Call Of Duty: Black Ops III Beta is live on PC.

TheBlueChanell

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 15, 2005
Messages
4,660
Cool, I was interested in checking it out but I certainly wasn't going to pre-order just to get it. I have always preferred the Treyarch/GrayMatter games to the IW ones of late.

Interested to see how it is, last CoD game I bought was Ghosts and it was a fucking shit show on both PC and Wii-U. The Wii-U version was actually better than the PC release, imo.
 
Last edited:

TheBlueChanell

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 15, 2005
Messages
4,660
its not showing up in my library 0_o

Couple of my friends have said the same thing. It's possible that it's not rolled out to all of Valve's distribution / datacenters yet if that is indeed how they handle their deployments. Not quite sure how that works.

Oddly enough one of my buddies is in Spokane and you'd think that he'd have it first being so close to Valve. It just went live @ 4PM PST though.
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
18,768
I have it in my library, I am on the east coast.
It has an "added to account 11/14/2012" date.
black-ops-3-beta.jpg
 

Nytegard

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 8, 2004
Messages
3,486
I finally can test this out with a kbm. I tried the PS4 version. I think I'm the worst player in the world when it comes to using a gamepad. My kdr was something like .3.

Anyway, I'm downloading, so who knows when that will be done. It seems everyone else is downloading too, as it took me 15 minutes to download it on the PS4, and Steam's saying I have another 5 hours to go.

My initial impressions on the PS4 was that it was similar to Advanced Warfare. The lag was definitely better, as now I can tell I'm being shot, versus AW where I typically just died with no warning, and then in the kill cam watch as the opponent runs up to me and unloads his bullets while I'm standing still like a moron.

I don't understand why each Call of Duty got laggier since Modern Warfare. That game was butter smooth, and ever since they introduced lag compensation with future games, I now feel like I'm running with 3000 ping, even when pinging the actual place is <15ms.

*EDIT*

Guess I'm just being throttled by Cox then and not Steam being oversaturated.

4611224898.png
 
Last edited:

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
20,751
not showing up for me yet...I'm on the East Coast (NYC)...can't say I'm all that interested in playing it but might give it a go to test it out...don't have anything to play until Phantom Pain hits next week
 

TheBlueChanell

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 15, 2005
Messages
4,660
Pretty fucking fun, just played 3 games. I don't know what AW was like but they added the parkour bits from Titanfall and there's a thruster/jetpack thingy similar to Halo 5. I'm a little bummed they took at lean afaict but definitely going to play some more later this evening.

Also, the game downloaded for me at a constant 12.0MB/s for those discussing DL speeds/issues.
 

Streiw

Bad Santa Gifter 2016
Joined
May 9, 2015
Messages
505
I'm thinking this beta is only for the people that have heavily played/purchased past CoDs. I've only bought Black Ops 1 and I've got no beta access.
 

cageymaru

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Messages
20,711
Pretty fucking fun, just played 3 games. I don't know what AW was like but they added the parkour bits from Titanfall and there's a thruster/jetpack thingy similar to Halo 5. I'm a little bummed they took at lean afaict but definitely going to play some more later this evening.

Also, the game downloaded for me at a constant 12.0MB/s for those discussing DL speeds/issues.

I was downloading at 42MB/s. So the Steam servers are holding up well for me here in North Carolina.
 

brennok

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
1,315
Downloaded it and played a few matches. Meh.

I already uninstalled. I think I just am not a COD gamer anymore.
 
D

Deleted whining member 223597

Guest
Downloaded it and played a few matches. Meh.

I already uninstalled. I think I just am not a COD gamer anymore.

That's exactly how I felt. Already requested a refund. The last 3 CoD's have all been trash now. It feels like my character weighs 5000 tons, ADS sensitivity is comically bad (need to make that stock attachment useful....) and there just isn't anything that makes me want to continue playing. The jumping crap doesn't belong in this series.
 

TheBlueChanell

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 15, 2005
Messages
4,660
I was downloading at 42MB/s. So the Steam servers are holding up well for me here in North Carolina.

Good deal, I'm in Chicagoland and I envy your speeds btw, lol. I'm hoping someone brings decent gigabit to my area soon.
 

piscian18

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
11,021
I'm thinking this beta is only for the people that have heavily played/purchased past CoDs. I've only bought Black Ops 1 and I've got no beta access.

Could be, I recall calling Kotick a worthless shitwad a little too vocally after CODMW2 and that after the blops mess I'd rather fuck a bottle of siracha without protection than buy another COD. I'm still torn on that.
 

TheGamerZ

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 18, 2003
Messages
5,217
I'm thinking this beta is only for the people that have heavily played/purchased past CoDs. I've only bought Black Ops 1 and I've got no beta access.

You have to own Ghosts, Advanced Warfare or Black Ops 2.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
17,283
It's good but I don't think it's much better then Ghosts and it's not any better then AW not to distract people try it by all means I think the engine is dated.
I found a tent in one section of the came that is suppose to be for campers but you can't go in the tent.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
17,283
The problem with the series they keep jacking up the playablity gizmos to keep the game intresting which doesn't help casual players.
 

Nytegard

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 8, 2004
Messages
3,486
Does this one have that cool host migration feature?

Like AW, it uses those hidden servers you can't choose. I've been in games with people from Australia, whereas I'm near NYC. I just find it hard to believe that there are so few people playing BO3 that people 10000 miles apart end up in the same latency dependent genre. Seriously, with all this PC Master Race complaining about 60 fps, why can't there be a PC Master Race complaining about sub 60ms ping?
 

Krazyxazn

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
316
The game seems pretty darn unplayable for me. Massive stuttering with 70-120 fps and 50-60 ping. Oddly enough it happened on the last game and quit after 3 hours of trying to play.

Update: Changed all settings to medium and now it works.
 
Last edited:
D

Deleted whining member 223597

Guest
Like AW, it uses those hidden servers you can't choose. I've been in games with people from Australia, whereas I'm near NYC. I just find it hard to believe that there are so few people playing BO3 that people 10000 miles apart end up in the same latency dependent genre. Seriously, with all this PC Master Race complaining about 60 fps, why can't there be a PC Master Race complaining about sub 60ms ping?

The one game I joined by myself I had a sub 40ms ping. When I joined with East Coasters I had a 120ms ping. Not sure how you got into Australian servers. Did you play TDM or Domination? It seems like all other game modes are dead.
 

DPI

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 20, 2013
Messages
11,919
The problem with the series they keep jacking up the playablity gizmos to keep the game intresting which doesn't help casual players.

Well yeah, this is the defacto game series of Adderal'd 'dew & doritos console kids, so they need a constant stream of new hyperactivity gimmicks as rapidly as McDonald's rotates their happy meal toys.

Enjoy.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
28,066
The game seems pretty darn unplayable for me. Massive stuttering with 70-120 fps and 50-60 ping. Oddly enough it happened on the last game and quit after 3 hours of trying to play.

Update: Changed all settings to medium and now it works.
SLI is more than likely not working. You might get better performance by switching to single card for the time being.
 

Nytegard

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 8, 2004
Messages
3,486
The one game I joined by myself I had a sub 40ms ping. When I joined with East Coasters I had a 120ms ping. Not sure how you got into Australian servers. Did you play TDM or Domination? It seems like all other game modes are dead.

Just TDM. It's their whole game matching scheme. The game just typically shoots me into the first game it finds.

SLI is more than likely not working. You might get better performance by switching to single card for the time being.

SLI seems to be working, or else this game is really underpowered. Even @ 1440p, I'm getting min 200 fps. It's about time they update their engine. Everything's silky smooth with the exception of players who tend to warp around all over the place, but I blame that on their awful netcode.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
17,283
I'm just going to hold onto the game hoping that the other maps are more imaginative everything level design is pretty generic.
Battlefield 3 Norshar canals is basic but it's still popular years later cause it's more unpredictable and fun.
This game is so unpredictable it's not much fun
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
754
Like AW, it uses those hidden servers you can't choose. I've been in games with people from Australia, whereas I'm near NYC. I just find it hard to believe that there are so few people playing BO3 that people 10000 miles apart end up in the same latency dependent genre. Seriously, with all this PC Master Race complaining about 60 fps, why can't there be a PC Master Race complaining about sub 60ms ping?


Looks there are already 22000 people playing the beta:
http://steamcharts.com/app/388520

It will be interesting to see how many they end up with.

Advanced Warfare is down to about 3000 a day:
http://steamcharts.com/app/209660
 

BiH115

Gif Guy
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
9,327
Could be, I recall calling Kotick a worthless shitwad a little too vocally after CODMW2 and that after the blops mess I'd rather fuck a bottle of siracha without protection than buy another COD. I'm still torn on that.

2811620-1613779424-GIF-A.gif


For what it's worth, I don't see it in my library either. Would be cool to at least try it. Haven't touched a CoD game since Black Ops 1.
 

LiquidX

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 7, 2004
Messages
3,757
Game is fucking awesome. Plays like Black Ops Titanfall. Also looks and runs great.
 

piscian18

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
11,021
Game is fucking awesome. Plays like Black Ops Titanfall. Also looks and runs great.

Plays like Black Ops Titanfall...


Plays like Black Ops Titanfall.....


Plays like Black Ops Titanfall. .......
 

yourgrandma

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 15, 2011
Messages
1,384
I thought advanced warfare may have been on to something good for cod. All they needed to do was ditch the over reliance on hitscan and increase the ttk making aim and headshots more important.

Feels like they are regressing back with a ttk that is even lower. Wall running is meh and not as good as the more free form movement in AW where you could leap and dash almost anywhere.
 

Nytegard

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 8, 2004
Messages
3,486
I thought advanced warfare may have been on to something good for cod. All they needed to do was ditch the over reliance on hitscan and increase the ttk making aim and headshots more important.

Feels like they are regressing back with a ttk that is even lower. Wall running is meh and not as good as the more free form movement in AW where you could leap and dash almost anywhere.

I'm probably paranoid, but it feels like they're weighting the shots depending on score. Every time I seem to have a few good games in a row, I end up, against the same players, barely ever getting a kill, while getting headshot quite a lot.

Regardless, the bow & arrow (Sparrow) is heavily overpowered. From previous other games, my hit ratio is about 21%. Yet I've barely missed a shot with the bow. It feels like there's some auto-aim going on in the game.
 

Streiw

Bad Santa Gifter 2016
Joined
May 9, 2015
Messages
505
so that's why it didn't show up for me...I only have Black Ops 1 and Modern Warfare 2 installed on Steam

Which is quite stupid, as you'd think they'd want to try to lure in people that haven't bought their games in years.
 

TheBlueChanell

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 15, 2005
Messages
4,660
I must need glasses. I thought the game looked really ugly and was hoping these weren't the final textures.

There's a super sampling slider, by default mine was at like 75% and looked muddy as hell. Cranking that up increases the texture quality, they aren't amazing by any stretch of means but they certainly aren't horrible either.
 

brennok

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
1,315
Maybe that is what it is then. I already uninstalled or I would check it. I only briefly messed with the settings.
 
Top