Asus VG248QE 144hz 3D Vision 2: The Official Thread

Discussion in 'Displays' started by NCX, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. elvn

    elvn 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,368
    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    This review of quad titans has bar graphs showing a host of different gpu's from 7870's and 660's all the way up to 7990, 690, 680sli, and multiple titans. It seems like a good way to get an idea of single and dual setups and overall performance scale even outside of the crazy expensive multiple titan setups.

    us.Hardware.nfo: Nvidia GeForce GTX Titan 3-way/4-way SLI review incl. 5760x1080 and frametimes

    According to that review, a single 680 at 1080p seems capable of hitting 120fps on unmodded skyrim, and 118fps at medium setting on BF3.
    .
    Some newer games like hitman and farcry3 have much lower numbers. Whether due to more demanding graphics or poorer optimization idk. I'm curious what modded with much greater graphics eyecandy skyrim and some of the most demanding modern mmo's numbers would be. Also notably absent is the newest tomb raider but I don't think that was out when the testing was done.

    According to the review, single titan at 1080p , BF3 ultra 4x AA = 100.7 fps, enough for 100hz lightboost mode. Tweaking the settings down some would hit 120fps though since a single 680 at medium hits it. So probably "high" setting rather than medium or ultra would push you over 120fps.

    Farcry3 doesn't get over 80fps on ultra even with the beefiest gpus/combos. A single 680 and greater seem to hit near/at 100fps though.

    I wish there were more games on that review but it might give some idea anyway.
     
  2. Mark Rejhon

    Mark Rejhon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,395
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    I think that's a distribution amplifier you're looking for. (DVI distribution amp, HDMI distribution amp). TV stores use them to display the HDMI signal from one box to multiple TV's simultaneously.

    I'm curious how much lag cloning adds, versus how much lag a good distribution amplifier adds. They act as repeaters; and repeaters can add lag. Some repeaters are worse than others.
    I think using cloning mode with two identical display (minimize scaling lag) is probably no better. If you want to clone and record gaming while you play, try VGA output and a simple analog splitter; that will allow cloning with zero input lag. It's the only way to really guarantee elimination of lag caused by splitting a digital signal (which ends up repeatering the signal). Also you might not be able to play your Blu-Rays (e.g. HDCP copy protected content) when using some distribution amplifier.
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2013
  3. elvn

    elvn 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,368
    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    yeah I wouldn't use any boxes since they prob add lag. I keep my monitors on a fairly long run from a different room where I keep my pc case, but they are all direct, long extension cables. I have a few really thick displayport extention cables, and a few dual link dvi adapters on the ends of thick hdmi cables. Your nvidia drivers should be able to clone displays without using any external boxes, as long as you haven't run out of card outputs.
     
  4. Bilco

    Bilco n00b

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Well I am trying to avoid the ~5% performance hit I'd take cloning the display using the card instead of just splitting the DVI-D cable to the monitor(with outlosing the 120hz refresh rate and lightboost feature) and then to the capture card in the other computer.

    If there is just a straight up DVI-D to 2x DVI-D splitter I could just use a DVI-HDMI converter to get the signal to the capture card.

    Does no such splitter exist or am I going to end up having to just clone the display using the gtx 680?
     
  5. elvn

    elvn 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,368
    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    what are you trying to record with your capture card? Does software recording of games give too much of a performance hit so you are trying to split the signal and use a capture card? Just curious what your goal is. Most of the splitters and adapters I've seen are hdmi which is no good for high hz.

    Maybe you could utilize the display port splitters/hubs and adapt one of the dp's to hdmi, run the other dp directly to the lightboost monitor. some of them are not cheap though and idk if they introduce any lag like some of the traditional monitor splitters would.

    http://superuser.com/questions/230744/looking-for-a-real-displayport-hub-splitter
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2013
  6. Mark Rejhon

    Mark Rejhon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,395
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Maybe post in the competition gaming forums to find out what their favourite recording method is.
     
  7. PrinnyG

    PrinnyG n00b

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    In your opinion what's the best contrast to use when using crazy's lightboost icc profile?
     
  8. elvn

    elvn 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,368
    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Just so you know, the way your eyes see contrast, brightness, saturation, etc varies a lot in different lighting conditions. So "best" for one person won't necessarily be best for you. If I use "presets" or recommended profiles, I use them as a baseline and tweak from there since viewing environments vary. In my living room on my tv, I keep three different named settings or "profiles" if you prefer, each for different lighting conditions (daytime bright, soft lighted by lamps room, blinds drawn+dark movie watching). In my computer room I have a window with daylight, but I keep floor lamps in the room as well as a small lamp on each end of my monitor array so that they lighting conditions don't vary much.
     
  9. NCX

    NCX [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,224
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Revised the first post

    DL'ing a bunch of L4D2 custom maps since it is one of the few games my MSI GTX 560ti can handle maxed out @120fps with lightboost. I had a powercolor 7950 PCS+ but both were defective, going to get a galaxy gtx 67/80 4gb depending on which one goes on sale on wednesday.
     
  10. edgeh2o

    edgeh2o Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    138
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    My order from Amazon has been backordered for over a month, why can't they get these in stock anymore??
     
  11. txpro

    txpro n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Hey NCX, I'm receiving an error when downloading your icc profiles "Download permission denied by uploader." Thanks.
     
  12. bmg

    bmg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    837
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Exactly!. I'm new to ordering PC stuff from Amazon, and I think I'm going to move back to Newegg. This deal with the VG248QE is rediculous, other venders like Newegg have had them in and out of stock multiple times, but not Amazon. Newegg had 85 in stock yesterday when I checked from their most recent restock. Amazon has been out since Feb. 16, when I placed my order. As to why I just don't cancel? My order is locked in to the $265 delivered price...
     
  13. NCX

    NCX [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,224
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Lightboost Enabled (500:1 contrast ratio when lightboost is enabled vs. 1000:1 @60/120/144hz) with higher exposure. This image is fairly realistic, though it is a bit over exposed.
    [​IMG]

    Lightboost disabled @144hz
    [​IMG]
     
  14. DoubleTap

    DoubleTap 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,180
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    I just ordered 3 of these from Newegg to replace my 3 VE258Q monitors.
     
  15. elvn

    elvn 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,368
    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    ncx can you take a still shot of the same exact scene frame in a game running on both? To me it would show more variance in black details and depth than a blank screen. Of course the camera has bias(also affected by room lighting), any compression in photo filetype has bias(you posted jpg's not uncompressed png), and the screen type and model anyone is viewing the posted photos on has bias(also affected by room lighting and how well they have calibrated to that room environment) - but you can at least see a measure of difference between. The AG coating really shows too btw. Would be better comparison if both were glossy.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2013
  16. edgeh2o

    edgeh2o Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    138
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    I too got it for the $265 price and paid half with Amazon credit I had sitting around, which is why I dont want to cancel. Why would Asus ship newegg more monitors but not amazon?
     
  17. Mark Rejhon

    Mark Rejhon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,395
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Interestingly, TFTCentral got
    a calibrated 799:1 non-LightBoost versus 670:1 LightBoost. So, apparently, the loss of contrast for a fully calibrated picture isn't that surprisingly huge; they used an i1 pro colorimeter. They calibrated based on Contrast=75 on the panel itself.

    There is a different look to an all-black appearance with LightBoost because of the vertical non-uniformity of LCD the black level, as part of its compensation for the top-to-bottom refresh (occuring in darkness) and the all-at-once strobe; which means (at the moment of the backlight strobe) the pixels at the bottom of the screen has not been transiting for as long as the pixels at the top of the screen. It may be that different parts of the panel has to do different levels of response time compensation; to get the pixels as accurate as possible at the moment of the strobe backlight. That's what I think it's being caused by.
     
  18. bmg

    bmg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    837
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    With Contrast=78 and LB=10 I got a contrast ration of 563. At 0% input the output was .18cd/m^2 and 100% gave 99.8cd/m^2. That's with an i1 display 2. The .18cd/m^2 isn't all that black in my gaming/tv room, but I could get used to it I guess. I'm spoiled by my well calibrated CRT, but max output on my crt is dropping fast...I figure I'll be lucky to get another year out of it. My CRT is 9 years old, and has been used about 18 hours a day for that entire time, so I can't complain.

    ETA: I just reread the article...they were testing the 278HE and I was talking about the 248QE.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2013
  19. Mark Rejhon

    Mark Rejhon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,395
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Interesting; perhaps the VG278H/HE does a better job with LightBoost contrast. I wonder if the calibration works better if the monitor's contrast is initially adjusted higher (e.g. Contrast 80 or 90). That bleaches out the gamma via the monitor OSD, but may recalibrate via nVidia control panel (and via colorimeter) to a much better gamma while keeping a higher contrast ratio. But there are also slightly more overdrive/LightBoost artifacts that become (re-)visible again, at least on my VG278H.

    I need to obtain calibration equipment again; and do some tests.
     
  20. Vega

    Vega [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,281
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Wow, just got done playing some F1 2012 on my 3x portrait LB setup. Talk about games that really take a benefit from LB, racing games! You can clearly see everything that zooms past you and everything stays clear as you turn around corners really fast. :D I'm going to buy more racing games just because of it hah!
     
  21. elvn

    elvn 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,368
    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Dirt 2, dirt3 and grid were just on sale.. Idk if it expired yet. Saw it on slickdeals.net a few days ago.
    Grid $4,Dirt 3 $7,Dirt 2 $3
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2013
  22. Vega

    Vega [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,281
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Awesome, downloading Dirt 3 and Grid now. Can't beat two games for the price of a meal. ;)

    So I am up now to like 12 games to test lol.

    BTW been playing some F1 2012 with the LB portrait setup. Holy heck, racing games get a massive boon from perfect motion due to all of the fast movement and turning. It's surreal.
     
  23. roreydo

    roreydo n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Hello,

    I received my VG248QE today and used the supplied DVI-D cable and connected it to my Gigabyte 6950 and I can't set it to anything other than 60hz. I'm kinda of a PC noob....I tried setting it in the Catalyst Control Panel and the Windows display properties and they both only show 60hz.

    I verified I'm using the correct port on my video card, the user manual has a picture, and updated to the latest drivers. I installed the driver that came on the CD and ASUS VG248(Digital) shows up in the device manager.

    What am I missing?

    Thanks!

    PS - GRID is an excellent game!
     
  24. MajorMullet

    MajorMullet Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    486
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    If you have two DVI outputs on the video card, have you tried both of them? It may be that only one of them is dual-link.
     
  25. breadman

    breadman Gawd

    Messages:
    516
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Is there a defacto calibration standard? What do people think is the best?

    Or, what ICC profile is the best of the first page?

    (Mine comes Thursday... woo woo)
     
  26. DoubleTap

    DoubleTap 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,180
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    I received all 3 of my monitors today - of course when I am absolutely buried in work and will be away from home tomorrow.

    I'll try to at least hook one up later today - just afraid I'll get sucked in and lose a few hours if I do...
     
  27. Mark Rejhon

    Mark Rejhon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,395
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    How many Titan's are you going to use to drive these 3 monitors?
    P.S. It can be challenging to set up LightBoost at first, if you decide to enable it on all 3 monitors -- so if you do, make sure you're prepared with everything you need (e.g. ToastyX Custom Resolution Utility)
     
  28. ptol

    ptol n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Hi
    This is my first post, and I'm very confused about this ASUS VG248QE 144hz monitor and its refresh rates...
    The thing is, I have a XFX HD 7950 and I want to connect to a monitor like this one, to play FPS games in 1680 x 1050 or 1920 x 1080, both in 120hz refresh rates (but in 2D mode); can I make it work, having in mind that one has a dual DVI-I and the other a dual DVI-D connection ?
    Tks
     
  29. paleh0rse

    paleh0rse [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Is the VG248QE still worth the money if you run AMD video cards? (therefore not getting the lightboost/nvidia benefits)...?

    I run two 7870's in Crossfire, so I'm trying to decide between the VG248QE and the cheaper ASUS VS239H-P 23-Inch Full-HD LED IPS Monitor.
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2013
  30. Mark Rejhon

    Mark Rejhon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,395
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    If you're the type of gamer who actually buys a CrossFire or SLI, then you should try out the higher refresh rate sometime -- you get a lot less motion blur and a lot less input lag even with regular 120 Hz and 144 Hz.
     
  31. paleh0rse

    paleh0rse [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    So there will be a significant reduction in motion blur even with AMD cards (which don't have lightboost)?
     
  32. Mark Rejhon

    Mark Rejhon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,395
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Yes, you have 50% less motion blur with 120Hz than 60Hz, on all graphics cards.

    LightBoost, does reduce that by another 85% to 92% (Depending on the LightBoost OSD setting -- see the TFT Central strobe-length tests in their Motion Blur Reduction Backlights article.)
     
  33. breadman

    breadman Gawd

    Messages:
    516
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Question,

    Once you enable an ICC profile, are you able to adjust the brightness in the OSD menu?
     
  34. ptol

    ptol n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Can anyone please help me in this...?
     
  35. Vega

    Vega [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,281
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
  36. OnDiiish

    OnDiiish n00b

    Messages:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Could someone please write me clear guide how to enable Lightboost when I have AMD videocard?

    I know that you have to do it with another laptop which has nVidia videocard, but I don't still quite understand how... Can I do that with Macbook which has nVidia videocard? Thanks :)
     
  37. edgeh2o

    edgeh2o Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    138
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Did you guys all buy your monitors from Newegg?

    I ordered mine from Amazon on February 17th and it still hasn't shipped. Just talked to Amazon yesterday and their systems had an estimated delivery date of May. How come Asus is continually shipping these to Newegg but not Amazon?
     
  38. Mark Rejhon

    Mark Rejhon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,395
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    I'd suggest cancelling this order, and ordering from a different amazon.com vendor at $281. A bit higher price, but that'd get your monitor into your hands.
     
  39. bmg

    bmg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    837
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    I placed my Amazon VG248QE order on 2/16. I just canceled it and ordered the BenQ XL2720T instead. I use HCFR and i1-Display 2 for measuring/calibrating, so it'll be interesting to see how well it does.
     
  40. NCX

    NCX [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,224
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010