Bought a 2080ti on Facebook marketplace and it started artifacting within a couple hours. see pics

Dark12

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2003
Messages
1,856
Hey folks.

Last week I bought an MSI 2080ti. The dude said he was running watercooling and it worked fine, then he put the stock cooler back on and sold it to me.

After hooking it up it ran fine in csgo for a couple hours then it shut down and stopped being detected by windows. I did every troubleshooting I could think of. Multiple mobos and PSU's. Then I took off the cooler and saw this...

After repasting with the entire actual die covered it boots, but it gives tons of artifacts on screen. The guy is accusing me of screwing something up and said the paste job is fine. I think it bricked the card.

He is offering to let me try an RMA with MSI which is within 3 year warranty.

I am interested to hear your thoughts on this because I am just speechless and pissed.
 

Attachments

  • 2080ti bogus.jpg
    2080ti bogus.jpg
    341.9 KB · Views: 0

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
5,529
That paste job wouldn't cause the card to fail. It's sloppy/not great, but it's not the end of the world. Either it was failing anyways and he sold it, or it was damaged when the waterblock was removed and the stock cooler put back on. That and it likely didn't live a life of factory clocks/voltages.
 

Dark12

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2003
Messages
1,856
If it's under warranty, RMA it.

Just be careful if he wants you to ship it back to him to RMA it, as he might decide to just keep it if the transaction doesn't/didn't have a refund option.
Ok i will do that. I have dealt with this guy before and I dont think hes gonna ditch me. Also it was in-person transaction.

I was just worried the RMA would be denied because they might blame that the card was tampered with. Do you think they will charge a fee to repair? been forever since i last RMA's anything.
 

applegrcoug

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 28, 2021
Messages
261
I had something similar happen where the process of removing the stock cooler and putting it back on it didn't want to work. I did an RMA and got a replacement.
 

Dark12

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2003
Messages
1,856
Should I use my information or the info on the invoice when submitting the RMA with MSI?
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
5,529
Should I use my information or the info on the invoice when submitting the RMA with MSI?
Only if you need to prove it is less than 3 years old. If you don't provide the original invoice MSI will base the 3 year date from the production date of the GPU.

Just keep in mind they will look for any/every reason to deny warranty based off of physical alterations. I'd make sure you clean the card up a bit to ensure there is no stray paste/whatever.
 

drutman

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
362
Clean it up and reapply thermal compound use pea sized dot and make sure cooler contact/ pressure is uniformly applied. no cost attempt to fix issues.
 

Armenius

Fully [H]
Joined
Jan 28, 2014
Messages
32,423
Clean it up and reapply thermal compound use pea sized dot and make sure cooler contact/ pressure is uniformly applied. no cost attempt to fix issues.
GPU dies need complete coverage. It doesn't have an IHS like a CPU does, and the cores basically comprise the entire surface area of the chip. 'X' + dot or an asterisk is probably the best bet.
 

SeymourGore

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 12, 2008
Messages
4,004
Does MSI still require the original invoice? Thought their warranty was based on serial number (so user transferable).
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
5,529
Does MSI still require the original invoice? Thought their warranty was based on serial number (so user transferable).
Only if the card was made over 3 years ago. You need it to prove it was purchased under 3 years ago.
 

rhkcommander959

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
222
We would need more pics, looks like something funky going on with the thermal pads like mix and match filler BS. Mismatched or missing thermal pads can be a big problem.

On an exposed die you always want full coverage. You can use a spudger tool or really anything that isn't dirty to apply a nice clean covering to the whole die before mounting. I've used a credit card for instance to spread it out. I believe you can get free spudgers at make up stores still if you don't want to use a credit card, random straight hunk of plastic, etc.

That install had wayyyy too much paste, missing part of the die is not ideal but usually won't wreck it



Apparently spudgers are called makeup spatulas too, example 100 pack for $6
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08WZ8G8WN/

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Kopperko...stic-Cosmetic-Makeup-Spatulas-Black/317684055
 
Last edited:

drutman

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
362
GPU dies need complete coverage. It doesn't have an IHS like a CPU does, and the cores basically comprise the entire surface area of the chip. 'X' + dot or an asterisk is probably the best bet.
Looks like way too much was used by seller when he pulled the waterblock. My 390X ran hot with poor coverage of paste.
 

Dark12

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2003
Messages
1,856
MSI approved RMA and gave me RMA # but no details on where to send it. They said check spam filter but there's nothing. They haven't reached back out to me and its been a day and a half.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
3,302
MSI approved RMA and gave me RMA # but no details on where to send it. They said check spam filter but there's nothing. They haven't reached back out to me and its been a day and a half.
It should come soon. It's in CA iirc.
 

DooKey

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 25, 2001
Messages
11,384
MSI approved RMA and gave me RMA # but no details on where to send it. They said check spam filter but there's nothing. They haven't reached back out to me and its been a day and a half.
Did you look to see if there was an attachment to the RMA email? Sometimes they attach a mailing label (not a prepaid one) with packing instructions.
 

Dark12

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2003
Messages
1,856
Did you look to see if there was an attachment to the RMA email? Sometimes they attach a mailing label (not a prepaid one) with packing instructions.
I'll keep an eye out for it, but there never was an RMA email. The rep just gave me the RMA # within the support ticket. I'll keep ya'll posted if you want.
 

WilyKit

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 18, 2020
Messages
399
I think just about every GPU I’ve has that started to artifact, was due to memory instability. Bet he had the vram clocked sky high for mining. This is the part that miners don’t tell you about. They’re more than happy to tell you the core was under clocked and thus better than buying a used gaming card that was run at full tilt but they omit the fact they clock the memory to absurd levels.
 
  • Like
Reactions: N4CR
like this

GoldenTiger

Fully [H]
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
24,961
I think just about every GPU I’ve has that started to artifact, was due to memory instability. Bet he had the vram clocked sky high for mining. This is the part that miners don’t tell you about. They’re more than happy to tell you the core was under clocked and thus better than buying a used gaming card that was run at full tilt but they omit the fact they clock the memory to absurd levels.
So do gamers...but they run the core blazing hot and overvolted with repeated heating and cooling cycles, abuse them, bios flash em, and stuff them in tight, low airflow cases too!
 

WilyKit

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 18, 2020
Messages
399
So do gamers...but they run the core blazing hot and overvolted with repeated heating and cooling cycles, abuse them, bios flash em, and stuff them in tight, low airflow cases too!

Not the same thing. You can only clock so high before a GPU becomes too unstable for gaming and you have no choice but to back off. When mining, VRAM is clocked WELL past what is stable for games. It's not even close. That's before we even factor in that GPU's boosting algorithms today do a very good job of extracting the maximum from the GPU without the need for more OC unless you're really craving that extra 3%
 

GoldenTiger

Fully [H]
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
24,961
Not the same thing. You can only clock so high before a GPU becomes too unstable for gaming and you have no choice but to back off. When mining, VRAM is clocked WELL past what is stable for games. It's not even close. That's before we even factor in that GPU's boosting algorithms today do a very good job of extracting the maximum from the GPU without the need for more OC unless you're really craving that extra 3%
Nope. Going higher than game stable will reduce mining speeds as the memory errors. Your claim is patently untrue. I've seen gamers running ridiculous memory clock that are slower than lower clocks since it's erroring with ecc so much...
 

WilyKit

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 18, 2020
Messages
399
Nope. Going higher than game stable will reduce mining speeds as the memory errors. Your claim is patently untrue. I've seen gamers running ridiculous memory clock that are slower than lower clocks since it's erroring with ecc so much...
I never claimed it didn't error. I claimed that it's what people do. I can pull up threads with people pushing >+400MHz memory clocks for mining that you'd be lucky to get past the splash screen in a game. Actually here, i'll just post it. This is for 1060's alone

https://www.reddit.com/r/NiceHash/comments/lpbs0m/maximize_my_gpu_and_mining_speed_best_settings/

https://miningchamber.com/gpu-mining/gtx-1060-mining-settings/

https://www.reddit.com/r/EtherMining/comments/82nd8a/gtx_1060_6gb_oc_settings_for_ethminig/

There's plenty more, so please, don't give me this BS that it's "patently false" there's examples in there of people pushing +200, +400, +700 and even higher. The low end examples are the upper end that would be stable for games.

Clearly, you recognized yourself in my example of miners selling off their GPU's and pretending they are easier on them then gamers.
 

GoldenTiger

Fully [H]
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
24,961
I never claimed it didn't error. I claimed that it's what people do. I can pull up threads with people pushing >+400MHz memory clocks for mining that you'd be lucky to get past the splash screen in a game. Actually here, i'll just post it. This is for 1060's alone

https://www.reddit.com/r/NiceHash/comments/lpbs0m/maximize_my_gpu_and_mining_speed_best_settings/

https://miningchamber.com/gpu-mining/gtx-1060-mining-settings/

https://www.reddit.com/r/EtherMining/comments/82nd8a/gtx_1060_6gb_oc_settings_for_ethminig/

There's plenty more, so please, don't give me this BS that it's "patently false" there's examples in there of people pushing +200, +400, +700 and even higher. The low end examples are the upper end that would be stable for games.

Clearly, you recognized yourself in my example of miners selling off their GPU's and pretending they are easier on them then gamers.
Bwahahahahaha.. Man, are you off the mark. Yeah, a few noob miners may mistakenly mine too high of a mem clock but that's rare... When money is on the line people tend to do things right. Stereotypical gamers don't. They just want MOAR MHZ. P. S. I haven't mined my 3080 even once since I got it. Nice ASSumption there.
 

WilyKit

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 18, 2020
Messages
399
Bwahahahahaha.. Man, are you off the mark. Yeah, a few noob miners may mistakenly mine too high of a mem clock but that's rare... When money is on the line people tend to do things right. Stereotypical gamers don't. They just want MOAR MHZ. P. S. I haven't mined my 3080 even once since I got it. Nice ASSumption there.
How many more links do you want? I have a lot more. Again, what you're saying is impossible. That level of memory OC wouldn't even get you into a game much less be able to play through it.

Since your claim is that gamers are worse, lets see your examples of clocks being pushed this high for a gaming card. Put your "patently false" claim to the test. I've already proved part of your claim wrong (that miners don't' push it that far) lets see if you can prove your gamer claim.

For your reading pleasure:

https://www.reddit.com/r/NiceHash/comments/7ba5gw/best_overclock_settings_for_gtx_1060/
https://www.reddit.com/r/EtherMining/comments/7ea4vz/best_overclocking_for_gtx1060_6gb/
https://www.reddit.com/r/NiceHash/comments/90kjla/most_recommended_overclock_undervolt_settings_gtx/

"patently false" funniest shit i've read all day.

Oh, and here's a "how to" guide to mining that is recommending an 800MHz MEM OC

https://www.bitcoinminershashrate.com/how-to-increase-gtx-1060-6gb-mining/
 

N4CR

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
4,951
I think just about every GPU I’ve has that started to artifact, was due to memory instability. Bet he had the vram clocked sky high for mining. This is the part that miners don’t tell you about. They’re more than happy to tell you the core was under clocked and thus better than buying a used gaming card that was run at full tilt but they omit the fact they clock the memory to absurd levels.
This also is an issue on vegas, miners thrashing the HBM till clocks drop due to stability, then say it's better than gaming use for it. No, no its not.
 

WilyKit

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 18, 2020
Messages
399
Uninformed* miners. Most aren't.
This claim is patently false and is not matching up with reality. All the links I sent, most people are recommending clocks that would not be stable for games. Including the getting started guides. The +200MHz crowd is the minority. I'm not even cherry picking, a simple google search for "gtx 1060 memory clock mining" and grabbing the first few hits.

So either informed miners are also pushing clocks way too high or there are a lot more uninformed minors than you think, to the point of overwhelming the google algorithm.
 

GoldenTiger

Fully [H]
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
24,961
This claim is patently false and is not matching up with reality. All the links I sent, most people are recommending clocks that would not be stable for games. Including the getting started guides. The +200MHz crowd is the minority. I'm not even cherry picking, a simple google search for "gtx 1060 memory clock mining" and grabbing the first few hits.

So either informed miners are also pushing clocks way too high or there are a lot more uninformed minors than you think, to the point of overwhelming the google algorithm.
You can Google anything and get plenty of results. That's meaningless as is your argument. Reddit isn't exactly where tech-knowledgeable people hang out ;).
 

WilyKit

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 18, 2020
Messages
399
You can Google anything and get plenty of results. That's meaningless as is your argument. Reddit isn't exactly where tech-knowledgeable people hang out ;).

I made a claim and showed multiple data sources backing it up. You made a claim and repeated your own claim. Classic case of rejecting reality and substituting your own.

You’re either intentionally being disingenuous with how miners treat their cards or you’re not nearly as informed as you purport.

It doesn’t matter where tech savvy people hang out. Your claim is most miners don’t push clocks that high. The data doesn’t support that claim.
 
Last edited:

Dark12

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2003
Messages
1,856
Figured I'd chime in and say many algos don't even benefit from higher memory clocks. Specifically some Equihash algos.
 

Dark12

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2003
Messages
1,856
update.

MSI ghosted me for a couple weeks. When I emailed them they said there was physical damage and they couldn't issue a replacement so they will be sending broken card back.

I called and said the only "damage" done was to the sticker to open heatsink to replace thermal paste which I am allowed to do.

Got put on hold for 5 minutes.

They said they will send out a new 3080ti to replace. lets. freakin. GO.
 

SamuelL421

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 3, 2016
Messages
458
update.

MSI ghosted me for a couple weeks. When I emailed them they said there was physical damage and they couldn't issue a replacement so they will be sending broken card back.

I called and said the only "damage" done was to the sticker to open heatsink to replace thermal paste which I am allowed to do.

Got put on hold for 5 minutes.

They said they will send out a new 3080ti to replace. lets. freakin. GO.
Holy shit, congrats! The only times I've been treated that well by support was with EVGA, glad to hear MSI handled this right as well.
 

Digital Viper-X-

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
14,786
Holy shit, congrats! The only times I've been treated that well by support was with EVGA, glad to hear MSI handled this right as well.
Not at first... they tried to weasel out of it(probably didn't have any replacement 2000 series cards) and only caved once he pushed back.
 

Dark12

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2003
Messages
1,856
Just confirmed it is going to be here Tuesday. Since this thing died i got an RTX 3080 10gb from a user here and it crushes anything i might find a few minutes to play.

I might just sell this thing. If I wanted to mine with it I could just get 2 2080TI's and be better off by 70+ MH, yes even with LHR unlocker.
 
Top