b350 amd

vict0r

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
1,027
i just read that msi releasing bios for b350 and x370 to support ryzen 5000
but all i can find is this tomahawk as proof.

does anyone know if this is legit at all?
anyone tried it out with an msi b350 pc mate?

thanks!
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
29,730
It comes down to the manufacturers. Will MSI add support for a low end board like that? Maybe, but probably not. It seems like ASRock is currently the leader in adding that feature. I have an old Gigabyte ITX B350 board that I don't expect them to update even if it would be compatible with 5XXX CPUs with a bios update. I'm more optimistic about Asus adding support to my Prime X370-Pro board, but even that might be a stretch. Let's face it. They'd rather sell you a new board than let you update one that's several years old.
 

vict0r

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
1,027
It comes down to the manufacturers. Will MSI add support for a low end board like that? Maybe, but probably not. It seems like ASRock is currently the leader in adding that feature. I have an old Gigabyte ITX B350 board that I don't expect them to update even if it would be compatible with 5XXX CPUs with a bios update. I'm more optimistic about Asus adding support to my Prime X370-Pro board, but even that might be a stretch. Let's face it. They'd rather sell you a new board than let you update one that's several years old.
I was asking because of this : https://wccftech.com/msi-adds-amd-r...p-cpu-support-to-its-300-series-motherboards/

but I dont seem to find anyone that tried it on the "b350 pc mate"..all i find is someone with a ryzen 5000 on a "b350 tomahawk"
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
29,730
I was asking because of this : https://wccftech.com/msi-adds-amd-r...p-cpu-support-to-its-300-series-motherboards/

but I dont seem to find anyone that tried it on the "b350 pc mate"..all i find is someone with a ryzen 5000 on a "b350 tomahawk"

Well, simply reading the article you posted leads me to believe that the B350 PC Mate does support 5XXX CPUs. The bios version you need is posted in the article, and by going to the support page for the motherboard, that bios is listed as a beta. Additionally, it tells you to use the "Ryzen SMU Checker" program to verify the code is available to support the 5XXX CPUs.

Seems like all the tools are available for you to confirm that this works as I'm not going to go out and source that board just to test it for you :p.
 

HisSvt76

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
3,271
I know this is an old thread but for anyone running a MSI B350 Tomahawk the newest bios has finally added Ryzen 5000 support and Resizable bar!
 

funkydmunky

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
3,015
Noticed my Gigabyte board now has it too. Is it still a matter of loosing previous gen CPU support? The BIOS doesn't mention which I thought there would be a BIG disclaimer and warning.
 

HisSvt76

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
3,271
Noticed my Gigabyte board now has it too. Is it still a matter of loosing previous gen CPU support? The BIOS doesn't mention which I thought there would be a BIG disclaimer and warning.
Not sure but I’d imagine it drops some older cpus
 

funkydmunky

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
3,015
Not sure but I’d imagine it drops some older cpus
Shouldn't it say?! I mean I am PC savoy and have heard such things, but imagine the # of noobs? Can't have the masses just updating and brick their current rig. So many just update because it is new.
Makes me think that they managed to keep Ryzen first gen. Says Bristol Ridge is no longer supported. If memory serves that was and older FM2+ area chip that was designed to work in AM4 boards that were launched well before the Ryzen chips shipped. Could this be what they dropped off and hence didn't actually need to drop any proper Ryzen CPU support?
If not the Gigabyte BIOS page is SEVERELY lacking ya.
 
Last edited:

HisSvt76

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
3,271
Shouldn't it say?! I mean I am PC savoy and have heard such things, but imagine the # of noobs? Can't have the masses just updating and brick their current rig. So many just update because it is new.
Makes me think that they managed to keep Ryzen first gen. Says Bristol Ridge is no longer supported. If memory serves that was and older FM2+ area chip that was designed to work in AM4 boards that were launched well before the Ryzen chips shipped. Could this be what they dropped off and hence didn't actually need to drop any proper Ryzen CPU support?
If not the Gigabyte BIOS page is SEVERELY lacking ya.
I would think so but if it doesn't say in the CPU support section then I'm not sure I know MSI lists CPU and bios version support but they made room on the B350 Tomahawk by eliminating the fancy bios interface.
 

funkydmunky

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
3,015
I would think so but if it doesn't say in the CPU support section then I'm not sure I know MSI lists CPU and bios version support but they made room on the B350 Tomahawk by eliminating the fancy bios interface.
Trying to find the CPU support section. I'm in the BIOS update page and have DL and read the read-me. Nothing.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
29,730
Trying to find the CPU support section. I'm in the BIOS update page and have DL and read the read-me. Nothing.

Every GB board I have you go to the motherboard page and hit the "support" link. And then below it has links for Downloads, etc. and there is a link for "CPU Support" and it should tell you what CPUs are supported and which bios is required.
 

funkydmunky

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
3,015
Every GB board I have you go to the motherboard page and hit the "support" link. And then below it has links for Downloads, etc. and there is a link for "CPU Support" and it should tell you what CPUs are supported and which bios is required.
So that brings me to this page
https://www.gigabyte.com/Support/CPU-Support
I have a Gaming 7 and that says F2
https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GA-AX370-Gaming-K7-rev-10/support#support-dl-bios
Which is the very first BIOS from way way back. So I don't see how this helps identify if one looses CPU support.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
29,730
Under the bios downloads, if you look at the "description" column on the far right side, it has in red letters "Note: NO Bristol Ridge support" after bios T51e. Similar notes under F40 and F30.
 
Top