best CPU upgrade for an LGA775 socket from my E5200

jonicarter

n00b
Joined
Aug 25, 2006
Messages
47
I'm looking to upgrade my CPU and don't want to upgrade my MOBO and RAM just yet, so I'm wondering what my best option would be.

I've OC'ed my E5200, but it craps out at 3ghz even with all of the usual voltage & timing tweaks.

I don't want to spend a ton of cash, but I'd be OK spending the $160 for a Q8400 if it will make a really big difference. The PC is used for gaming primarily, but also some Photoshop and Autocad. I've got 4GB of DDR2 currently installed, am running Windows 7 x64, and currently have an Nvidia GTS 250 GPU, and a Corsair 450VX PSU.
 

cam966251

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
1,283
If you live near microcenter, you can get a Q9550 for $150. That would be the best option.
 

drescherjm

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 19, 2008
Messages
14,938
Or if you do not have a micro center around you can get a Q9550 used for around the same price.
 

jonicarter

n00b
Joined
Aug 25, 2006
Messages
47
I have a Gigabyte GA-G31M-ES2L. I just went ahead and ordered the Q8400 CPU since I don't have a microcenter around me that has the Q9550 in stock.
 

OC-Chronic

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 14, 2010
Messages
234
The quad-core you ordered is definitely a better chip than the E5200...moving to a quad core 775 is cheap right now and will give really good performance for the money spent...
 

vict0r

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
1,027
for the time being, 775 is good enough ... the new stuff is like having an formula 1 car in the city...the performance gain between the formula 1 in the city and your audi a6 is that the formula 1 car will get to the next lights 3 seconds faster than you.

so basically people having a q9550 as of now dont have to worry about upgrading for maybe another 1 or 2 yrs.

i'm on an e8400 and am cool with it still...if i upgrade i will be getting a q9550 ... and a new vidcard...
 

RM_Bulldog

Gawd
Joined
Jan 12, 2003
Messages
697
ya after realizing the computer that is worth 1500 bucks of my money is still over a year away, so i got a q9550 and overclocked it to 4ghz :)
 

Carlitos714

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 1, 2009
Messages
1,025
how much you get that Q8400 for? I would have gone for the Q6600!! you can find those used for about $90-$120 easy. I still say get the Q6600 and return that Q8400
 

fochkoph

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
1,613
Nice choice on the 'budget' quad since you don't have a MicroCenter near you. My vote would've been for the Q9550! I plan on holding onto mine for a long long loooong time and I have yet to unlock its true potential (still running on stock speeds).
 

Daemas

Gawd
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
791
which microcenters are you finding the Q9550 for $150? Cause no matter which store I look at, none of the stores have any in stock. Hell, I can't even find it by name search or SKU search.
 

Zenshi

Gawd
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Messages
676
MicroCenter had a sale on remaining Q9550s for $150 a few weeks back. I picked one up at that time. I think they are sold out now.
 

needmorecarnitine

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 10, 2004
Messages
4,609
which microcenters are you finding the Q9550 for $150? Cause no matter which store I look at, none of the stores have any in stock. Hell, I can't even find it by name search or SKU search.


Exactly

I see people still recommending it saying that its at MC for $150. That was a while back, only 2 or 3 stores had stock and they are gone now
 

BillParrish

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 25, 2006
Messages
7,520
GA-G31M-ES2L

Two things come to mind.

1) make sure you have the latest bios so you can be sure the new cpu is supported.
F9 or better for version 1.x boards FC or better for version 2.x boards
http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=2889#

2) That is a "lite" version MB. You have only 3 phase CPU voltage regulator circuit and no heatsink for the MosFETS. If you have replaced the downwards blowing stock Intel heatsink I strongly suggest placing a fan so that it will wash air over the components around the cpu socket if you intend to OC. The area between the socket and the rear I/0 panel and the area between the socket and the top of the board are where you want extra airflow (basically shoot air at those 3 gray/black cubes near the cpu socket, they are inductors but the caps and mosfets you need to keep cool are right next to them)
 

turbolude

Gawd
Joined
Jan 23, 2005
Messages
790
Im wqhere u are atm Im running a E8600@4+ghz but im thinkin about just stepping up more megs of ram 4gb instead of 2gb atm. running a quad core and maybe a new 480gtx or just run dual 285gtx's currently running single evga gtx285. everything is water cooled. Idk much about the Q9950's but do they Overclock over 4ghz?
 

E4g1e

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 21, 2002
Messages
7,351
I have a Gigabyte GA-G31M-ES2L. I just went ahead and ordered the Q8400 CPU since I don't have a microcenter around me that has the Q9550 in stock.

Just how much did you pay for the Q8400? If you paid more than about $120 for it, you paid a little too much. But Newegg charges $170 for that CPU, which makes it a poor value especially since the 8000-series Quads have only 4MB of L2 cache versus 6MB or 12MB for the 9000-series Quads.

So, if you don't live anywhere near a MicroCenter, you most likely paid way too much for that CPU.
 
Top