Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Crossfire users. What drivers?

SaViOr-

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 10, 2004
Messages
1,478
Good evening guys,

I just got my second 4890 in and am finally in crossfire :D. I was wondering what drivers those of you who play BC2 are using. Im on the 10.7 WHQL drivers and saw some weird issues this morning when I was testing the Crossfire set-up. I saw the GPU 1 would have an activity level of 95%+, while GPU 2 would only be around 25% or so. Also fraps was showing that my FPS was 65-80 (All HIGH, 16x AA, 16x AF, HBAO ON, VSync OFF), but the game felt like a slideshow. Not sure if that makes any sense :confused:, it just didnt feel smooth at all as it would have running a single card with 1xAA 8xAF and no HBAO, but with the same fps range.

I did do some browsing and learned it was a driver issue with 10.7 that I'm seeing. Now what drivers are all of you in Crossfire using? Also I would like to know what settings and res your running along with your FPS. The additional info is just for me so that I can determine whether the game is running properly in crossfire or not.

Thanks in advance for any and all comments and/or suggestions :D
 

King Icewind

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
5,444
Well if you play SC2 then 10.7a.

Right now I'm on 10.4a because all drivers afterwards caused another game I play to lockup when in crossfire. I haven't tried 10.7a yet. Not really looking forwards to it either since SC2 is in the mail for me...

Ultimately anything above 10.2.
 

GotNoRice

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
10,956
Did you install the latest Crossfire Application Profile as well?
 

SaViOr-

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 10, 2004
Messages
1,478
Yep I got the 10.7 cf app profile and had those issues. I'm at work now but ill download 10.4a & 10.5a to see if anything fixes it. Do I need 10.7 profile for those or get the cf app profiles for 10.4 & 10.5 one respectively? I posted in the BC2 forums but didn't really get any response there
Posted via [H] Mobile Device
 

SaViOr-

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 10, 2004
Messages
1,478
Just tried 10.5a and am having the same issues as before. I installed the 10.7 cf app profile after running 10.5a on its own and now im showing 95% activity on GPU 1 and 0% activity on GPU 2. I'm really lost as to wtf is going on here. Crossfire X is enabled in the control panel and GPU 2 is showing up as linked underneath the Graphics Hardware section of the Control Panel. What am i missing? lol.
Do I need to install 10.5 then 10.5a hotix or can 10.5a be alone? Little frustrated at this point :(
 
Last edited:

SaViOr-

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 10, 2004
Messages
1,478
Well I think I figured out what the issue with the activity levels was. I set my Catalyst A.I. to standard and had the same activity level for both GPUs :D.

Now for some reason my pc will completely shut down while playing. Sometimes itll happen in 5 min, sometimes at the end of a round in BC2 and sometimes during. I'm really lost now. Is this a driver issue or what?
 

magoo

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
14,492
I have XFire 5870s and have had no problems with BF2 using the 10.3a drivers or the 10.7s, of course I always load the latest XF profiles. My only consistant problem with any of the EF XF drivers is flashing screen when browsing the internet......doesn't happen in games, only on the net.....drives me batshit crazy, it hasn't fixed yet in any driver release.

As far as XF goes, I'm not sure it will ever be as good at scaling as SLi....(Not at all wanting to start some argument, not my intention......) but I do have both sides multimonitor software and SLi seems better to me somehow......it's all subjective though.:D
 

King Icewind

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
5,444
I have XFire 5870s and have had no problems with BF2 using the 10.3a drivers or the 10.7s, of course I always load the latest XF profiles. My only consistant problem with any of the EF XF drivers is flashing screen when browsing the internet......doesn't happen in games, only on the net.....drives me batshit crazy, it hasn't fixed yet in any driver release.

As far as XF goes, I'm not sure it will ever be as good at scaling as SLi....(Not at all wanting to start some argument, not my intention......) but I do have both sides multimonitor software and SLi seems better to me somehow......it's all subjective though.:D

What blinking issue are you referring too? This was fixed with 10.4a i believe and up. The blinking issue happened for me with Eyefinity, but 10.4a fixed it.
 

cesium666

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 19, 2006
Messages
4,506
Well I think I figured out what the issue with the activity levels was. I set my Catalyst A.I. to standard and had the same activity level for both GPUs :D.

Now for some reason my pc will completely shut down while playing. Sometimes itll happen in 5 min, sometimes at the end of a round in BC2 and sometimes during. I'm really lost now. Is this a driver issue or what?

Ah, yeah if you had cat ai on disabled it for all purposes disables CF. Needs to be standard or advanced.

As for your shut down issue, sounds like somethings unstable. Test your GPU, CPU, and RAM overclocks using programs like 3dmark vantage, Prime95, and Memtest, respectively.

I personally don't use furmark for stressing the GPU because the load it puts is unnatural and heats up components to levels you will never ever experience in any gameplay (e.g. furmark heats my VRegs to 110C while in any game it maxes at 85C)
 

SaViOr-

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 10, 2004
Messages
1,478
Well I finally settled on 10.5a with the latest CFX profile. Running BC2 at 1920x1080 with All HIGH, HBAO ON, VSync OFF, 16x AA (8x ingame settings, but 16xAA in CCC) & 16x AF. Getting an average of 70-80fps on a 32 player server, get little dips down to 45-50, but those only last for a split second or so when there's a lot going on.

Does this sound about right for my setup? I'm getting a X4 955 and Xigmatek Dark Knight-S1283V coming in on friday to replace my x2 550. So hopefully going to eliminate those sudden drops and/or get a little more out of the game. I think my OC on the 550 is the cause of the shutdowns. I backed it down to 3.4 and havent experienced the random shutdowns anymore, might be overheating since its still on stock hsf with AS5 lol
 
Top