Best pre-built HTPC w/ Nvidia GPU for 4K@60Hz HDMI 2.0 HDCP 2.2

Discussion in 'Home Theater PCs & Equipment' started by Ducman69, Apr 7, 2018.

  1. Ducman69

    Ducman69 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,469
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Edit: Going w/ Android based solution + HD Homerun Prime (either Shield or the 900E's built in Android OS). Thanks!

    --------

    So I ordered a Sony XBR-75X900E, and like an idiot completely forgot that the old 2015 Alienware Alpha HTPC I've been using (love that little thing BTW, has been a real champ), is HDMI 1.4A only. DOH!

    I need to find a good new mini HTPC similar to the Alienware Alpha form-factor and quietness ASAP, that can run Windows 7 to boot (still running Windows Media Center for watching Comcast TV... lame, I know), that can do HDMI 2.0 4K@60hz w/ HDCP 2.2, and prefer it to have an NVidia GPU as I had constant problems with my old Intel NUC and Windows Media Center due to driver issues.

    I found a Asus Vivomini, but same problem no HDMI 2.0 support.

    Any ideas would be much appreciated!
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2018
    Solhokuten likes this.
  2. pippenainteasy

    pippenainteasy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    458
    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Nothing pre-built in that form factor with I would consider "quiet", but YMMV. Have you thought about building something yourself, or are you looking at pre-builts mainly to keep the costs down?
     
  3. Ducman69

    Ducman69 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,469
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    I usually "roll my own", but its hard to get a truly mini formfactor, at least nothing like a Alienware Alpha. mITX is still relatively big for where its going, and the little Alpha was tiny and silent, but its just outdated in its ability to deliver full 4K HDR.

    The other option is I could just get a little NVidia shield or even see if the Sony's built in "smart" functionality isn't overly crappy, and for TV just go back to renting a cable box from Comcast. Just a shame as I have cable-card working fine, albeit with the old school Windows 7 media center.
     
    Solhokuten likes this.
  4. Tekara

    Tekara [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,038
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    For cable you could do a hdhomerun prime which works fine with the Shield. Would also open up the ability to watch cable on anything else connected to the network.
     
  5. MrGuvernment

    MrGuvernment Stay [H]ard

    Messages:
    19,810
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Nvidia Shield and be done with it, only device i beleive right now that does HDMI 2.0 with 4k @ 60FPS...
     
    Solhokuten and Ducman69 like this.
  6. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,555
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    What about the new AMD 2400g chips? Mini ITX board? Or the new intel Plus Vega on die chip?
     
  7. Ducman69

    Ducman69 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,469
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Thanks, I already have HD Homerun Prime, that's what I was using the windows boxes w/ Windows Media Center with for many years.

    I didn't realize it works well with the Shield! Perhaps the Sony 900E TV itself can handle it then, since I understand that both the Shield and TV are simply little Android devices.

    Sounds like I was barking up the wrong tree anyway attempting to stick w/ a W7 solution, as outside WMC, W7 simply can't handle scaling properly for a 4K screen as I noticed trying the kitchen HTPC on it, hah! Super tiny, even at max 200% scaling. Thanks again for the advice.
     
  8. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,555
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Are you doing only OTA or also the paid channels hence wmc and win 7? If the former, then Plex can do live TV and recording just not the encypted channels.
     
  9. Ducman69

    Ducman69 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,469
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Cable-card paid channels.

    I tried Plex in the past, and beyond missing channels, I also found the performance to be very slow changing channels, despite being gigabit wired ethernet. *shrugs* Can't be the device itself, as switching channels in WMC/W7 boxes works fine, so figured it was a limitation with Plex interface, at least at the time.
     
  10. Brahmzy

    Brahmzy [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,947
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Build your own. Everything else is a massive compromise.
     
  11. MrGuvernment

    MrGuvernment Stay [H]ard

    Messages:
    19,810
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Cost, head ache, an NVIDIA shield will do it all and just work
     
    Solhokuten likes this.
  12. Brahmzy

    Brahmzy [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,947
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Shield won’t do it all, that’s the problem.
    Be a massive downgrade.