Battlefield3 PerfOverlay and performance~ (GTX670)

Arclouse~

n00b
Joined
Jun 30, 2013
Messages
12
Hello! My first post yey.

I've had my Gigabyte GTX670 OC + 3570 for about a month now and it's been fantastic.
But.. after I reinstalled Windows 7 just the other day, things in Battlefield 3 feel kind of.. off. My frames aren't as stable now, and I'm using the same drivers I were last week..

Note I have never overclocked anything myself (yet!) everything is currently at 'stock'.

(I'm also running at 1920x1080, 8GB 1600mhz RAM, Corsair 850w + a 120gb kingston SSD)

kef4ia.jpg


I've been told *maybe* I haven't noticed these drops before because I wasn't as fixated on looking for change, but it just feels like theres something wrong, it stutters down to 45~ more. It used to sit above 60+ easily.
(I'm running on ultra)

GPU-Z (Idle)
2r61oaq.jpg


CPU-Z (Idle)
2zhdzj4.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
703
You installed it when? Did you get all of the windows updates? It takes quite a few reboots to get them all. If you haven't, it keeps downloading them.

Why did you reinstall in the first place? And did you change drivers, etc.?
 

Arclouse~

n00b
Joined
Jun 30, 2013
Messages
12
Hello

I installed it again just yesterday, and I grabbed every windows update like before.

I reinstalled because I changed version to a newly purchased Home Premium. I am using the same drivers as before.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2012
Messages
827
http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.aspx?m=1537904&mpage=1&print=true
Try this. I gave it a shot and gave me about 20-30fps in bf3. They say its only for hyper threaded CPU but I had ht off while doing some testing and it said I still have 2 parked cores. Never drop below 100fps now with mesh quality on low and 2xmsaa. Everything else maxed and 90fov. Could of been for some reason cores got parked on this install and didn't on previous. Game is much smoother with this fix.
 

Arclouse~

n00b
Joined
Jun 30, 2013
Messages
12
Unfortunately that didn't do anything for me.

I experienced a dip to 25fps for a second on another map.

I keep a solid FPS most of the time it's just some sweet spots that drop it to 40 on all maps now.

Even on low it's dropping to 50~

Ran Unigine Heaven with the Extreme Preset, which as far as I've read is lower than what others have gotten with the same setup.
117shdz.jpg


+ A custom
313m7vr.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 16, 2012
Messages
827
Heaven 4.0 scores a lot lower on extreme than 3.0 did. So I think your about right. Have u tried another driver. The latest beta ? Or roll back to 314.xx ? A lot of people seam to be having issues with the 320.xx drivers. Sorry I see u r running 314.22, I'd try an update to the latest betas. 320.49 I believe and check custom and clean installation.
 

Arclouse~

n00b
Joined
Jun 30, 2013
Messages
12
Alrighty I'll try both of those drivers and see what happens!
It wouldn't be a CPU issue would it?
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2012
Messages
827
I don't see how it could be other than the core parking thing. Are all 8gb of ram showing as usable ?
 

Arclouse~

n00b
Joined
Jun 30, 2013
Messages
12
Yup, it's set up for dual channel and it's all showing as usable. I'm getting another 8gb today (So I'll have 16gb) and I'll try them just on their own first, just in case I might have defective RAM right now or something.

Edit: Still happening.
 
Last edited:
Top