ASUS PRIME X370-PRO AM4 ATX AMD Motherboard $49 Micro Center (select stores)

Discussion in '[H]ot|DEALS' started by mazeroth, Jun 28, 2019.

  1. elite.mafia

    elite.mafia Broke Back [H]

    Messages:
    11,584
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Yeah these don't work on a lot of boards, and some boards won't flash to the latest BIOS with them...
     
  2. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,229
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    You are correct. Many Mobo makers did not give their boards enough OPROM space to support everything form 28nm down to the current 7nm SKUs.

    So far my x470 board still shows support, but I would not expect it to stay around for much longer.
     
  3. pgaster

    pgaster [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,308
    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Make sure to check your local store once in a while for stock.
    The Westmont, IL store just had 5 show up in inventory. They had some last week but they sold those out quick. I don't know where the new ones came from.
    This board plus a Ryzen 5 3600, with tax, is only going to be ~ $215 because you get $50 off the board with a bundle.
    The board ends up being only $.01
     
    SamirD, Archaea and elite.mafia like this.
  4. elite.mafia

    elite.mafia Broke Back [H]

    Messages:
    11,584
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Yeah but it won't support ryzen 3000 without a bios update. Also are you sure they are doing the 50 off for older boards? I was under the impression that it was for x570 boards but I could be wrong
     
  5. pgaster

    pgaster [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,308
    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Yes, it will need the bios update, good point for all who might not have an older cpu on hand. I have a few others so I'll be OK.
    Yes, it took off the $50 for this board so I think it's for all boards so long as you have the newer Ryzen 3000 series cpu to go with it. It must be only the $30 for the older cpus in a combo.
    I got the email confirming that it's ready for pickup now with price, etc.
     
  6. Dan_D

    Dan_D [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    54,651
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Many motherboards use 128Mbit BIOS ROMs which have insufficient space to contain the larger and more expansive AGESA code required to support the newer Ryzen 3000 series CPU's. On those motherboards, manufacturers are cutting features and even the GUI of their UEFI's in order to make the code fit. In some cases, support for the older AM4 APU's may be sacrificed to accomplish this goal. In the most egregious of cases, even RAID support is being tossed out. MSI's X470 Gaming Pro is one such example.

    This image was taken from MSI's website:

    upload_2019-7-10_10-55-4.png

    This is an example where motherboard makers were either not forward thinking enough or their cost cutting has gotten the better of them. Unfortunately, MSI never published data on the size of their BIOS ROMs so without physically examining a board, you'd never know what size the ROM was. Prior to the launch of the Ryzen 3000 series it didn't matter if a 128Mbit or 256Mbit BIOS ROM was used. Since most motherboards have soldered BIOS ROM chips, there is nothing that can be done about it. You either get a new board or deal with the potential reduction in features and CPU support from the BIOS update.
     
    SolidBladez and elite.mafia like this.
  7. harmattan

    harmattan [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,241
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    To confirm, this board does work with Ryzen 3, but you need to flash to the latest BIOS.

    I've been running this board for the past year with a 1700 @ 3.9Ghz and 2600 @4.1Ghz and a number of different memory modules -- solid on all accounts.
     
  8. mazeroth

    mazeroth Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    264
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Does it make sense to use this $50 motherboard over a newer, $80ish B450? No overclocking, single GPU, single SSD. Nothing fancy.
     
  9. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,229
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    You are saving $30 and have better upgrade down the road (the x370 has better VRMS then 99% of the B450 boards) along with better resale down the road.

    I don't see the question.
     
  10. TED

    TED Gawd

    Messages:
    727
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    None in ATL
     
  11. mnewxcv

    mnewxcv [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,470
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    That's a shame. Same goes for the 1st gen ryzen cpus from what I hear, though there are cases of first gen ryzen working with x570. That being said, even a 2nd Gen amd apu is fairly inexpensive. For b450 and x470, an apu or ryzen 1200/1400 is the cheapest option that will always work.
     
  12. mnewxcv

    mnewxcv [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,470
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Does microcenter not give the $30 discount when buying an open box motherboard? I reserved an open box motherboard and open box cpu, but realize now there was no discount for bundling, just the open box discount.
     
  13. doublejack

    doublejack Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    446
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    In many cases if you go to someone in the store and explain, they will apply the $30 discount on the open box motherboard. However, I believe the fine print says it is for new products and there have been cases where someone didn't get the discount on an open box board. So it is a YMMV scenario, but worth asking about because you're more likely to get it than not.
     
    SamirD and mnewxcv like this.
  14. pgaster

    pgaster [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,308
    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Online, no, that will not work, but it might still be a great deal.
    Online I have noticed that you can get the bundle deal if the cpu is open box and the board is new.
    Also online, new cpu and open box board will not give the bundle deal.
    In the stores in Chicago they do not give you the bundle deal if the cpu is open box, but they will get a manager to override and give the bundle deal if the cpu is new and the board is open box.
    Sounds clear as mud maybe, but this consistently is how things work for me.
     
    SamirD and mnewxcv like this.
  15. mnewxcv

    mnewxcv [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,470
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    thanks for the info. I will ask and see what they say. I too have noticed an open box CPU with a new motherboard gets the discount online. I can get a different motherboard brand new for $10 more with the open box CPU than getting both open box. Will see what happens!
     
  16. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,229
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007

    You just need to have the cashier call a manager to fix it. I've done it about 20 times, as I always hunted for Open Box boards in good shape for gamers on a budget...The cashiers would always page a manager without me having to ask once they saw the open box tag and a cpu.
     
    SamirD and mnewxcv like this.