Beginner C++ Questions (references and const)

Bop

2[H]4U
I've been learning Java for about four months now and a few days ago I purchased some books on C++. (currently reading C++ Primer Plus) Initially a few things threw me off (like how C++ passes objects by value and instead of passing references by value), but either I'm a slow learner or simply not understanding this next concept correctly.

Please correct me if I am wrong on any of these statements. I have a headache and my brain is fried; I will probably say something stupid. :D

I understand that using const at the end of a member function like void method() const allows a const object to use that function. A method with a const parameter prevents that method from modifying any data in that object (ex void method(const Parameter1 & prm).

My confusion begins when you use const and references.

I don't think I understand how returning references works.

I know that
int a = 5;
int & b = a; (b "points" to the value at the address of a)

is just about equivalent to:
int a =5;
int * b = &a;(b points to the address of a)

but what exactly happens step by step when you return a reference? For example let's say the function is int & getIntRef(int & a){return a;}. I could use getIntRef(a) = 5 to change the value at that memory address.

I know what the end result is, but what is going on at a deeper level? Is there such a thing as "copying" references or am I thinking about it the wrong way?