Buying ram for Ryzen?

Discussion in 'Memory' started by lightsout, Nov 11, 2018.

  1. lightsout

    lightsout Gawd

    Messages:
    685
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    I am doing a little HTPC living room gamer with an R5 1400 I got form here and a gtx 1060. It's an itx build and I am looking at the MSI or Asrock ITX B450 boards. Looking at the qvl of the boards there i snot much ram on there, especially in the 3000-3200 range, mostly uncommon sets.

    How picky do I need to be? In my Asus B450-I with R5 2600 it accepted my Tridentz 3200 c16 just fine, but when I put some older LPX sticks with basically the same ratings (3200c16) I had all sorts of issues.

    Not sure what to look out for. I am looking to stay cheap for this build. Seeing some sets close to 100$ that are 3000mhz.
     
  2. Kyle_Bennett

    Kyle_Bennett Editor-in-Chief HardOCP Staff Member

    Messages:
    52,075
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    Check the QVL list for the motherboard.
     
    primetime and pendragon1 like this.
  3. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,194
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    ^listen to the boss. for first gen stick to the qvl.
     
  4. lightsout

    lightsout Gawd

    Messages:
    685
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    I did but thats the thing, they seem to have off brands and uncommon models, its a little frustrating.
     
  5. jmilcher

    jmilcher 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,066
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    RAM was a major issue for first gen ryzen. Thats proably the only time in the last 10 years I'd say absolutely stick to QVL. Normally for most other platforms you can stray here and there,
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  6. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,194
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    is it the itx/ac? is so they have most of the major manufaturers listed in the qvl. first gen ryzen doesn't support really high ram speeds and is picky, so dont hope for much over 3000.
     
  7. lightsout

    lightsout Gawd

    Messages:
    685
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    I was looking at that or the MSI.

    I was looking at faster ram because everyone says its needed for ryzen, maybe I should just grab some 2666 and be done with it.
     
  8. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,194
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    oops I misread and missed the MSI in the op.
    yes it does help but gen one isn't designed to use the highest speed ram, gen two is better but still not as high as intel. you prob wouldn't notice the difference between 2666 and 3000 in normal use, unless you are benchmarking and looking for it.
     
  9. lightsout

    lightsout Gawd

    Messages:
    685
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Ok thanks that will save me some cash.
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  10. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    23,735
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Update the bios. Even with 1st Gen Ryzens, later bioses give you much better memory compatibility.

    Memory that simply wouldn't work anywhere near rated speeds now accept the XMP profile and work fine in many cases.
     
  11. notarat

    notarat [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,656
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Definitely update to the latest BIOS. An updated BIOS can make a world of difference in RAM Compatibility and stability.

    I ran my Patriot 3400MHz at far less than 3200MHz for over a year because the initial BIOS didn't like the Patriot Viper RAM. Once I updated BIOS to resolve a different issue, then rebooted, I was running at 3200MHz with tight timings and it's rock-solid stable.
     
  12. Bigbacon

    Bigbacon [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,334
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    I have to say researching AM4 boards right now and this is nuts to me. I don't think I've ever had to actually look or care about vendor supported ram before, ever. I would just buy stuff and slap it in and it was good to go.

    I'm reading that with Ryzen I want FAsT ram..but the lists are confusing as fuck and often the part # I can't even find that ram anywhere. That and the SS/DS stuff... Like you have to do a doctoral research paper on ram.
     
  13. Master_shake_

    Master_shake_ Little Bitch

    Messages:
    7,800
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
  14. Elf_Boy

    Elf_Boy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,253
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    I picked up ram before my board/cpu and seems to have gotten very lucky. I can affirm, strongly, keep your bios updated with gen 1 ryzen. Makes a world a difference.

    I've read ram compatibility can vary from one individual ryzen to another due to who knows what variability in the manufacturing process. Maybe some of that has been ironed out by now.
     
  15. serial__thrilla

    serial__thrilla Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    141
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    2nd generation too, bro. The fucking RAM compatibility was such shit, I had to take out my sweet 2x8 GB DDR4 3200 Ripjaws 5 CL16 out of my sweet 2700x system , and replace everything with a 4x4 set of Patriot 2x4 (times two) Signature Line 2400 MHz kits, cause the MSI x470 mobo just refused to cooperate.
    Latest BIOS and drivers and all shit, at the time. Broke my heart :(.
    I am sorely disappointed, basically. Might have to go back to an Intel platform next time, to avoid the hassle and the waste of time all this caused.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2019
  16. D Unit209

    D Unit209 n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    I am going through the same crap after going through Asrocks QVL for memory. Once I noticed almost all the listed stuff was unavailable anywhere, I went to pcpartspicker.com and searched for completed build logs of people using my same motherboard and copied their exact memory.
     
  17. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,480
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Some of us paid a little extra and did a little research to get easy setup 3200 memory for our ryzen builds
     
    funkydmunky likes this.
  18. Rifter0876

    Rifter0876 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Yeah once i sprung for some good b die ram setup was a cakewalk, used the stilts timings and performance was great, havent had a ram issues now since switching ram.
     
  19. serial__thrilla

    serial__thrilla Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    141
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2018
    How do you tell if something is b-die? (stupid question, but I don't know).
    How do you tell if something is other than b-die?
    As in, when you order online...how do you know? I honestly have no idea at this point.
     
  20. Rifter0876

    Rifter0876 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    It was hard to tell when ordering, i actually ordered a set that should have been and wasnt. So then i sprung for the Gskill FlareX which was guaranteed to be B-die, and used the other set i had ordered in the girlfriends new build so it all worked out in the end i guess.

    There is a program you can run on your pc that will identify the ram modules, cant remember the name off the top of my head been 2 years since i built this rig, but i posted about it on anandtech ill go look and edit this post with the name of the software.

    EDIT, the program is Thaiphoon Burner it will report which IC's are in the ram in the system.
     
  21. dasa

    dasa Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    281
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Anything 3200c14 will be b die.
    3600c15\c16 b die
    3200c16 and 3600c19 are not b die although there may have been the odd stick floating around that is they have probably changed revision since for something cheaper.
     
  22. DogsofJune

    DogsofJune 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,099
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008