForce3 Ti200 should handle it fine. You might want to see if you can dig up one of the 1.2ghz or 1.4ghz PIIIs for cheap on eBay or something. Should be able to find them for less than $100 with a little effort.

Note that those benchmarks were done with 512mb of memory, though, so...YMMV.
 

chameleoneel

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
4,206
geforce 3 and 4 are both only directx 8 btw. not 8.1. they don't support pixel shader 1.4 which is the main feature of directx 8.1. and it does in fact, affect image quality in games that use 1.4, contrary to what nvidia was saying back then. just play max payne 2 for a perfect example. the image quality and graphical effects on my ati 9000pro (8.1) is noticeably better (especially the character models) than my geforce 4 ti-4200 (8.0)
 

niranjan162

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 22, 2005
Messages
153
i dont think it would work i tried playing on a p3 700mhz with the same vid card and 384 ram and it wouldnt work.
 

air2k5

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 24, 2005
Messages
1,055
dderidex said:
Linkage

At 1024x768, with an AthlonXP '2800+', average FPS is 59.7.

That's not bad, actually.

However, note that with a GeForce2 Ti, jumping up to an AthlonXP '2800+' saw the FPS jump from 37.1 to 52.4. The GeForce4 Ti4200 shows a similar jump - 42.3 to 69.

That's a pretty good indication this game is SERIOUSLY CPU-bound, so a PIII 933mhz...will probably be a little rough. Paired with a sufficiently powerful CPU, a GeForce3 Ti200 should handle it fine. You might want to see if you can dig up one of the 1.2ghz or 1.4ghz PIIIs for cheap on eBay or something. Should be able to find them for less than $100 with a little effort.

Note that those benchmarks were done with 512mb of memory, though, so...YMMV.[/
QUOTE]
I agree with him, however you can try to get athlon xp+ mobo for around $100. Maybe a 2500+?! I think that bf will run better on that vs 1.2 to 1.4 celeron or p4.
i have a brand new Socket A mobo that I can sell for $20.
 
Top