Blizzard Announces Diablo 2: Resurrected

Delicieuxz

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
1,282
So you’re familiar with the battle net back end, the old local game client / server code, and the security modules to know there is no good reason?

People don't need to have access to Blizzard's code to know that the endless possibilities 1s and 0s afford means it's entirely possible to make offline accounts that will work over TCP/IP but not with Battle.net, while having separate online accounts that will work with Battle.net.
 

Endgame

Gawd
Joined
Jan 10, 2007
Messages
788
And you ARE familiar with it?
I’m not the one that made the claim that it was easy and blizzard was just screwing people.

I’ve worked in development long enough, though, to recognize when a PM or lead writes a check Dev can’t deliver
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
Messages
628
I’m not the one that made the claim that it was easy and blizzard was just screwing people.

I’ve worked in development long enough, though, to recognize when a PM or lead writes a check Dev can’t deliver
So instead they just decide to lie about it? Don't really see how that's any better, but sure.
 

deruberhanyok

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 22, 2004
Messages
2,104
People don't need to have access to Blizzard's code to know that the endless possibilities 1s and 0s afford means it's entirely possible to make offline accounts that will work over TCP/IP but not with Battle.net, while having separate online accounts that will work with Battle.net.

Especially since Diablo 2 already worked that way.

I’m not the one that made the claim that it was easy and blizzard was just screwing people.

I’ve worked in development long enough, though, to recognize when a PM or lead writes a check Dev can’t deliver

Or in this case, writes a check that management voids.

The functionality was already there. It still is, if you just load up the original game and look.
 

Endgame

Gawd
Joined
Jan 10, 2007
Messages
788
Especially since Diablo 2 already worked that way.



Or in this case, writes a check that management voids.

The functionality was already there. It still is, if you just load up the original game and look.
How compatible is battlenet 1.0 with the current battlenet code? Perhaps the conversion to new battlenet broke the old tcp code, and using the new battle net is not acceptable for direct connections not though battlenet?
 

Krazy925

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 29, 2012
Messages
6,406
I know this is going to be a wildly unpopular statement but it begs the question:

What percentage of Diablo 2:R players give a shit about the TCP/IP. 99+% are going to play online.

This just feels like typical nerds making a huge deal about something most people just really don’t give a shit about.

Most people wouldn’t even know what to do with that option if they’re casual and younger.

That’s like complaining that I can’t spawn a copy like I used to be able to do with SC1.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
Messages
628
What percentage of Diablo 2:R players give a shit about the TCP/IP. 99+% are going to play online.

This just feels like typical nerds making a huge deal about something most people just really don’t give a shit about.
Oh I agree. I know the majority of consumers and Blizz don't care. Still doesn't make my opinion wrong.
 

Krazy925

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 29, 2012
Messages
6,406
Oh I agree. I know the majority of consumers and Blizz don't care. Still doesn't make my opinion wrong.
Oh I’m not under cutting your opinion at all. You feel lied to and from my reading deservedly so in some respects. I think game makers need to be more communicative with their changing plans. Plans can change but you should make them clear.

I’m more mad about cross system play but my suspicion is that Sony is to blame for that. I’m open to being wrong there though. I haven’t even bothered to look into it.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
Messages
628
Oh I’m not under cutting your opinion at all. You feel lied to and from my reading deservedly so in some respects. I think game makers need to be more communicative with their changing plans. Plans can change but you should make them clear.

I’m more mad about cross system play but my suspicion is that Sony is to blame for that. I’m open to being wrong there though. I haven’t even bothered to look into it.
Eh, I wouldn't say I feel lied to or even let down lol. Kind of just "Eh, what else is new". A modern corp game letting people play LAN away from their prying eyes? Come on now :D
 

toast0

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
1,343
I know this is going to be a wildly unpopular statement but it begs the question:

What percentage of Diablo 2:R players give a shit about the TCP/IP. 99+% are going to play online.

I mean, I understand that position, but I was thinking this might be fun to play with the family in the dead of winter when we have our annual 2 day power outage and no internet. Obviously, have to buy and install in advance, and being prepared for utility failure usually increases the reliability of the utilities (but not by all that much). And buying a copy now may make up for my youthful indiscretions, but no local multiplayer means I can't use it when I want to.
 

Krazy925

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 29, 2012
Messages
6,406
I mean, I understand that position, but I was thinking this might be fun to play with the family in the dead of winter when we have our annual 2 day power outage and no internet. Obviously, have to buy and install in advance, and being prepared for utility failure usually increases the reliability of the utilities (but not by all that much). And buying a copy now may make up for my youthful indiscretions, but no local multiplayer means I can't use it when I want to.
That’s probably the nichest situation I’ve heard thus far. Just play D2 regular?
 

thecold

Gawd
Joined
Nov 12, 2017
Messages
919
I mean, I understand that position, but I was thinking this might be fun to play with the family in the dead of winter when we have our annual 2 day power outage and no internet. Obviously, have to buy and install in advance, and being prepared for utility failure usually increases the reliability of the utilities (but not by all that much). And buying a copy now may make up for my youthful indiscretions, but no local multiplayer means I can't use it when I want to.

I know this doesn't apply to you for your usage, but I wonder how much bandwidth d2 r uses. D2 used very little bandwidth (makes sense it was designed for the 56k era).

It's what I play when my power goes down, I just hot spot (my tower is much closer to town, I have never noticed a time it has gone down). My power will go out for a day or two as well. I have a very puny data limit but I'd have to play probably an entire month strait to use my monthly bandwidth allotment on d2 classic.

Later when the server maintenance is over, I'm going to test this.
 

toast0

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
1,343
I know this doesn't apply to you for your usage, but I wonder how much bandwidth d2 r uses. D2 used very little bandwidth (makes sense it was designed for the 56k era).

It's what I play when my power goes down, I just hot spot (my tower is much closer to town, I have never noticed a time it has gone down). My power will go out for a day or two as well. I have a very puny data limit but I'd have to play probably an entire month strait to use my monthly bandwidth allotment on d2 classic.

Later when the server maintenance is over, I'm going to test this.
So, from experience, our towers go down 4-6 hours after utility power, which is better than our DSL which goes down immediately, but it would kind of depend on the area; I've actually got a LTE hotspot for the house to fail over to, but it gets iffy when towers turn off (I did get an external antenna for it since the last big outage, so maybe I can catch a tower across the water where they have a more redundant grid). Bandwidth info will be interesting to see for sure.
 

Delicieuxz

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
1,282
I thought it was mentioned that Blizzard are keeping the original Diablo II available alongside D2R. But I just bought D2R and the original D2 is no longer in my Blizzard client, and there's no option to install or play regular D2 in the new D2R game page.

Though, maybe the original D2 was never available through the Blizzard client. It's been a long time since I loaded up either the client or D2.
 

thecold

Gawd
Joined
Nov 12, 2017
Messages
919
Well, I need to get rid of my 1.08 skulders and 1.08 vamp still

I don't think I'm going back to classic.
 

Delicieuxz

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 11, 2016
Messages
1,282
That's only classic, and that's because you could create an unlimited amount of characters.
Arcygenical's comment would be about classic D2, as the remaster hasn't been released for a month yet.

I suspect Blizzard's reasoning would be that they are using the lure of people preserving their characters to keep them returning to the game and Blizzard's client and services. Setting a limit on the number of characters that could be created would solve any server-capacity issues.
 

thecold

Gawd
Joined
Nov 12, 2017
Messages
919
Arcygenical's comment would be about classic D2, as the remaster hasn't been released for a month yet.

I suspect Blizzard's reasoning would be that they are using the lure of people preserving their characters to keep them returning to the game and Blizzard's client and services. Setting a limit on the number of characters that could be created would solve any server-capacity issues.

Honestly, I think its more par for the course. They implemented 90 days in what 1.09 or 1.10? It used to be longer, or not enforced. Can't remember.
 
Top