Asus RT-AC66U Wireless Router

Hey Folks,
I thought I'd try my hand at doing a home user review for the new Asus RT-AC66U wireless router - it's my first review of this kind, so apologies in advance if I've gone on too much :p

Asus RT-AC66U Home User Review
I use an Asus RT-N66U wireless router in my home network, and recently got the new RT-AC66U wireless router to try out. My current network is reasonably sized and has a mix of wireless and wired clients numbering around 30 devices which use ‘b’, ‘g’ or ‘n’. It’s an ADSL internet connection handled by a Netgear DG834G set to modem mode, which connects to the router via the WAN port. I’ve been using the RT-N66U for around 4 months now, and despite some initial problems with the firmware, it performs pretty well on our home network. Looking at the new AC version, it does the same as the older router, with a few notable additions:

• Multiple HD streaming over wireless.
• High speed 1.3Gbps + 450 Mbps (Asus quotes 3 x faster than 802.11n)
• AiCloud for accessing your files on the go (using a new App on Google Play and iTunes).

This is a 5th gen dual-band Wi-Fi router, and its quoted speed can reach 1.75Gbps, utilising the Broadcom 802.11ac Wi-Fi controller and by working in both the 2.4GHz and 5GHz frequency ranges simultaneously. The 5GHz band supports up to 1.3Gbps, exceeding current Gigabit wired transmission speeds and is 3X faster than 802.11n. The router should offer good multi-tasking & very fast streaming – it also uses Asus’s AiRadar which is meant to intelligently strengthen wireless connections to connected devices which should offer better performance.

A little bit about the AC standard