Both versions of MGS V coming to Steam.

naticus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 6, 2011
Messages
1,962
Loving the game play so far. Just a few hours in mind you but damn Japanese studios really seem to get game play right above all things. One issue I am having is rather odd; i can see "grids" in the game (like a bad monitor) that is only present in this game. Now it doesn't destroy immersion or anything but it is somewhat of an annoyance.

Anyone else getting this?
 

ghostwich

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
2,176
Loving the game play so far. Just a few hours in mind you but damn Japanese studios really seem to get game play right above all things. One issue I am having is rather odd; i can see "grids" in the game (like a bad monitor) that is only present in this game. Now it doesn't destroy immersion or anything but it is somewhat of an annoyance.

Anyone else getting this?

Probably best to show it in a screenshot. Sounds weird though. I don't recall scanlines or other post-processing tricks being used outside of the iDroid interface.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
21,915
Quiet is a great Buddy to have on Missions...she doesn't get in the way and is actually useful...was tricky figuring out how to issue her the 'Scout' and 'Kill' commands (and once again the controls could be better) but she's a great partner...there's a secret 'Shower Scene' you can trigger as well

I don't think I've ever seen a horse that can defecate on command in any video game lol...what the hell?
 

Stiler

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 4, 2002
Messages
10,538
Quiet is a great Buddy to have on Missions...she doesn't get in the way and is actually useful...was tricky figuring out how to issue her the 'Scout' and 'Kill' commands (and once again the controls could be better) but she's a great partner...there's a secret 'Shower Scene' you can trigger as well

I don't think I've ever seen a horse that can defecate on command in any video game lol...what the hell?

lol, it's useful for roads, it can make things that go over it "spin" out of control.
 

jiminator

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 2, 2007
Messages
11,607
do you "fail" missions after a period of time? or can you go and kill everything first?
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
21,915
How many times does Kojima want to show his name in credits. Dafuq?

I'm hoping it was an inside joke.

I also hate that each Main Mission opens with a credit sequence which spoils which characters will be appearing in that mission...terrible move by Kojima...ruins a lot of the surprises of the mission...I try to avoid looking at the names in the pre-mission credits
 

qbanb8582

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
2,063
do you "fail" missions after a period of time? or can you go and kill everything first?

Some missions have timers. Like there is one early on where you have to take out tanks before a certain time. So far that is the only mission I've done where time was a factor.
 

LeviathanZERO

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 20, 2003
Messages
6,496
Some missions are "timed", but you wont see a clock. Like the one mission where you have to rescue some prisoners, and they will start dying if you take too long. So you gotta hurry on that one, but its usually pretty obvious if you have a time limit or not from what I've seen.
 

quadnad

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 24, 2005
Messages
7,656
Some missions are "timed", but you wont see a clock. Like the one mission where you have to rescue some prisoners, and they will start dying if you take too long. So you gotta hurry on that one, but its usually pretty obvious if you have a time limit or not from what I've seen.

presumably even if you fail you can re-do the mission though, right?
 

Stiler

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 4, 2002
Messages
10,538
So can someone explain how exactly replaying missions works?

I haven't did it yet, but I missed a specialist on mission 9 (imo the hardest mission I've played, by FAR) and I want to get them.

However my problem is that there are like 6 people to resuce, and a lot of them are timed, you can straight up miss out on them if you don't get there in time.

I got 4/6 of them on my first play through but want to go back and get the others.

So if I do go back, but lets say I miss one of the people I already "have" what happens? Will I lose them or what? Or does it merely add on top of what you got from earlier? If that's the case couldn't you replay missions and just get a ton of good people over and over?
 

LeviathanZERO

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 20, 2003
Messages
6,496
Or does it merely add on top of what you got from earlier? If that's the case couldn't you replay missions and just get a ton of good people over and over?

Yes, and yes.
You just wont get another 'Specialist', since you already got them.
Thats probably why a few side ops never go grey on the list, "Extract high rated soldier/prisoner" and such, cause you can keep doing those over and over and fulton the high rated guys.
 
Last edited:

jiminator

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 2, 2007
Messages
11,607
how does ground zeroes integrate into the game? Or does it? The first mission I unlocked a door, but nothing was there...
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
21,915
So if I do go back, but lets say I miss one of the people I already "have" what happens? Will I lose them or what? Or does it merely add on top of what you got from earlier? If that's the case couldn't you replay missions and just get a ton of good people over and over?

based on my experience it looks like whatever optional objectives you missed can be replayed without having to complete the main mission over again...look at the Main Mission screen and you will see that the checkmarks next to the optional objectives will have a checkmark next to them
 

Converge

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
1,254
I also hate that each Main Mission opens with a credit sequence which spoils which characters will be appearing in that mission...terrible move by Kojima...ruins a lot of the surprises of the mission...I try to avoid looking at the names in the pre-mission credits

I agree. You basically know in the beginning if walker gears are showing up, the skulls, etc. really stupid. I've been thinking the exact same thing.

Looks like I just unlocked FOB missions. It's a little confusing with the staff and what not, I was wondering which of my staff are going to be on my FOB if it was just my security team or my combat team as well. It's just the security team though, so whoever you put there. However once you get an FOB your staff capacity goes up for all teams, hence the confusion.

Also as far as PS4 goes there only seemed to be about 15 players with FOBs online in the browser. Every single one was already being infiltrated.... So I didn't get to do that.

Even so, what a cool concept. The detail at which you can craft these FOBs and down to the uniform of the security team, the guns they have, weapon in placements, platforms, levels, drones, etc.... Can't wait till it's working better and more populated.... Going to be pretty fun.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
21,915
Even so, what a cool concept. The detail at which you can craft these FOBs and down to the uniform of the security team, the guns they have, weapon in placements, platforms, levels, drones, etc.... Can't wait till it's working better and more populated.... Going to be pretty fun.

you say that now but wait until a player invades your base and steals a bunch of your top guys :D ...I haven't gotten to the FOB part yet but I see a lot of complaints on forums...apparently you can be invaded even if you're not currently online and playing the game...that aspect seems a bit strange...then again I love the Dark Souls invasion aspect so this could be fun
 

naticus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 6, 2011
Messages
1,962
Probably best to show it in a screenshot. Sounds weird though. I don't recall scanlines or other post-processing tricks being used outside of the iDroid interface.

Do you see the grid lines on this image? It is pretty much on the entire screen, it is especially noticeable on the grass and sky. This is with maxed settings and 4k. This just looks bad.

gk5b.png


fk5b.png


dk5b.png


ek5b.png
 
Last edited:

Converge

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
1,254
you say that now but wait until a player invades your base and steals a bunch of your top guys :D ...I haven't gotten to the FOB part yet but I see a lot of complaints on forums...apparently you can be invaded even if you're not currently online and playing the game...that aspect seems a bit strange...then again I love the Dark Souls invasion aspect so this could be fun


Yeah I actually just read up on that... Some are saying if a player gets to your main platform and infiltrates successfully they can take some of your MB guys.... Interesting. I have my top guys locked, so hopefully they can't get them.
 

ghostwich

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
2,176
the MGS world is fighting a war on terror...Cipher vs Diamond Dogs

Oh hush! :D

I also hate that each Main Mission opens with a credit sequence which spoils which characters will be appearing in that mission...terrible move by Kojima...ruins a lot of the surprises of the mission...I try to avoid looking at the names in the pre-mission credits

I agree. You basically know in the beginning if walker gears are showing up, the skulls, etc. really stupid. I've been thinking the exact same thing.

True - this does take away the surprise, but at the same time, I see the Skulls mentioned in the credits and you know they're coming. A bit of suspense, at the cost of ruined surprise.
 

ghostwich

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
2,176
Do you see the grid lines on this image? It is pretty much on the entire screen, it is especially noticeable on the grass and sky. This is with maxed settings and 4k. This just looks bad.

*snip*

I can only look at this on my phone... and the pictures look... compressed somehow? Like JPEG blockiness?
 

MavericK

Zero Cool
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
31,343
Do you see the grid lines on this image? It is pretty much on the entire screen, it is especially noticeable on the grass and sky. This is with maxed settings and 4k. This just looks bad.

I think I see what you're talking about, and I believe I have the same issue. I have gotten it in other games as well, including Mad Max most recently, and MGSV:pP.

For me, at least, it's some sort of "hatching" artifact around the edge of shadows, especially self-shadows on the character. Like, you don't get smooth or "soft" edges to the shadows, but rather this sort of pixellated, grid-like pattern. I have some screenshots from Mad Max but I'm at work so I can't post them (Steam is blocked).

Unfortunately I haven't figured out how to get rid of them, but if anyone else could chime in that would be great, because it's a really annoying problem.

Not 100% sure if the issue you're seeing is the same or not but from what I can tell it looks similar. Yours also looks a bit like some kind of alpha transparency issue so I'm not sure.
 

jiminator

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 2, 2007
Messages
11,607
I have seen that in other games also. I think it is some sort of shader artifact. It does not really bother me that much but it does look kind of strange.
 

Stiler

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 4, 2002
Messages
10,538
Does D-Dog not obey you at low bond levels?

I have just unlocked him to use as a buddy the past couple of missions and he absolutely does NOT follow my "stay" command at all. Literally I'll tell him to stay, walk about 5 feet away and he just runs up to me.

I googled this and saw many other people having this problem too, but most of them say he doesn't "alert" guards, but that isn't the case for me.

Whenever a guard sees him they get a white "!" above their heiad and come over to him and tell him to "shoo" and run off, which makes it 10x more annoying.
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
21,915
is there any way to view your buddy's Bond level?...at the end of each Main Mission you can view it but any other way?...those Wandering Mother Base soldier extraction Side-Ops weren't too bad early on but #3 got annoying...I saw on another forum an easy way to extract them which was pretty funny...works perfectly...I'll put it in spoilers

go into your cassettes and play the song 'Love Deterrence' under 'Paz's Humming'...play it on a loop and in speaker mode...the soldier will then come to you

there's also a funny thing that happens if you stare at Quiet too much on the helicopter...use the zoom or binoculars and stare at her...

she starts doing these sexy poses for you lol
 

Converge

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
1,254
Yeah if you go into customize/develop buddies gear, go to an option for a buddy like a rifle you want to unlock for quiet, it will say in the requirements when you hover over the item what your bond level is because in order to purchase certain buddy things there is a required bond level. That's the only way I've seen. It'll be at the bottom of the little window that pops up when you hover over a locked upgrade or item, along with required GMP/resources etc.

Also I mentioned earlier but just to reiterate... Do the legendary gunsmith side ops. There are 3, after doing the 3rd you unlock weapon customization which helped me a ton. It allowed me to put suppressors on rifles that I had unlocked but hadn't gotten that particular version of said rifles with suppressors on them already. Customization allows you to put one on those, which would normally be without. Helps a lot for the ZZZ tranq sniper rifle and the first lethal auto sniper you unlock. There's a large gap between the base rifle without suppressor and upgraded rifle with one, it can be frustrating if you're going stealth.
 

LeviathanZERO

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 20, 2003
Messages
6,496
M-2000 silenced has been treating me real good.
What I really need is silencers for Quiet. But I really need a way to stop her murder sprees. I tell her to kill one dude, shes goes after 5. And don't get an alert, cause she will kill everyone that comes near you. I couldn't believe it, I had grabbed a soldier and was about to fulton him, she kills him. I was literally holding the guy and then he drops. I wanted that soldier... *sigh* restart
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
21,915
M-2000 silenced has been treating me real good.
What I really need is silencers for Quiet. But I really need a way to stop her murder sprees. I tell her to kill one dude, shes goes after 5. And don't get an alert, cause she will kill everyone that comes near you. I couldn't believe it, I had grabbed a soldier and was about to fulton him, she kills him. I was literally holding the guy and then he drops. I wanted that soldier... *sigh* restart

in the beginning I was using Quiet mostly as a scout as she can advance recon a place for me...but as her bond level increases you gain more commands for her...now I can issue single Kill and Aim commands which is much more useful otherwise like you said she sometimes gets carried away with the killing...you're able to fine tune her better with the I-Droid commands versus the 'Buddy Support' Mission Tab screen (which only give Scout and Attack commands)
 

NotJay

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 15, 2007
Messages
2,674
M-2000 silenced has been treating me real good.
What I really need is silencers for Quiet. But I really need a way to stop her murder sprees. I tell her to kill one dude, shes goes after 5. And don't get an alert, cause she will kill everyone that comes near you. I couldn't believe it, I had grabbed a soldier and was about to fulton him, she kills him. I was literally holding the guy and then he drops. I wanted that soldier... *sigh* restart

take her out on sideops run to build bond then you can develop silncer sniper for her
 

Dan

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 23, 2012
Messages
7,958
so get this shit! I just bought a 970 for a client today and contacted newegg about getting a code (promo ended on the 8th) they just shipped me one :D! cant waitttt
 

LeviathanZERO

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 20, 2003
Messages
6,496
I have Aim, Kill and Quiet. Shes maybe 30% bond level right now.
Her scouting is indeed awesome, which is what I'm mostly using her for. Save the kill command for after I kidnap everyone I want....lol
 

NotJay

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 15, 2007
Messages
2,674
I have Aim, Kill and Quiet. Shes maybe 30% bond level right now.
Her scouting is indeed awesome, which is what I'm mostly using her for. Save the kill command for after I kidnap everyone I want....lol

i find ddog more useful for that purpose...
it can detect shit inside huts etc and quiet's trans sniper rifle lacks penetration
 
Last edited:
Top