ASUS ROG MATRIX GTX580 Platinum Video Card Review @ [H]

Discussion in 'nVidia Flavor' started by FrgMstr, Aug 17, 2011.

  1. lukx

    lukx Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    346
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    just save 250$ and buy yourself EVGA 590 :)
     
  2. Rizen

    Rizen [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,225
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    590s are garbage in comparison.
     
  3. Rizen

    Rizen [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,225
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    High end video cards have been 500+ for a few years now. This is nothing new.
     
  4. lukx

    lukx Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    346
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    why? I'm in market for new graphic card that can work with 3 monitors (and 590 got 3dvi outputs) so I though it's a good choice... plus 3gb memory.
     
  5. Rizen

    Rizen [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,225
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Because the 590 is two very gimped 580 GPUs on a single board. Yes, it does do Surround in a single card, but since it has two GPUs sharing memory, you still only really have 1.5GB of memory. And the clock speeds are significantly slower than a normal 580. Not only this, but the overclocking capabilities are limited by NVIDIA to prevent users from blowing up the inadequate voltage circuitry they used, so it's essentially impossible to overclock them to make up the difference, like you can with the ATI 6990.

    You could just buy two discounted 570s for less money, run them in SLI, and overclock them, and you would have a cheaper, faster solution.

    And any of the ATI video cards can run 3 monitors off of one card. Two 6970s would cost less and be faster and you could run 5+ displays as well.
     
  6. lukx

    lukx Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    346
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Hmm ATI is out of option for me as I'm doing also 3d graphics and I need nvidia physx.
    I guess I will have to look in sli option instead of one big card. But isn;t one card solution cooler and quieter than two sli monsters?
     
  7. player-x

    player-x Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    299
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    nVidia PhysX?

    Tell me when was the last time you used PhysX?
    And specially on 3 screens you dont want the frame hit that physx also brings.

    As for me, I traded my two 480 in for 3x 6970s and never looked back, and there has not bin a day that i missed by nVidia's hyped PhysX.
     
  8. player-x

    player-x Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    299
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Or did you mean 3D graphics, like in 3Dstudiomax?

    If so, dose your software not support OpenCL, if so I would wait for the 7000 series, as its support of OpenCL if indications are right will be superior to nVidia's
     
  9. lukx

    lukx Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    346
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    I meant 3ds max. And what about GPU rendering (VRay) from what I know NVIDA card are working much better with this.
     
  10. Rizen

    Rizen [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,225
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    In your specific situation (doing 3D modeling using GPU acceleration) and you want something cool/quiet, a 590 might be a good purchase. From a traditional cost/performance and gaming perspective, it's not that great, but you seem to have unusual needs.

    That said, if you are doing professional work, you might want to look into the Quadro line as well.
     
  11. lukx

    lukx Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    346
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Nah I had 3 different quadros in the past and it totally sux compared to geforces. They are only good for hardcore CAD things like designing detailed mechanical engines etc where there is a lot of lines. ANd still the price is hard to swallow :)
     
  12. Lord_Exodia

    Lord_Exodia [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,999
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Quadros run games just as well as their Geforce equivalent. What you need to do is uninstall the quadro driver, use rivatuner to trick the system into seeing it as a nvidia equivalent of said quadro and then install the geforce driver. Well at least back in the day that's how it was.
     
  13. player-x

    player-x Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    299
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Its a hell of a lot cheaper and smarter to go the other way around, tricking the GeForce/Readon cards in thinking that they are Quadros/FireGL's!

    Because if you trick quadros/FireGL in to be GeForce/Readon cards, then the they preform just as poorly as there GeForce/Readon counter part in PhysX and/or OpenCL.

    Thing is you cant have it both ways without uninstalling the driver and re-installing the other one.

    If 3D speed is important, go to 3D StudioMax forum and ask what card is best to pick.
    As all advice given here is done by people that know sh*t about 3D rendering, and for good information should be ask for in specialized forums
     
  14. lukx

    lukx Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    346
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Yeah but I also want gaming card :)
     
  15. Lord_Exodia

    Lord_Exodia [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,999
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    I know everything your saying. I was just pointing out that a quadro card is no worse than a geforce for gaming. It makes sense if your gaming to get a geforce card. But if you need to do heavy 3d rendering it's not like a quadro will not keep up with a geforce equivalent. I just was commenting on the before comment which made it seem like they were inferior to game on compared to a geforce. Yes a NVS 400 is shit for gaming but that's because it has a geforce 4 GPU LOL :)

    Know what generation quadro you have and you can expect it to perform like its geforce equivalent is all I'm saying.
     
  16. lukx

    lukx Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    346
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    What would be good choice GPU to have max from Battlefield 3 ?
     
  17. Lord_Exodia

    Lord_Exodia [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,999
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Im thinking a 6970 or GTX 570 and up should be able to max the game out at 1080P. For 25x16 or higher you'll need Crossfire or SLi.
     
  18. lukx

    lukx Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    346
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    I got 24 inch disp with 1920x1200 res so I guess I won't need SLI.

    So 580 should be enough?
     
  19. Rizen

    Rizen [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,225
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    A 580 at 1920x1200 is almost overkill now. It will be a great choice and should be fairly future proof if you have the cash.
     
  20. lukx

    lukx Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    346
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    But to sum things up it;s better to buy this ASUS ROG 580 or still EVGA? (even if I'm not too much into OCing)?
     
  21. pman065

    pman065 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    I personally would get the ROG, better cooling. looks better. overall better card.