Best shielded CAT 6/CAT 7 cable? Need advice..

livfree

[H]ard|Gawd
Hey guys, need a decent cable. Looking for something 20ft in length, black, round, and shielded. I believe the shielding will actually be necessary because it'll be running parallel to main electrical wire in the wall, which is something I've never done before, but I don't wanna go super overkill.

Networking is most definitely not my forte, figured someone here would have some input :p

Was looking at this https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016WQQN7O

As an Amazon Associate, HardForum may earn from qualifying purchases.
Almost all of my CAT6 is parallel with power wiring, works fine. It's pretty rare to see an issue with this. Also for the shielding to work, I believe the connector needs to be grounded at other ends as well. Most consumer gear doesn't do this.

Theres is no need for sheilding unless it's an 256Amp, we do normal CAT4 cables that do gigabit in the walls laying with all the electric cables :) and there's I no problem, even though that CAT4 is only 10Mbit.

That is the longest product description headline for an Ethernet cable I've ever read. Impressive.

People always say "Why did you go for Cat6/7?" and the reply is usually "Well it was $1 more!"

Plus give it a couple more years and Ebay will have a lot more 10Gb gear for good prices.

Sheilding is only supposed to be grounded at one end - usually done at the patch panel or switch. Grounding both ends can create ground loops.

Long runs of CAT5 are definitely susceptible to noise when run along AC wires, it shows up as packet loss mostly. That being said, it takes either some pretty long runs of cable in parallel, or pushing up near the speed/distance transfer limits of the cable before you really start to see it. I don't know about CAT6, it's a different standard and I'm not as familiar with it.