CAD$340 Core 2 Solo 11.6" netbook with HDMI, 3 GB, 250 GB, Win7HP

shurcooL

[H]ard|Gawd
http://www.canadacomputers.com/index.php?do=ShowProduct&cmd=pd&pid=026633&cid=NBK.300.555

CAD$340 until Sunday (inclusive), $360 afterwards.

The 6-cell battery gives 5-6 hours of battery life with WiFi on, more without.

Excellent build quality.

Free upgrade to Windows 7 Home Premium.

Quite slim and light for the 11.6", the battery is flush with body, very nice design.

Runs really cool and quiet, it's the most silent netbook I've ever seen.

Intel CULV Core 2 Solo SU3500 1.4 GHz processor is a magnitude times faster than any Atom CPU.

HDMI out port is awesome. Hook it up to any HDTV with no hassle. It plays 1080p movies fluidly out of the box.

I've been using one for 2 months now since I bought it new for $450.

Now they have these refurbed models for $340, so I got another one (the first goes to my dad, this one for myself).

Don't mind that it's refurbed, the guy opens the box for you and lets you inspect for physical damage - the only thing the 15-day in-store warranty doesn't cover. You also get 1 year warranty from manufacturer.

This netbook is an absolutely beauty, I'm sure anyone would fall in love with it after using it. But only get it if you need a *netbook*, keeping in mind it's not a full-blown 15" Core 2 Duo laptop with CD-rom, and keep in the mind the dot pitch is pretty small. I would recommend using 125% font size in Windows 7 unless you have really sharp eyes.

I feel really bad for people buying 11.6" netbooks with Atom Z520 that are absolutely pitiful, slower than N270, and are simply no comparison with an Intel CULV cpu.

The biling keyboard can be easily replaced by an Acer 751h US layout keyboard for <$20 on ebay.

bg_main.jpg

http://www.gateway.com/programs/ecseries/

Note that the new Gateway is just a brand of Acer. So this is really an Acer netbook under the gateway label. The equivalent Acer netbook is the 1810/1410 series.

11 page review