Asus Infinity Pad TF700

AQ_OC

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
2,131
Just picked one up from BB....after getting it up...it updates to Jelly Bean 4.1.1. However, it still looks like 4.0.3, which is running on my Acer A500. What gives here? Is it wearing a skin?

I didn't realize it users a proprietary connector. Cringe.

Impulse buy not working. :)
 

AQ_OC

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
2,131
Jelly Bean and ICS look more or less identical save a few minor differences. Jellybean was more of a performance tuning release.

You can also find replacement connectors at the Asus estore if you need them: http://us.estore.asus.com/index.php?l=product_list&c=3635


Ok...I guess this must be true. I just see more differences between the Nexus 7 and the TF700 than I expected (both made by ASUS). Maybe some of that is the size of the two devices, much more difference there than between my Acer Iconia A500 and the Infinity Pad 700.

Thanks for the link, too.
 

jfnirvana292

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
1,405
Can you do me a favor and see if you get lines flickering if you goto live wall paper, then black hole
 

AQ_OC

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
2,131
Can you do me a favor and see if you get lines flickering if you goto live wall paper, then black hole

I can't do it now as I'm heading out...but I can say I have seen flickering lines in the display at seemingly random times.....
 

AQ_OC

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
2,131
I don't know yet, but I plan to start studying on it after I return home on Saturday. I got it on Tuesday, charged it up, played with it, loaded my apps, then left town on Wednesday morn. Might need to return it so I left it home to keep it perfect.
 

Impulse

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 5, 2001
Messages
10,232
If they're still using the same pin output as on the original TF you can actually use a USB 3.0 extension as an extension for the charger cord, don't hold me to it tho, check on XDA to make sure. The original TF came with a very short recharge/sync cable but after I found that out I saved myself the $30 that ASUS wanted for replacement charger + cable...

I just leave the USB 3.0 extension running from my surge protector to the top of the desk, and when I wanna jet I only have to unplug the cable up top (without needing to snake it out etc.) and the charger down below. Tablet isn't USB 3.0 or anything, ASUS just emulates the pins and uses them to differentiate between the high amp charging required by the tablet and the standard 1A/5V for phones (thus making the charger safe for both).

Most Android tablets use proprietary connectors tho, specially the large ones, no way around it with the big batteries inside them, would take forever and then some to charge over standard 1A chargers.
 

jfnirvana292

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
1,405
Another question,maybe more android rerelated...but i put a microsd card in, and an icon shows up in the task bar...wont go away...thought it was odd. Also no option to format it.
 

Impulse

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 5, 2001
Messages
10,232
Icon's always gonna be there when the card's in, it's like Window's removable drives notification icon, gives you the same option to eject even. The option to format should be within Settings/Storage.
 

jfnirvana292

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
1,405
Icon's always gonna be there when the card's in, it's like Window's removable drives notification icon, gives you the same option to eject even. The option to format should be within Settings/Storage.

weird because on the samsung galaxy tab 2 it doesnt show the icon...but it does allow you to format it.
 

Impulse

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 5, 2001
Messages
10,232
Hmm, tablet manufacturers generally don't mod the UI much (unlike phone manufacturers) but Samsung's notorious for it... Might be they removed that? Not sure, all ASUS tablets behave like that, I can't remember if other lightly/non skinned tablets have it... And Nexus ones wouldn't obviously since they have no slot. :eek:

A lot of the differences compared to the Nexus 7 are, as you guessed, due to the size. Early 7" tablets just shoehorned Gingerbread unto a tablet format, which sent Google scrambling to put out Honeycomb and the 10" Xoom, and then few HC/ICS 7" tablets were released (Samsung easily pushed out the most)... When they put out the Nexus 7 they made a conscious choice to combine some of the phone and tablet ICS/JB elements to better fit the form factor.

That's why the Nexus 7 has a top docked notification bar like phones for instance, and centered UI buttons below. It also leads to some of the stock apps having a layout amalgamation of their 10" tablet and phone counterparts.
 
Last edited:

AQ_OC

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
2,131
Do you have ics or jelly bean? Try going into the black hole live wall paper...

I have 4.1.1. I loaded the block hole live wallpaper...what do you have to do to see the lines?

I saw them when I was getting things setup...but now they seem to be not showing up.
 

AQ_OC

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
2,131
Hmm, tablet manufacturers generally don't mod the UI much (unlike phone manufacturers) but Samsung's notorious for it... Might be they removed that? Not sure, all ASUS tablets behave like that, I can't remember if other lightly/non skinned tablets have it... And Nexus ones wouldn't obviously since they have no slot. :eek:

A lot of the differences compared to the Nexus 7 are, as you guessed, due to the size. Early 7" tablets just shoehorned Gingerbread unto a tablet format, which sent Google scrambling to put out Honeycomb and the 10" Xoom, and then few HC/ICS 7" tablets were released (Samsung easily pushed out the most)... When they put out the Nexus 7 they made a conscious choice to combine some of the phone and tablet ICS/JB elements to better fit the form factor.

That's why the Nexus 7 has a top docked notification bar like phones for instance, and centered UI buttons below. It also leads to some of the stock apps having a layout amalgamation of their 10" tablet and phone counterparts.

I have seem some reviews of the Nexus 10 and it reminds me strongly of the Nexus 7. Yet, the Infinity looks different. I want the features of the Infinity but the look and feel of the Nexus. Frankly, this bothers me (not that this is horrible) but it would be nice to get standard android. If they want to add apps, that's fine, but protect the basic look and feel of the OS. I'm told this is Jelly Bean, but other than being smooth and buttery, it doesn't feel like my Nexus 7. I'm still liking the tablet, though, so this is not the end of the world or anything.
 

jfnirvana292

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
1,405
If i play the black hole wallpaper especially(other apps do it too, but not as frequent), it will flicker black lines.
 

AQ_OC

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
2,131
I've been reading PDFs all morning on my TF700. I see a flickering line (just a single flicker, not persistent) in the display at random times...twice so far this morning. Holding the tablet in portrait mode, the first time the line was on the left side - about 1/4 of the way from the left-most side of the screen. The second time, just a few minutes ago, it showed up on the right side, again, about 1/4 of the way from the right-most side of the screen. I'm not yet sure if this is app dependent or not....i'm using ezPDF Reader to view the PDFs.
 

jfnirvana292

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
1,405
En pl6
I've been reading PDFs all morning on my TF700. I see a flickering line (just a single flicker, not persistent) in the display at random times...twice so far this morning. Holding the tablet in portrait mode, the first time the line was on the left side - about 1/4 of the way from the left-most side of the screen. The second time, just a few minutes ago, it showed up on the right side, again, about 1/4 of the way from the right-most side of the screen. I'm not yet sure if this is app dependent or not....i'm using ezPDF Reader to view the PDFs.

I see them all the time when playing words with friends. Do you think this is hardware or software?
 

cl-scott

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
74
En pl6

I see them all the time when playing words with friends. Do you think this is hardware or software?

Sounds a lot like a vsync thing. Given with 4.1 Google went to make the entire UI run at 60fps, the so-called Project Butter, it seems plausible that some older apps might cause problems when running at some lower refresh rate.
 

cl-scott

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
74
If i play the black hole wallpaper especially(other apps do it too, but not as frequent), it will flicker black lines.

Meant to respond to this as well. Tablets aren't what I typically do, but if you can get me a quick video of the problem, I can run it past some people and see if they have any suggestions or want to just set up an RMA.

The one thing that comes to mind for me, is if you go to Settings, then down to Developer Options, make sure you don't have any of the options selected that force GPU rendering in apps. This can cause display issues on some apps.
 

AQ_OC

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
2,131
Whatever the cause of the flicker is, I don't see it much. Fortunately.
 

jfnirvana292

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
1,405
If this is due to project butter, would ther be a patch that could fix it?? I am temped to just exchange for a new one to see what happens
 

AQ_OC

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
2,131
If this is due to project butter, would ther be a patch that could fix it?? I am temped to just exchange for a new one to see what happens

Given that mine seems to happen to me a whole lot less than it does for you, I think I would. I run that Blackhole wall paper too....and I don't see any flicker there.
 
Last edited:

cl-scott

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
74
If this is due to project butter, would ther be a patch that could fix it?? I am temped to just exchange for a new one to see what happens

If my hypothesis is correct, then the only fix would be at the app level. Basically apps are using a depreciated API, and need to be updated to use the new API. Think of it like how if you have some app written for Android 2.x, it still looks like an Android 2.x app even on Android 4.x. To change that, the developer has to start using a newer set of APIs. Same deal with this, assuming my hypothesis is correct. The app's UI has to be rewritten using the new API before you would see any changes.

Now if someone with some actual Android development service comes along, I'll defer to their experience if they want to tell me I'm completely full of it. However, my hypothesis is based on at least a marginal level of personal development experience, just not with Android specifically.
 

jfnirvana292

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
1,405
If my hypothesis is correct, then the only fix would be at the app level. Basically apps are using a depreciated API, and need to be updated to use the new API. Think of it like how if you have some app written for Android 2.x, it still looks like an Android 2.x app even on Android 4.x. To change that, the developer has to start using a newer set of APIs. Same deal with this, assuming my hypothesis is correct. The app's UI has to be rewritten using the new API before you would see any changes.

Now if someone with some actual Android development service comes along, I'll defer to their experience if they want to tell me I'm completely full of it. However, my hypothesis is based on at least a marginal level of personal development experience, just not with Android specifically.

But if this was true, wouldn't we see flickering on any tablet running jelly bean and using a depreciated API?
 

Impulse

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 5, 2001
Messages
10,232
Sure, do you know for a fact that the same app/wallpaper doesn't cause it in other tablets?
 

cl-scott

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
74
But if this was true, wouldn't we see flickering on any tablet running jelly bean and using a depreciated API?

If it is a Vsync thing, then the LCD panel would come into play as well. Different devices, using different panels, might have more or less pronounced manifestations of this issue. There might also be specific apps which are eschewing the Android API in favor of some kind of home grown solution that sprang up out of an effort to make the app available across Android, iOS, and maybe even Windows Phone platforms.

I could be way off base on my hypothesis, but the fact the symptoms described do closely resemble the kind of tearing you would expect with vsync issues. Add to that the fact that Google made a change to lock the JB GUI @ 60fps, and you have a highly probable scenario. It may be something else in the end, but given the info we have to work with now, this seems to be a good fit.
 

jfnirvana292

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
1,405
Take it back, man.

I exchanged for a 2nd unit last night. This one has the exact same flickering issue. Also, the right side of the screen crunches when touching it. Im honestly fed up now. At least best buy does returns until 1/24!
 

AQ_OC

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
2,131
No, that more or less is refreshing the screen. My issue actually is black horizontal lines flicker across the screen.

And the new issue is the glass hits the touch screen when pressing the right hand side...crunch sound every press.

Wow...you did a swap and things got worse. I can see how you'd want to give up.

And you are doing the exact same thing to get the flicker, just running blackhole live wall paper? Is there some other software you are running on your tablets? One thing about Android is you can have software loading in memory all the time...like one of those battery apps or a task killer. Or a widget. Is there flicker there when you have none of your apps loaded, just plain Android?
 

jfnirvana292

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
1,405
Plain android, i didnt install anything. First thing i checked was flickering in the black hole wall paper. I also see it in chrome occasionally and words with friends.
 
Top