Build 1909 is now available...

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by DeaconFrost, Oct 16, 2019.

  1. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,136
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    That is a full windows installer. From what I understand, it is essentially just a service pack if you do it through Windows updates. Thanks.
     
  2. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,948
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    the Media Creation Tool itself still shows May 2019...when is Microsoft going to update it?
     
  3. SuperSubZero

    SuperSubZero 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,589
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2000
    Probably just aesthetics on the website. The ISO I got from the direct ISO download is 1909.

    Correct. I'm guessing 1909 was sorta snuck in over time and has been dormant. There's a 20k "enabler" to turn the 1909 stuff on. This is just for the purists out there that want a clean 1909 installation.
     
    ManofGod likes this.
  4. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,948
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
  5. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,590
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    Domingo and polonyc2 like this.
  6. Domingo

    Domingo [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,369
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    It'll be interesting to see if it shows up for me or if the last "final" preview really was the public release.
     
  7. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,072
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    cool updating my windows flash drive now....even if i dont have to use it (like if windows updates by itself) I like to have the latest ready for when needed
     
  8. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,913
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    I notice the customer release ISO's for this are about 1GB smaller than the MSDN images. I thought every version of 10 came on the disc now?
     
  9. ir0nw0lf

    ir0nw0lf [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,328
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Is by any chance the MSDN image a combo 32 + 64 bit image? One can download such a thing through the Media Creation Tool and it is about that much bigger than just the 64-bit version.
     
  10. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,072
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    already updated with zero issues....they got it right this go round.
     
    DrDoU likes this.
  11. techie81

    techie81 [H]ard for [H]ardware

    Messages:
    4,970
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Updated my desktop and laptop. Got a black screen with the Desktop after updating...restarted it and it was fine. Laptop updated no issue.
     
  12. 5150Joker

    5150Joker 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,264
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    So I have a Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master that has an Intel 9560 and for the life of me I can't get bluetooth detected by Windows. It keeps telling me I don't have a BT device installed so I went as far as doing a clean install and got 1909 installed but still nothing..fuck.
     
  13. dbwillis

    dbwillis [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,680
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    hit WU on my test box, KB4524570 showed on the list, that ran, then I got another option to download 1909 update
     
  14. Domingo

    Domingo [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,369
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    I ended up getting a new version rolled out to me, so I suppose those Insider versions weren't final.
     
  15. criccio

    criccio Fully Equipped

    Messages:
    12,458
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Upgraded my home PC remotely over Chrome remote desktop. I like to live dangerously. Went fine.
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  16. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,590
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    just installed on an old ass dell e5420 laptop (i5-2520m, 4GB DDR3) went fine. and yeah its installs like a normal update, not the big reinstall ones, took like 5 minutes.
     
  17. Domingo

    Domingo [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,369
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Is it possible to install in on top of versions prior to 1903 or does it install 1903 and then 1909?
     
  18. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,590
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    should be able to. ive gone from 1703 to 1903 without issue.
     
  19. djoye

    djoye 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,794
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    This update was very fast, I didn't think it applied correctly, but I do have new features, so I guess it worked. Went from 1903, so maybe that's why it was quick.
     
  20. DrDoU

    DrDoU 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,456
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Mine was a 5gb dL with clean installation. Seems rock solid for me so far.
     
  21. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,595
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Either my system was hacked by an advanced actor, or something with 1909 screwed up my system.

    Something related to wsearch was causing my task manager to hang, and it would take minutes to restart/shutdown.

    Had to do a complete reinstall. So pissed.
     
  22. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,590
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    probably a bs browser plugin. not windows fault.
     
  23. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,136
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
  24. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,595
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Nope. Perfectly clean firefox install, was not a 'browser plugin' or some other stuff I installed.

    Oh, and re-installing Windows 10 was a blast. I really appreciate how Microsoft auto-installs a special Windows Store version of the nvidia driver now, and the only way I could install the normal drivers from nvidia was to unplug my computer from the fucking internet, uninstall the DCH Windows Store drivers, and install the normal drivers. Brilliant. If I didn't unplug my machine from the internet Windows would just re-install the shit DCH drivers as soon as I would un-install them.

    Oh, and I also appreciate how even with a fresh copy of 1909 with absolutely nothing installed, not even extra drivers, the security event log gets spammed with hundreds of credential checks, and within hours will hit the 20MB log limit. I did not see this issue present with 1903, fresh, or a rolled over copy.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2019