Asus prime z490-a and corsair 465x rgb case

jarablue

Gawd
Joined
May 31, 2003
Messages
849
Hi guys, I bought these two items and have no idea where to plug the three RGB fans into the motherboard? The fans are RGB and there are fan headers on the motherboard but should the fans be plugged into the case or the motherboard? How do I control the lighting does anyone know? I'm kind of a newbie at this RGB stuff so bare with me thanks.
 

Denpepe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
1,679
Taken from the corsair website
"The included iCUE Lighting Node CORE controls up to 6x RGB fans without the need for a fan hub, enabling brilliant lighting effects right out of the box with CORSAIR iCUE software. "

Should be located behind the motherboard tray
 

jarablue

Gawd
Joined
May 31, 2003
Messages
849
I see the tray. And the fans appear to be plugged in but the fans also need to be powered some how. They light up but do not spin. Unless i need to plug the other 3 power cables that come with them?
 

lopoetve

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 11, 2001
Messages
30,115
Yep. each fan has 2 links - one for RGB, one for fan power. Plug the power into the board, plug the RGB into the iCUE thingy.
 

jarablue

Gawd
Joined
May 31, 2003
Messages
849
Okay got you, do you know, this is another question, do you know how the all-in-one fan pump header works on this board? I'm looking to get the maximum RPMs out of my all-in-one cooler by plugging it in to the fan pump header next to the CPU is there any changes in the Bios I need to make? To get the max speed out of the pump? Thanks so much!
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
17,708
The RGB cables should have been pre-wired to the Lighting Node Core. I bought 2 of those 465X cases, pulled the fans out of the second one to fill up this one,
IMG_5795.JPG


Pic shows a Silverstone Fan Hub, but I ended up replacing it with a Corsair Commander Pro since my mobo PWM fan header wasn't controllable and the fans were running at 100%.
 

lopoetve

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 11, 2001
Messages
30,115
Okay got you, do you know, this is another question, do you know how the all-in-one fan pump header works on this board? I'm looking to get the maximum RPMs out of my all-in-one cooler by plugging it in to the fan pump header next to the CPU is there any changes in the Bios I need to make? To get the max speed out of the pump? Thanks so much!

Should understand it and the software for the mobo should work to control it.
 
Top