Battling with ISP over ports

t1337duder

Gawd
Hey guys - I moved out of the city a few months back and I'm stuck with some shitty rural satellite internet because I live in the middle of nowhere. The worst part? All of the ports are always closed and I can't open them. I suspect it has something to do with the router they provided. I'm not a networking expert but I know a bit. Typically with an ISP-provided router, I would have to turn on "Bridge mode" to properly connect it to my WiFi router, or forward the ports of the most front-facing router to the main gateway in the network (and then forward the ports on that Gateway to where I need them). I've set up port forwarding hundreds of times (even for service calls at my old IT job). I'm confident that I know how to properly do it (it's easy, and yes, I have a static IP).

But I feel like my ISP is gaslighting me. I've called them and talked to them, and a representative said that the ports are closed as a precaution to the customers. They had me write an email to another employee to have them opened. That employee replies and tells me that they haven't closed the ports. Not just that, but they begin lecturing me on the Acceptable Use. "I'm pasting a link to our acceptable use policy in regards to creating/running servers which we do not allow." - I go to the link, and it's an acceptable use policy that is copied from someone's elses website and describes someone else's business. The name of the ISP is nowhere to be found in this acceptable use policy. Completely nuts. And the section in regards to running servers? "Not allowed: Create or maintain a software download or distribution server or site created for the purpose of distribution of software products, music, movies or other content."