ASUS to customer: we don't care if you didn't cause the problem. We still won't fix motherboard.

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by x509, Jun 14, 2018.

1. x509

x509 [H]ard|Gawd

I am helping a friend build a system based on a low-end ASUS board, cost about $120 at the egg. I'm doing the actual system build. I'm an experienced system builder, with at least 8 systems built in the last 20+ years, and never any issues around CPU socket damage.

When we installed the CPU into the motherboard, it would not POST with all four memory slots filled. It did post with only two slots filled, and we did the usual substitution tests to establish that two memory slots were detective. So we went the board into ASUS for warranty repair.

Their response was that there were 12 (or 14?) CPU pins bent, and there was physical damage, they would not fix the board at their expense. We actually escalated the call all the way to third-level support and then to the support department manager. All said the same thing. Unlike the others, the support manager seemed knowledgeable, because he is also a system builder. I gave several reasons for why I didn't cause the bent pins, (which I won't list out here), and the support manager said it probably wasn't my fault. BUT HE STILL REFUSED TO HONOR THE WARRANTY.

Early in the call, the support manager said I should have first photographed the CPU socket with a high-resolution digital camera as a way to inspect the pins, since it's impossible to detect a few bent pins with normal vision (at least for my vision).
    I have never heard this recommendation before, and how many of us have such a camera. A cellphone camera won't do the trick here.

So what ASUS is basically saying is, "You have a warranty, but good luck enforcing it." Bye ASUS, I'm looking for alternatives for my friend's build right now and for my own next high-end build in 3-4 months.

x509

2. x509

x509 [H]ard|Gawd