Building 2x quadcore xeon, need help

Faldaani

Limp Gawd
Hello

Thinking about building a 2x quad core xeon system, but I am a bit confused about the different xeon models...

The server is primarily going to be used as a file server (ARC-1280ML + ARC-1220) and while developing .NET applications (VS2008, MS SQL Server).

This is the current list of parts:
2x Intel Xeon E5410 Quad Core, 2.33ghz S-771
1x Supermicro X7DCL-3
2x Kingston4GB DDR2-667 ECC KIT - KVR667D2S4P5K2/4G

What is the difference between a E5410 and E5345, and why does the E5345 cost twice as much?

End goal is 8gb ram or so, 2x quad cores, a board with IPMI support and at least 2 PCI-e 8x slots. If anyone have any suggestions as to make it cheaper than this list they'd be most welcome.

I am a total noob when it comes to Xeon, so if there are any pitfalls or something... that'd be nice to know too =)

The E5410 has 12mb cache and is a 45nm processor. The E5345 has 2x 4mb cache and is a 65nm processor. Other than that I really see no difference. The E5410 is newer, should be more energy efficient, and has more cache.

So its cheaper because its a newer part, with a more efficient manufacturing process...

Do you think I'll notice any improvement going from Q6600 to 2x E5410 when it comes to compiling and such?

Whats the noise level of your average stock Xeon HSF? I've noticed that there are exactly 0 aftermarket coolers for S771 here in Europe.

Also, will the configuration I posted above actually work?

the e5345 is twice as expensive because it is one of the fastest chips in the 53xx series. the 5410 is one of the slowest chips in the 54xx series. there are a couple architectural differences between the 53xx series and 54xx series... it is kind of like comparing q6xxx to q9xxx in consumer chips. the difference is kind of small, but you should definitely check with the manufacturer to confirm that the motherboard supports the 54xx series.