Basic SLI question with Maximus V Formula

magictoaster

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 6, 2005
Messages
454
Does anyone know if it's possible to install a SLI setup with one card in the PCIE_X16/X8_1 (first red one from the top) slot, one card in the PCIE_X8/X4_2 slot (second red one from the top), and a sound card in PCIE_X4/X1_3 slot (last red one at the bottom) using a i7 2600K CPU?

I have seen conflicting reports about the lane configuration on this board.

I would have placed the sound card in the first slot (PCIEX4_1) but it doesnt fit thanks to the insanely large Phantek cooler.
 

Araxie

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
6,452
It should work without a problem... Both GPU will keep at x8. Without be affected by the soundcard (that has the problem some people have with video recorder as example) i tested right now in my sabertooh z77 and all fine with a sound card on the third pci-e x4 mode no problem..
 

magictoaster

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 6, 2005
Messages
454
Thanks for trying it on your setup! I'll know if its also working on mine this weekend. If not, the on-board audio should be good enough...
 

Araxie

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
6,452
the onboard of the maximus V formula its better than many 7.1 audio cards.. the supreme FX 7.1 on your mobo its just amazing... :) minimum noise, excelent dbi output..
 

magictoaster

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 6, 2005
Messages
454
the onboard of the maximus V formula its better than many 7.1 audio cards.. the supreme FX 7.1 on your mobo its just amazing... :) minimum noise, excelent dbi output..

Well good news, you where right! It works perfectly!

Both Titans are running at PCI-E 2.0x16@8 2.0, and are configured in SLI in the NVIDIA control panel. The sound card (I'm currently using an ASUS Xonar Phoebus) is also working fine. :D
 

Araxie

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
6,452
Well good news, you where right! It works perfectly!

Both Titans are running at PCI-E 2.0x16@8 2.0, and are configured in SLI in the NVIDIA control panel. The sound card (I'm currently using an ASUS Xonar Phoebus) is also working fine. :D

glad to know.. now enjoy..!

best regards..
 
Top