Best introduction to MVC?

tempto

n00b
I'm already a ASP.NET WebForms developer and I would like to jump to MVC. Which books/courses would you recommend me? As far as I know, MVC has evolved to ASP.NET Core am I right?

Technically, everything is moving to .NET 5...

But to answer your question, yes, ASP.NET Core MVC is where MVC has moved to. Start learning razor pages, if you haven't already. Bring your HTML, CSS, javascript, jquery, bootstrap, etc. skills with you, you'll need them.

I self-taught myself ASP.NET Core MVC fairly quickly, so I'd say skip the books/courses. There's enough free knowledge out there on the internet, you just have to know where to look. Start with Microsoft's Overview of ASP.NET Core MVC. Get familiar with the terminology and high level concepts. MS's examples are a good start, but a bit boring. If you're not afraid of jumping straight into it, take a look at IdentityServer4 and their Quickstart guide. The server they'll have you build is MVC based (ASP.NET Core 3.1 to date). It's a real world example, and you'll end up with a working OIDC authentication server at the end of the tutorial. Who knows, you might end up using it later on. So, bonus.

However, I'd recommend skipping MVC altogether and jumping straight into ASP.NET Core Blazor. Blazor is far more cutting edge than MVC. If you care anything about a responsive or rich user experience, SPA web design is where it's at today. With Blazor, you're writing things in C# instead of Javascript. And if some 3rd party thing you want is already is written in Javascript, you can just wrap it with a little C# and reuse it. No need to reinvent the wheel, I say.