BenQ BL3201PT 4K monitor

MrMike

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 4, 2000
Messages
6,511
Yep. Like I posted in the thread earlier, all monitors with this panel have bleed in the lower right.

If you can't sit far enough away from it to not see it in normal use, consider a 27" TN like the Swift.
 

NEK4TE

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2014
Messages
150
Probably will wait for MG279Q , will see how that will work out.

At least i tried :)

As its around -30C (windchill) here in Ontario, taking this back to Bestbuy will be a good exercise and warmup, that i really need, anyway :p
 

MrMike

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 4, 2000
Messages
6,511
I don't I captured detail all that well, but in case there was still anyone interested in this I took a few pics.

Far Cry 4 32" 4k@1080p vs 37" Native 1080p.

Both displays are set to max sharpness. The BL3201 is set to 30 brightness, the 37W3 is 20 backlight. The BL3201 on standard is much warmer than the 37W3. The 37W3 is on neutral in these shots, but even on warm the BL3201 is warmer.

To me, the BL3201 looks exactly like a 32" 1080p screen. I don't have one I can put next to it though.
 

Sephrioth

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 13, 2010
Messages
108
I have a problem calibrating the Benq BL3201PT with the i1Display pro. This calibrator supports LED backlights. I have tried almost every option including other backlight settings than White LED. I have tried Manual/Automaic and different color tone settings. But it just does not work for this monitor. I get light purple or greenish grays instead of natural ones and also the dark grays are distorted. The defaults are far better than the calibrated results. I tried the i1Display pro on a old DELL U2711 and it seems to work fine there.
 

4kmyfuture

n00b
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
6
Has anyone noticed the occasional vertical color lines that appear for a split second when using the monitor normally? It happened only once a day before, but I find it happens at least 2 to 3 times a day now. It happens on the right or left side of the monitor randomly.

I know some people posted about this happening on the B326HK monitor (which uses the same panel) but not this one. Do I have a defective display?

I'm using the DP cable that came with my monitor, and using a 660 ti with the latest drivers that were released on December 24th (347.09). Using standard picture mode, and AMA set to high (which is the default setting, and usually what is recommended for BenQ monitors).

Nearing my deadline to return it, so wanted to get some feedback. Thanks!
 

Seinfeld

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
446
Has anyone noticed the occasional vertical color lines that appear for a split second when using the monitor normally? It happened only once a day before, but I find it happens at least 2 to 3 times a day now. It happens on the right or left side of the monitor randomly.

I know some people posted about this happening on the B326HK monitor (which uses the same panel) but not this one. Do I have a defective display?

I'm using the DP cable that came with my monitor, and using a 660 ti with the latest drivers that were released on December 24th (347.09). Using standard picture mode, and AMA set to high (which is the default setting, and usually what is recommended for BenQ monitors).

Nearing my deadline to return it, so wanted to get some feedback. Thanks!

Yes I see it too, it shows up for half second then disappears and the lines are mostly black color but I have seen yellow ones too.
It happens 1-2 times per day and does not bother me since it goes away so fast.
 

4kmyfuture

n00b
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
6
Yes I see it too, it shows up for half second then disappears and the lines are mostly black color but I have seen yellow ones too.
It happens 1-2 times per day and does not bother me since it goes away so fast.

Ahh, do you think this may cause any problems in the long run (ie. the longevity of the monitor)? Or just a glitch that if you can live with happening just here or there isn't going to affect the monitor? (just your opinion)

Thanks!
 

XcPNehVYlE4A3C

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
317
Ahh, do you think this may cause any problems in the long run (ie. the longevity of the monitor)? Or just a glitch that if you can live with happening just here or there isn't going to affect the monitor? (just your opinion)

Thanks!

I've got a similar issue too but I was going to wait and try to switch graphics cards or computers to make sure that wasn't causing it...
its a flicker/glitch that happens maybe once every hour.
 

4kmyfuture

n00b
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
6
Mine doesn't happen that often, just once every few hours.

Are you both using the displayport to mini displayport cable that came with the monitor?

I'm wondering if this could be because of a faulty cable.
 

Seinfeld

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
446
Anyone else have problem with displayport not working sometimes.
At boot and after Windows has loaded, the monitor gets no signal until I restart the PC.

This seems to be a DP only issue.
I thought it was Nvidia drivers because I had same problem with the Philips monitor but since it happens at boot during POST, when Nvidia drivers is not even loaded, it's maybe not the drivers but the GPU?

MST GTX 970.
 

NEK4TE

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 13, 2014
Messages
150
Is your 970 OCed?

I had similar issue on AMD, but, when it was overclocked (high).
 

XcPNehVYlE4A3C

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
317
Mine doesn't happen that often, just once every few hours.

Are you both using the displayport to mini displayport cable that came with the monitor?

I'm wondering if this could be because of a faulty cable.

I was thinking the same. Using a DP cable that came with my other 27" benq. A quality cable costs quite a bit but I suppose its a good investment anyway...
 

XcPNehVYlE4A3C

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
317
Anyone else have problem with displayport not working sometimes.
At boot and after Windows has loaded, the monitor gets no signal until I restart the PC.

This seems to be a DP only issue.
I thought it was Nvidia drivers because I had same problem with the Philips monitor but since it happens at boot during POST, when Nvidia drivers is not even loaded, it's maybe not the drivers but the GPU?

MST GTX 970.

Interesting... I have this too but assumed it was a hackintosh issue since the 970 is not officially supported and very early along driver-wise. For me it doesn't happen on boot though. Has happened maybe 2-3 times. I need to install windows or try a different card to really be sure. MSI 970 here too btw. Otherwise I just calibrated the monitor and it looks fantastic, so hopefully this and the flicker are minor issues not related to the monitor that we can fix.
 

MrMike

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 4, 2000
Messages
6,511
Interesting... I have this too but assumed it was a hackintosh issue since the 970 is not officially supported and very early along driver-wise. For me it doesn't happen on boot though. Has happened maybe 2-3 times. I need to install windows or try a different card to really be sure. MSI 970 here too btw. Otherwise I just calibrated the monitor and it looks fantastic, so hopefully this and the flicker are minor issues not related to the monitor that we can fix.

I realize that panel variation exists, but did you have to make major adjustments when calibrating?

What brightness did you end up using?
 

GMaxx

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 13, 2005
Messages
310
Hey guys, I'm not sure if this will help you but I initially had some flicker issues and couldn't consistently get 60 Hz. The monitor kept defaulting to 30 Hz and couldn't change it in the control panel. I was using a mini-displayport to displayport cable. I brought a displayport to displayport cable and swapped that in and ever since I haven't had any flickering or trouble getting 60 Hz. As a side note, if anybody is wondering about gaming on this monitor then I would say it's pretty good as long as you aren't using it competitively. The response time is good and I'm getting anywhere between 50 to 90 fps on several modern games depending on the settings (AA) running gtx 980 sli. My 690s weren't cutting it anymore because of the VRAM.
 

Seinfeld

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
446
Is your 970 OCed?

I had similar issue on AMD, but, when it was overclocked (high).

Not overclocked. Nvidia acknowledged the problem and released a hotfix driver (which is now outdated. It seemed like the hotfix had solved the issue but I realized it still happens but not so often as it did before.

As you may be aware, last week we released a new Geforce 344.80 Hotfix driver to deliver important bug fixes to our customers:

http://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/3607

This driver includes a fix for DisplayPort connectivity issues with certain monitors running on GeForce GTX 970/980 GPUs. Please give the above driver a try if you run into DisplayPort issues on your Geforce GTX 970/980 GPU. If the issue is not resolved with the driver above, check the video BIOS version of your graphics card through the NVIDIA Control Panel.

1) Launch the NVIDIA Control Panel
2) From the bottom left hand corner, select "System Information"
3) A new window will appear with information about your graphics card. Search for the video BIOS version. If the version number is older than 84.04.31.00.00, please contact your board manufacturer for an updated video BIOS update.

Please note: Before contacting your board manufacturer for a new video BIOS, we highly recommend you first test driver version 344.80 if you have not yet done so.

https://forums.geforce.com/default/...-fix-info-posted-11-25-/post/4376386/#4376386

There is even a guy which claims that Nvidia hotfix driver damaged this Benq monitors:

UPDATE: Well since I still have the issue I figured I would try the hotfix drivers and PUFF the monitor went out :( It cost me a $100 to ship the RMA only to have BenQ ask me what I did to it to which I replied (I did Nothing) So I explained to them how and when the problem started It worked find on the Gigabyte 770 and when I bought the Gigabyte 970 using display port the monitor would not turn on !!!! SO they sent me a new monitor, I first tested it (the New Monitor) on a totally different computer using the Gigabyte GTX770 and it booted fine no issues what so ever. So I then hooked it up to the Computer using the GTX970 now remember I already have the hotfix drivers installed !! so I (1)plugged in the display port cable (2)plugged in the power and turned on the monitor, power light turned on bright white then went to the amber sleep state since the computer was not turned on !!! AS SOON AS I TURNED ON THE COMPUTER the frickn monitor started doing it again power light goes into a power loop !!! and now this monitor just went out, cant even get it to boot on the Gigabyte 770 !!!! WTF So now I have to do another RMA and not use it on the Gigabyte GTX970 ever again !!!! so far this as cost me $750 for the monitor $200 for rma shipping and probably another $750 for a new monitor if they don't replace it for free (REALLY PISSED OFF) Now calling Gigabyte they say its not there fault, (They have no know issues of this happening) NVidia has not answered to my debug submission. So looks like this customer got screwed since nobody is stepping up to take responsibility for this issue. Be careful Guys I'm sure im not the only one that this has happened to. Thanks for listening to me vent !!! At a total loss here and nobody/nowhere to get help from.

https://forums.geforce.com/default/...-fix-info-posted-11-25-/post/4376507/#4376507
 

XcPNehVYlE4A3C

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
317
I realize that panel variation exists, but did you have to make major adjustments when calibrating?<br />
<br />
What brightness did you end up using?
<br />
<br />

no major adjustments besides brightness. RGB was dead on out of the box (unlike my 27" benq that was wayyy off). final brightness was 27. had 120cdm brightness as target.

to my eyes this monitor already looked pretty nice out of the box, the calibration just smoothed out the color range, less harsh. The 27" was a massive difference though, looks perfect now but was really ugly out of the box.
 

MrMike

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 4, 2000
Messages
6,511
no major adjustments besides brightness. RGB was dead on out of the box (unlike my 27" benq that was wayyy off). final brightness was 27. had 120cdm brightness as target.

to my eyes this monitor already looked pretty nice out of the box, the calibration just smoothed out the color range, less harsh. The 27" was a massive difference though, looks perfect now but was really ugly out of the box.

Wow. I'm surprised, thanks.
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2014
Messages
3
Was able to pick up the NA version of this (BL3201PH) on Amazon for 989 + tax and had it overnighted.

First impressions: MY GOD. This thing is huge. No problems reading fonts in 4k whatsoever. I have it scaled though to like medium in windows.

My wife also noticed the colors popping since it's sitting next to my PG278Q. If this is what I was missing out with IPS, then I'm glad I bought this. Right now, it's my main monitor for daily use, but my PG278Q will be used for gaming since this one can only do 60hz.

I've been spoiled by the 144hz of the Swift. Although many say 60hz is perfectly fine, I immediately noticed the choppiness.

Still, it's a great looking monitor.

Only gripe is trying to find a way to have the BenQ as my main, but having games use the Swift as my primary. Right now I've assigned the Swift as my main and just moved windows to the BenQ, but that's getting annoying. Also, although the words and what not are not difficult to see, I am experiencing some eyestrain. Then again, that could be because I look at a computer monitor for about 6-8 hours of the day at work and come home and try to use computer monitors for anywhere between 1-4 hours.
 

Moogles

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 26, 2007
Messages
69
Can this monitor do 120hz @ 1080P? I haven't kept up with the newer 4K displays, but know the old Seiki model could do this. Does it require special circuitry?
 

applebook

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 18, 2007
Messages
259
I had been using a 37" IPS LG tv for the past 4 years, finally decided to get a new monitor and skipped 1440p.

Have had the Benq for 4 days and have mixed feelings. I can't detect dead pixels, and there is an acceptable level of Blb, but the IPS glow is more prominent than my TV, with more distracting anti-glare since the pixels are significantly smaller, and of course the much, much higher Dpi is a serious adjustment. I used to lounge 6-7 feet from my TV but now have to sit within 3 feet of the Benq.

I think that I might return this and wait for the Philips, mostly because of its more flexible 40" size, but also since I'm not a photographer, I want to switch back to VA for the blacks/contrast and sacifrice a bit of uniformity and color accuracy. I have till Friday to decide.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/130442827@N05/15864882604/
 

zeev

n00b
Joined
Jun 5, 2011
Messages
24
Just got this monitor, and loving it, but not crazy about the performance of the "Eye Protect" auto-brightness function.

I've put some strips of masking tape over the sensor to "calibrate" it ... but still not ideal.

Does anyone have, or know where one can find, the service manual for this display? I would like to see more details about the light sensor; e.g., which of the 3 sensors under the sensor window is for light, which for proximity, etc.

But overall fantastic; much better than the Asus ASUS PQ321Q I had before. Better in every way, and $500 cheaper.
 

delita

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
1,729
is the included DP cable with the BL3201PH good for 60hz or should it be upgraded and if so which cable should I go for?
 

MrMike

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 4, 2000
Messages
6,511
I'm having a shit time deciding between this and the 34 in 3440x1440 for my next gaming monitor. :/

I had both the 34UM95 and BL3201PH next to each other for almost two weeks before I sent back the 34UM95. If you can get both from Amazon, it's not a bad idea to try them.

If most of the games you play support the 21:9 AR and you don't use your PC to watch a lot of 16:9 content, I think it's great. I wish I had one at work for software development, or better yet two one on top of the other. My biggest problem with the 21:9s is that the backlight bleed is very noticeable when you have black bars on either side.

I currently use my PC as my one stop shop, so I use this display for everything. I don't play a lot of FPS, usually Blizzard games (HOTS, SC2, D3, WoW) and RPGs. I'm okay with not playing DA:I right now, and I'm looking forward to playing modded FO3 through again, for example. I also prefer how WoW looks on the BL3201 compared to the 34UM95. MMOs really emphasize the higher resolution because things like character names that are in the distance are actually crisp and readable.

I'm happy with my choice but I can understand how others wouldn't be. If I was logging tons of hours of Counter-Strike per week like I did back in the beta days, I'd probably have an ROG Swift.
 

delita

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
1,729
I had both the 34UM95 and BL3201PH next to each other for almost two weeks before I sent back the 34UM95. If you can get both from Amazon, it's not a bad idea to try them.

If most of the games you play support the 21:9 AR and you don't use your PC to watch a lot of 16:9 content, I think it's great. I wish I had one at work for software development, or better yet two one on top of the other. My biggest problem with the 21:9s is that the backlight bleed is very noticeable when you have black bars on either side.

I currently use my PC as my one stop shop, so I use this display for everything. I don't play a lot of FPS, usually Blizzard games (HOTS, SC2, D3, WoW) and RPGs. I'm okay with not playing DA:I right now, and I'm looking forward to playing modded FO3 through again, for example. I also prefer how WoW looks on the BL3201 compared to the 34UM95. MMOs really emphasize the higher resolution because things like character names that are in the distance are actually crisp and readable.

I'm happy with my choice but I can understand how others wouldn't be. If I was logging tons of hours of Counter-Strike per week like I did back in the beta days, I'd probably have an ROG Swift.

Hey I appreciate your input man. I actually used to play CS competitively back in the day myself, but no longer. I play mostly RPG's and MMO's nowadays, but I will am looking forward to a couple of shooters in the near future like the new Rainbow Six Siege. I think I'll probably end up going with the BenQ from what you're saying, we seem to be on the same page.
 

King4x4

n00b
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
38
Just orderd one of these bad boys for $1200 shipped to Saudi Arabia. Lets see how it goes.
 

applebook

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 18, 2007
Messages
259
I decided to keep mine.

The only serious criticism that I have is that the AHVA glow on it seems more prominent than on the better IPS panels that I've seen, but I'm getting accustomed to it, and it's not intolerable or horrible.
 

abc12345

n00b
Joined
Feb 18, 2015
Messages
1
Can someone the owner this monitor to test input lag? I can buy maybe this monitor but can not find anything on this monitor input lag test. Needed to know it is good or bad?
 

Bastich

n00b
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
42
I recently purchased this monitor and it has very obvious color uniformity problems with the left side of the screen being a good 500k lower in color temp than the right. Is there anyone here who has one of these that doesn't have this problem? If so, what is the manufacture date? Mine is December 2014.

I'm trying to decide whether to just return it for a refund or exchange it for another. If this is a widespread problem though, I'll probably just get a refund as I really don't want to be shipping monitors back and forth for the next month and a half trying to find that needle-in-the-haystack panel that doesn't suck. Any information would be helpful. Thanks.
 

wirk

Gawd
Joined
Sep 2, 2014
Messages
811
I recently purchased this monitor and it has very obvious color uniformity problems with the left side of the screen being a good 500k lower in color temp than the right. Is there anyone here who has one of these that doesn't have this problem? If so, what is the manufacture date? Mine is December 2014. I'm trying to decide whether to just return it for a refund or exchange it for another. If this is a widespread problem though, I'll probably just get a refund as I really don't want to be shipping monitors back and forth for the next month and a half trying to find that needle-in-the-haystack panel that doesn't suck. Any information would be helpful. Thanks.

I do not see anything like that. Is this color difference starting exactly in the middle of the screen and covering full half of it?
 
Top