Athlon XP 2900 and Chaintech nforce2 motherboard $80 AR

TheDoucheMan

Washed free of idiocy.
Joined
Jan 25, 2004
Messages
0
thats a pretty good deal i guess,... although there isn't an athlon xp 2900+ so that makes me weary.
 

diehard

Gawd
Joined
Aug 4, 2002
Messages
718
TheTMan said:
thats a pretty good deal i guess,... although there isn't an athlon xp 2900+ so that makes me weary.
- Processor Speed: 2.08 GHz XP 2900+
- Cache Size: 512KB

Is it the sempron with the 512kb? But the rating should be higher if it was..
 

Deadlierchair

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 12, 2003
Messages
1,400
In the past some CPU's in the Athlon line were custom made and not really official, like a 2300+ was made for eMachines, so it is possible that this could be a case of that.
 

vbrtrmn

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 10, 2003
Messages
2,314
I read (lost the sources, sorry) that the XP2900's had many issues. That's why no one ever saw very many of them. They were a short release, AMD is probably trying to unload them all now.
 

texuspete00

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 9, 2002
Messages
5,604
^^ Sorry dude but you're smoking. It would just be a barton. There wouldn't be some magical problem with a specific speed bin!
 

Oh4Sh0

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 13, 2005
Messages
2,744
I had a 2900+ barton with 400mhz fsb and 512k l2.. I think the difference between the 2800 and 2900 was that the 2800 barton only had a 333mhz fsb.. and where as the 2900 kept the same core speed, the fsb was upped to 400mhz. I used it in a system I sold on ebay with that exact mobo. Ran nice before I sold it.
 
Top