Best NAS, 6 bays Mon, 8 bays preferred (3.5")

ldoodle

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 29, 2011
Messages
172
Hi,

What's currently the best NAS vendor? My requirements are:

6 bays min, 8 bays preferred (depending on width)
Google integration (Docs, Pictures etc.)
My front-end is Nvidia Shield TV so streaming to that

Am I totally out of touch with pricing as well? Over £800 for a diskless QNAP 6 bay... WTF!!!!!
 

schizo

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
1,661
Synology is the best by a hair, followed by QNAP. You get better hardware for your money with QNAP but Synology's OS and user experience is gorgeoso. Both are extremely expensive compared to rolling your own with something like unRaid or FreeNAS.
 

ldoodle

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 29, 2011
Messages
172
I have 8* 2TB 3.5" disks so would like to use them is poss. I don't have massive capacity / speed requirements.
 

Spartacus09

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 21, 2018
Messages
1,809
Does it need hotswap or just nice to have? and is the space requirement rack mount based or free standing cabinet type?
Can you provide a little more insight on where its going and/or the compute requirements?
Do you have any spare parts/components cpu/mobo/ram/PSU etc?
 
Last edited:

Spartacus09

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 21, 2018
Messages
1,809
Thres only one case that really comes to mind in that size but it a bit difficult to build in or find the case to purchase ~ the UNAS NSC-810A.
Its an 8-bay hotswap micro atx enclosure, and uses a flex power supply.
 

ND40oz

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
12,118
He's trying to use his existing 3.5" drives though.
My bad, I read that as 2.5" drives since they were so small. OP, don't reuse those drives, it's not worth it. At best you'll end up with just shy of 14TB in RAID 5 with a case full of disk and you'll have had to overbuy on the rest of the hardware to use them all.
 

Spartacus09

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 21, 2018
Messages
1,809
I dont think op is in the US considering the currency notated, though that seller looks like they ship worldwide.
At best you'll end up with just shy of 14TB in RAID 5 with a case full of disk and you'll have had to overbuy on the rest of the hardware to use them all.
Also don't use raid 5 if you can help it, if you care about the data go raid 6 minimum.
 

NIZMOZ

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
1,929
Synology has what you need,. I've had my 1515+ for 5-6 years. Been great!
 

sphinx99

Gawd
Joined
Dec 23, 2006
Messages
924
I have a DS1821+ that’s so far outperforming my expectations. It is incredibly expensive particularly when outfitted with upgrades, but it does work oh so well.
 
Top