Battlefield 4 **Official Discussion Thread**

Spidey329

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 15, 2003
Messages
8,683
played against a Rank 100 last night. he only had like 75 hours played, something like 1800 spm.

Did you get his name? That's an incredible feat. I'd like to see his stats.

I know with BF3, Battlelog made it damn easy to see who was legit or not.
 

DPI

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 20, 2013
Messages
12,176
Lol, a guy in my friends list reached level 100 during the weekend. I'm still stuck at level 38, even though I haven't played since saturday.

played against a Rank 100 last night. he only had like 75 hours played, something like 1800 spm.

Not sure why people get so hung up on what levels (other people) are; I see this on other BF4 forums too. Its nothing more than a free time metric. And level in BF4 means even less than it did in BF3 since hitting levelcap after 75hours simply means the XP Boost mechanic has broken leveling. I mean, a 100% XP Boost every level after Level50 due to gold battlepacks at every level thereafter. Gimme a break.

Battlefield is headed down a dark road here by tuning the game to casuals so much, diamond gun camos can't be far behind.
 

Porter_

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 10, 2007
Messages
8,428
Not sure why people get so hung up on what levels (other people) are; I see this on other BF4 forums too. Its nothing more than a free time metric. And level in BF4 means even less than it did in BF3 since hitting levelcap after 75hours simply means the XP Boost mechanic has broken leveling. I mean, a 100% XP Boost every level after Level50 due to gold battlepacks at every level thereafter. Gimme a break.

it's an interesting way to gauge someone's experience in the game. if it takes say 1 million points to reach rank 100 and someone did it in half the time i did, well that's interesting to me.
 

haunter

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 20, 2011
Messages
1,883
impressive

but wow what a 'one hit wonder'


almost entirely assaulty, not a single vehicle unlock

his accuracy doenst scream cheater


just no lifer I guess :p


and way better than me

jeez i did 340 hours into BF3 and am like rank 46(thought I never set aside time on 2xp weekends because well.....I had everything unlocked)
 

DPI

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 20, 2013
Messages
12,176
it's an interesting way to gauge someone's experience in the game. if it takes say 1 million points to reach rank 100 and someone did it in half the time i did, well that's interesting to me.

Maybe it was once an interesting metric for gauging experience. Now its a metric for feverishly opening battlepacks and hammering the XP Boost button.

I suspect anyone with a sense of urgency in the race to 100 has an age related dilemma -- a teenage dilemma. Everyone else hopefully has the perspective to understand you sip the wine instead of gulping it.
 

Kryptorchid

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
284
Everyone that I have seen reach rank 100 so far has been abusing a bug in Rush mode where you can run out of bounds and not die, making it so you can capture each objective within 10 seconds of that are becoming active.

Played against a guy who was doing this, and sure enough, 100% of his playtime has been in Rush.
 

CaptNumbNutz

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
23,237
Yup.. Word on that is Caspian Border, Operation Metro, Gulf of Oman and Operation Firestorm.

That sounds more like the "Second Assault" DLC to me. I could have sworn the first DLC is China Rising, and none of those maps take place in China or had Chinese forces in them originally.
 

Opie

Gawd
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
986
Can you detail that bug a little more? I get that not dying when OOB is a problem but how does that confer an advantage when capping? Do you become invincible?
 

OpStar

Gawd
Joined
Sep 20, 2004
Messages
598
Can arm the m-com as soon as they spawn? Harder to disarm that way I suppose.
 

Kryptorchid

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 2, 2011
Messages
284
You can move to the next area of the Rush map, and as soon as the first two m-coms are captured, you care in position to start capturing the next m-coms. This makes it impossible for the defending team to get to the new m-coms in time.

I have reported this issue to a friend on the development team, so they are definitely aware of this bug.
 

Maplehamwich

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 14, 2011
Messages
1,539
That sounds more like the "Second Assault" DLC to me. I could have sworn the first DLC is China Rising, and none of those maps take place in China or had Chinese forces in them originally.

Yeah, the first DLC is China Rising. Second Assault is the second DLC and will include the BF3 maps.
 

Spidey329

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 15, 2003
Messages
8,683
My 7950 is stock at 925mhz (core), but I noticed when I join BF4 it drops to 850mhz as the current performance state. If I overclock to 1150mhz (core), it'll drop to 500mhz as the current performance state.

Wish I would have had GPUShark running during the campaign. Being able to get it to run at 850mhz allows a lot of headroom for graphics compared to when it is running at 500mhz.

Anyone seen that before? I tested ARMA 3, furmark, and Heaven3d - doesn't do this.
 

WiLLiSTER

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 24, 2008
Messages
2,702
That sounds more like the "Second Assault" DLC to me. I could have sworn the first DLC is China Rising, and none of those maps take place in China or had Chinese forces in them originally.

Yeah, I keep forgetting China Rising is the first dlc since it was included with preorders lol.
 

NotSoSimple

[H]F Junkie
Joined
May 17, 2003
Messages
14,621
I did some core unparking and some settings tweaking (Net smoothing down to 10% and some graphics) as posted here previously on some YouTube videos. Went from 37FPS average to about 55. I might have just had a lucky night, but was continuously in the top three for a good hour-2 hours.

Blows my mind how much time people play the game. However, before I was married I totally played the shit out of games. Now days with work, wife, kids, etc I get two game nights a week, total of 8-10 hours (More if I want to feel like shit for a day or two) a week.
 

SHiZNiLTi

Gawd
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
927
§·H·ï·Z·N·ï·L·T·ï;1040356937 said:
Last night had some awesome rounds again went 61-13 w/ 22% accuracy in one round while running and gunning using the ACE 23 with angled grip and muzzle brake...

You guys should try out my graphics settings if you want a competitive edge over others and still have a good looking game. I spent many hours finding the best settings and this is what I came up with.

Even if I had a Titan SLI setup I'd still run these settings the only things I'd change would be to boost it up to 4xMSAA instead of 2x and change post processing from medium to Ultra.

These settings will allow you to acquire targets easier without sacrificing image quality.

*Warning* Mesh Quality on low almost feels kinda like hax on some maps... If an enemy is hiding behind an object like a container and your about 150 yards away it will not render the object they are hiding behind, but it will render the enemy lol.

Logitech (G400)MX518 mouse 1800 DPI @ 500hz w/ fresh teflon feet
In-game senstivity: GstInput.MouseSensitivity 0.055
Waxed Black Glass ICEMAT II
6/11 Windows Setting
Enhance pointer precision unchecked

1920x1080 @ 120hz
70 FOV
Motion Blur - Off
Depth of Field - Off
Texture Quality - Ultra
Texture Filtering - Ultra
Lighting - Medium
Effects - Low
Post Process Quality - Medium
Mesh Quality - Low
Terrain Quality - Ultra
Terrain Decoration - Low
AA Deferred - 2xMSAA
AA Post - Off
Ambient Occlusion - Off

FPS: Min 85, Avg 115, Max 200

Just took 1st place going 91-21, and I joined 15 kills behind the leader, did a fraps benchmark of it...

2013-11-07 18:35:12 - bf4
Frames: 204711 - Time: 1735324ms - Avg: 117.967

You guys should try out my settings, let me know what you think.
 
Last edited:

Rattle

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 10, 2007
Messages
2,806
Gonna try your settings tonight I normally run all ultra 4xAA blur 50 % and HBAO
I wish this shift would hurry the fuck up longest night ever....
 

Maplehamwich

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 14, 2011
Messages
1,539
Are the servers dying on anyone else? Every server I join dies after a random period of time. My client doesn't crash, it shuts down properly, the server actually dies. When I check battlelog population usually drops 90% after I lose connection.
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
12,443
I have a question about the XP boosts. Do these affect weapon and vehicle cores or just the overall rank/score?
 

WiLLiSTER

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 24, 2008
Messages
2,702
§·H·ï·Z·N·ï·L·T·ï;1040359231 said:
Just took 1st place going 91-21, and I joined 15 kills behind the leader, did a fraps benchmark of it...

2013-11-07 18:35:12 - bf4
Frames: 204711 - Time: 1735324ms - Avg: 117.967

You guys should try out my settings, let me know what you think.

I tried em earlier. Didn't log the numbers but it definitely felt smoother and more consistent. Looks a little better too compared to the settings I had set. Thanks.
 

Opie

Gawd
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
986
Great settings, Shizzy. I tried a little variation and I'm getting avg frames right in there with you. Game still looks great and the enemies stand out more.

Bravo!
 

Flogger23m

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
12,443
Affects only your rank score. Does not affect weapons or vehicles.

I see. Not much use for me then. I don't care what rank I am.

I think I am about done with this game. Unless they change the vehicle balance up a lot I don''t think I will be playing long and will just go back to BF3. Infantry is far too strong and everything is far too weak/point blank range.
 

pug71

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 24, 2005
Messages
441
Flogger.. I was trying to persuade myself to come back and try too.. I just cant. Inf are far stronger it seems than vehicles. I played bf3 for the vehicles. When I started the game I got my but kicked by people in vehicles on conquest maps. I dealt with it. I got better. So good that I became highly ranked in them in bf3.

Besides the crashing and host of issues in bf4 I just can't do it anymore in that game. I went back to bf3 and had a blast in BOTH AA guns yesterday. Even ran on foot for a min on Casp.

You know its bad when I stop playing bf for games like tf2 lol. Now Im also looking into FINALLY getting deep into morrowind and skyrim. Long live bf3 even with its bugs..

I can't deal with bf4 anymore.. They can have my copy back lol..
 

Brackle

Old Timer
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
8,010
§·H·ï·Z·N·ï·L·T·ï;1040356937 said:
Last night had some awesome rounds again went 61-13 w/ 22% accuracy in one round while running and gunning using the ACE 23 with angled grip and muzzle brake...

You guys should try out my graphics settings if you want a competitive edge over others and still have a good looking game. I spent many hours finding the best settings and this is what I came up with.

Even if I had a Titan SLI setup I'd still run these settings the only things I'd change would be to boost it up to 4xMSAA instead of 2x and change post processing from medium to Ultra.

These settings will allow you to acquire targets easier without sacrificing image quality.

*Warning* Mesh Quality on low almost feels kinda like hax on some maps... If an enemy is hiding behind an object like a container and your about 150 yards away it will not render the object they are hiding behind, but it will render the enemy lol.

Logitech (G400)MX518 mouse 1800 DPI @ 500hz w/ fresh teflon feet
In-game senstivity: GstInput.MouseSensitivity 0.055
Waxed Black Glass ICEMAT II
6/11 Windows Setting
Enhance pointer precision unchecked

1920x1080 @ 120hz
70 FOV
Motion Blur - Off
Depth of Field - Off
Texture Quality - Ultra
Texture Filtering - Ultra
Lighting - Medium
Effects - Low
Post Process Quality - Medium
Mesh Quality - Low
Terrain Quality - Ultra
Terrain Decoration - Low
AA Deferred - 2xMSAA
AA Post - Off
Ambient Occlusion - Off

FPS: Min 85, Avg 115, Max 200

Have to give those a shot. Would like a good avg on a 1440p 100hz monitor.
 

amd7674

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Messages
1,784
Shizzy thanks for sharing your settings... ;)

For 1080P 60Hz do you guys still recommed 70 FOV?

I had a very bad evening last night. :( :eek: The game froze on me 3 or 4 times last night. (picture freezes with audio in the loop), to get it out of it I had to use alt+ctrl+del to bring up task manager to kill bf.exe which eventually would give me bf4.exe has stopped working.

Please correct me if I’m wrong but I’m guessing my GPU o/c is unstable… Funny thing is I did not had this type of freezes/crashes with other games (including BF3) with the same mild o/c…
I played BF4 two nights ago without any freezes/crashes. Did DICE's recent server fixes causes this? :confused:

If it was CPU’s o/c I would get blue screen right?

Anyone else having similar issues?

If it is still happening tonight I will diable o/c on GPU altogether...

Any suggestions advise would be much appriciated. :D

BTW... I'm using win7 64 bit OS and bf4 (64 bit executable).
 

Flopper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 15, 2007
Messages
1,642
Shizzy thanks for sharing your settings... ;)

For 1080P 60Hz do you guys still recommed 70 FOV?

I had a very bad evening last night. :( :eek: The game froze on me 3 or 4 times last night. (picture freezes with audio in the loop), to get it out of it I had to use alt+ctrl+del to bring up task manager to kill bf.exe which eventually would give me bf4.exe has stopped working.

Please correct me if I’m wrong but I’m guessing my GPU o/c is unstable… Funny thing is I did not had this type of freezes/crashes with other games (including BF3) with the same mild o/c…
I played BF4 two nights ago without any freezes/crashes. Did DICE's recent server fixes causes this? :confused:

If it was CPU’s o/c I would get blue screen right?

Anyone else having similar issues?

If it is still happening tonight I will diable o/c on GPU altogether...

Any suggestions advise would be much appriciated. :D

BTW... I'm using win7 64 bit OS and bf4 (64 bit executable).

bf4 still crashes.
lot of issues still.
win 7 friends have issues and me to with win 8.1
 

Terpfen

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 29, 2004
Messages
6,079
For 1080P 60Hz do you guys still recommed 70 FOV?

70 is way too narrow, IMO. I'm playing at 1200p and have set FOV to 100. Larger than that and the game becomes a fishbowl, smaller than that and I feel like I'm at a competitive disadvantage.
 

amd7674

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Messages
1,784
Thanks Guys... I guess FOV is based on personal preference. i was playing on FOV set to 90 in BF3. I will play with different #, once I get BF4 or/and my system to behave...
 

Xonim

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
1,035
The M416 is a beast. Muzzle Brake, Angled Foregrip, red dot sight. Holy shit. Check out the accuracy plots at symthic for this weapon and that configuration. Its a god damn laser cannon up close and at range. I think the only gun better than it is the Ace23 which I am trying to unlock now. The only thing that beats it up close are shotguns and the AEK-971, but neither of those have any range.

Tried this setup last night based on your recommendation. Can confirm. I play mostly 300 ticket 24p domination, so 15-20 kills is common. Had a few games where I was 1:1 KDR, but that was actually incredible considering I was the only one on my team that had over .5 due to the other team winning by 260+ tickets...after things evened out a bit, I had several games over 2.0, with my best being 19/4 = 4.75. That's never happened in BF3 or BF4 for me.

I'm ~20 medkit ribbons away from the Ace23, I probably got 20-22 last night because even though I went 7wins/9losses, I was squad leader and had a decent squad that at least stuck together and focused the objectives I marked. That allowed me to get several defibs followed immediately by medpacks. The other team had a squad that was just plain better, but we had a couple games that were within 10 points one way or the other.
 

SoFGR

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
1,211
yo shiz, are you sure about the "mesh quality" setting ?

Back in bf3 in you had to max it out since it affected draw distance

You said that the enemies are being rendered no matter what but still ...
 

Terpfen

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 29, 2004
Messages
6,079
I'm ~20 medkit ribbons away from the Ace23, I probably got 20-22 last night because even though I went 7wins/9losses, I was squad leader and had a decent squad that at least stuck together and focused the objectives I marked. That allowed me to get several defibs followed immediately by medpacks. The other team had a squad that was just plain better, but we had a couple games that were within 10 points one way or the other.

The best way I've found to rack up medkit points is to play 64 player Operation Metr--er, Locker. Domination or team DM is preferred. Eventually half your team will bunch up at a choke point and exchange explosives with the other team. Just toss medkits into the mass of bodies and rack up the points and ribbons.
 

Xonim

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 14, 2011
Messages
1,035
The best way I've found to rack up medkit points is to play 64 player Operation Metr--er, Locker. Domination or team DM is preferred. Eventually half your team will bunch up at a choke point and exchange explosives with the other team. Just toss medkits into the mass of bodies and rack up the points and ribbons.

I'd do that, but that doesn't sound like fun at all and since I'm not really in a hurry to get the Ace23, I probably won't do it. That being said, I'm definitely going to do that for the ammo ribbons, because the LMG unlock needs 50 of those, and I'm at like 3/50 after hours and hours of playing support.
 
Top