Asus X58 P6T7 not stable@24Gb ram

purezerg

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
35
hi guys, I'm having a weird problem
1) all 6x4 G.skill rams 9-10-9-28 @ 1.5v is not stable when all is plugged in.
2) when all 6 are in, it will pass memtest86+ but always freezes in bios or BSOD.
3) but testing each ram individually with memtest and prime95 = ok
I tried increasing DRAM to even up to 1.6v, = still BSOD with either 0x4E or 0x1A
4) when all 6 rams are plugged in, can even freeze in BIOS.
5) CPU @ stock speed
6) sometimes instead of showing 24gb ram, it shows 20gb ram only.


these are the rams in question
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231460&Tpk=f3-14900cl9d-8gbsr

rams are running @ stock. DDR3-1866 XMP profile.

previous setup was 6x2Gb DDR3-1866 XMP rams. stable . ran @ stock @ 1.65v (according to XMP profile)

motherboard Asus P6T7

any ideas?
 
Last edited:

doz

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,943
Up the QPI voltage. Id set it around 1.3v for starters.

Also, what in the hell do you use 24gb of ram for? Got a screenshot of even half of that being used? lol.....
 

plugwash

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 17, 2010
Messages
1,547
The memory may be rated to run at that speed but the integrated memory controller isn't so there is no gaurantee of things working at that speed.
 

purezerg

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
35
Up the QPI voltage. Id set it around 1.3v for starters.

Also, what in the hell do you use 24gb of ram for? Got a screenshot of even half of that being used? lol.....

yeah, was thinking about it the whole of last night. it might be the QPI.
24gb isnt a big deal. wanna see a 9.2Gb PSD file?
 

purezerg

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
35
woah. ok. my old kingston rams XMP profile did 1.66v dram bus and 1.60 QPI

so what i did was i increased my QPI to 1.60v
i tried every 0.5 steps
1.3
1.35
1.4
1.45
1.5
1.55
1.6 bam! prime95 stable for at least 5mins. will run it long to see if it's really stable.
but damn. 1.6v? for QPI??
 

drescherjm

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 19, 2008
Messages
14,927
I would see if 1333 is stable and go from there. 1866 is a little extreme for 6 dimms and 24GB of ram for a chip designed to use 1066 Max.
 
Last edited:

purezerg

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
35
dang. it just BSOD on me again. with 0x1A or 0x4E
running prime95 custom 1 thread set to use 8gb of ram.

i'm now testing with 3x4Gb sticks of ram to confirm there is no stability issues again.
then i'll test the other 3x4Gb.


1366 for ram? so that means i get off from the XMP profile and dial in manually?
 

drescherjm

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 19, 2008
Messages
14,927
I meant 1333. Sorry its late here. Yes you have to turn off XMP and use manual settings.
 

purezerg

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
35
i'm now testing on 1600 it seems quite stable. I have set prime95 to 1 thread using 20Gb ram. gonna leave it running for a while. will update the results. thanks for all your help..

just curious, the fault lies with the CPU rather than the ram? i just find it weird that i have to dial down the speed of the ram. when individually it works fine.
it's definately not the issue of populating all 6 ram slots. because the old rams were working fine. hell, they were actually 1800 and I ran @ 1866 for a 24/7 intensive workstation.
 

purezerg

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
35
i give up. still not stable. even @ 1066
I tried 3 sticks and stable, tried other 3 sticks and stable.
as long as all 6 are in. it's just not stable.
 

purezerg

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
35
by a turn of luck, i updated the MB's bios. all 6 sticks are in.
BIOS 1001.
so far so good. doing more tests.
running'em @ 1866
 

purezerg

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
35
any other applications to stresstest the rams/cpu other than prime95?

i know that passing prime95 doesnt mean it's stable.

currently running prime95 w/1 thread is because of temps
1 thread= 4.5ghz
6 threads=4.4/4.2ghz
12 threads=4.1/4.0ghz

P6T7 has this 'HIGH TDP MODE' that drops the multiplier when it hits 95C

so far i havent seen any photoshopping or rendering that will use all cores till it goes above 85C
 
Last edited:

purezerg

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
35
i changed the rams to kingston hyperx 24gb kitset.
KHX1600C9D3K6/24GX Intel X.M.P, DDR3-1600, non-ECC, unbuffered DIMM 24GB
6 - 4GB 9-9-9-27 1.65V
and still have the problems
HOWEVER i got it stable @ 1333.
i emailed asus and they said

"**Due to Intel® CPU spec definition, XMP DIMMs and DDR3 2000/1866/1600 are supported for one DIMM per channel only."
 

purezerg

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
35
zzzz. i tried pushing to BCLK160 to match to DDR3-1604
QPI 1.4v
dram 1.65
vcore 1.3
multiplier=24=3.8ghz
ram timings=9-9-9-27 1T
system still freeze.



I tried DDR3-1333
8-8-8-22-1T
QPI 1.4v
DRAM 1.65v
rock stable. primed for 10hrs=ok

i had the impression that the ratio kept at 2:10 would be the requirement for 24gb. because 1333=2:10 ratio

i'm just so sick and tired.
is it my mobo a PITA or it's something else?
 

purezerg

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
35
now the question is should i leave it @ 1333 and stop playing with it and focus on the CPU or keeping trying the ram?

OT: i tried 3 sticks(12gb) 4.8ghz @ 133*36 @ 1.37v
primed for 5hrs=ok
I didnt trying a few times, i just 'felt' 1.37 would be ok. LOL
looks like my 990x is looking good.
ambient 27C, load:61C
 

purezerg

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
35
so far 1600@ 10-10-10-30 2t is looking stable.

wondering if i should leave it as it is or tighten the timings?
 

purezerg

n00b
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
35
lol i spoke too soon. 2hrs prime95 and system froze. zzzz i'm at least stable with 1333. any idea why i cant go above 1333 when everyone else can? mobo or cpu?

if i tighten 1333 from 9-9-9-24 to 8ish. is the speed bump significant? or it's just a waste of time?
 
Top