Best option for adding 2nd HDMI port w/ 3090

hajalie24

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
1,360
It's a bit ridiculous that they went with 3 displayport and ONLY ONE HDMI 2.1 port on my 3090.. especially as VR is a thing and many headsets use HDMI for that. Side rant but my old 1080 ti was glorious with a DVI port, 2 Displayport, and 2 HDMI.

Of course beggars can't be choosers... I needed a GPU w/ HDMI 2.1 and microcenter only had this in stock.

I've got it connected to my CX in the basement, but I also want to connect my PC to my living room TV (HDMI 2.0) or my VR headset (I'm fine with swapping out the ports in this case)

Is there a passive displayport 1.4 to HDMI 2.0 adapter that works without issues? My thinking is passive introduce less issues and input lag.

I've got an old active Club3D Displayport to HDMI 2.0 dongle I bought in 2015 when 4k TVs were just becoming a thing and HDMI 2.0 was introduced but not available on any graphics cards at the moment.. however it does not work properly with HDR.

Sorry lots of unnecessary info.

TLDR: Need 4k 60hz HDR from GPU with occupied HDMI ports. Options appear to be:

1. Get an adapter (would like you recommendation here)
2. Trade for a 3090 w/ 2 HDMI 2.1 ports (ideal but such a hassle)
3. ?????
 

hajalie24

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
1,360

That's a good product I didn't think of, thanks for bringing to my attention.

Unfortunately it's only HDMI 2.0, I need to use HDMI 2.1 for one of my displays.

Also, I would like to have 2 sources instead of duplicating 1 source. It would be nice to have the game on the TV for VR - I'm sure duplicating the VR output to the TV will not look good.
 

jerry8169

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 1, 2020
Messages
125
Also, I would like to have 2 sources instead of duplicating 1 source. It would be nice to have the game on the TV for VR - I'm sure duplicating the VR output to the TV will not look good.
For something like that you'd probably want to try to find a dp to hdmi adaptor if you can't find a card with 2 hdmi outputs.
 

Pestluder

n00b
Joined
Oct 8, 2009
Messages
33
I've used a passive DP to HDMI with my VIVE without issue.

I don't think there are any VR systems that require HDMI 2.1 at the moment. Some have moved to DP - HP reverb v2 uses it now...
 

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
10,904
my understanding is display port 1.4 doesn’t have the bandwidth necessary to do a 1:1 HDMI 2.1 port conversion. So if HDMI 2.1 is important, now or in the future start looking to trade out your GPU.
 

hajalie24

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
1,360
Thanks all, I only need HDMI 2.0 for my secondary displays (for now at least) so I might just get a cheaper adapter.

Still not a huge fan of the adapter, like I said before I got a display port to hdmi 2.0 adapter a few years ago and it's lacking in some features like HDR. I'm sure another adapter will get outdated soon enough. Looks like the linked adapter above does not support VRR for instance.

I may end up reaching out to EVGA support and see what they might be able to do for me. Worth a shot.
 

DouglasteR

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 6, 2006
Messages
461
my understanding is display port 1.4 doesn’t have the bandwidth necessary to do a 1:1 HDMI 2.1 port conversion. So if HDMI 2.1 is important, now or in the future start looking to trade out your GPU.
It is literally the inverse.

DisplayPort is always one step ahead. Everything HDMI 2.1 is capable, Displaport 1.4 (heck even 1.2b IIRC) already was.
 

Archaea

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 19, 2004
Messages
10,904
It is literally the inverse.

DisplayPort is always one step ahead. Everything HDMI 2.1 is capable, Displaport 1.4 (heck even 1.2b IIRC) already was.
No

HDMI 2.1 is 48Gbps
Display 1.4a is less at 32.4Gbps
 

hajalie24

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 22, 2010
Messages
1,360
Yeah HDMI and these new TVs really knocked it out the park with this one. We've gotten to a point where televisions outperform monitors. Too bad I'm stuck with 3 displayport outputs and only 1 HDMI port though!!
 
Top