ASUS Announces ROG SWIFT PG278Q Premium Gaming Monitor

Discussion in 'Displays' started by HardOCP News, Jan 6, 2014.

  1. Michaelius

    Michaelius [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,684
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    I don't know if anyone else is reading neogaf but if you have occullus rift drivers instaled then they will cause conflicts and problems with G-sync and need to be uninstalled.
     
  2. Bobalias_LeShay

    Bobalias_LeShay Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    287
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Ah, that's different. If they're pinning the overdrive to maximum and running one of those pixel un-stickers, even if they're technically within spec, it is sort of asking for trouble. I've never thought about this before but I speculate the driver current demands are higher and spikier when you're trying to change every single pixel from max one color to max another at a high rate.
     
  3. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    17,133
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Good point. We would need to know how much overhead is required for GSync. There would be packet loss that could explain the anomalies if the bandwidth is being oversaturated. Maybe this is why we don't see other 144Hz 1440p panels in the wild?

    Cable length may be an issue. DP recommends a cable no longer than 3 metres to ensure quality of signal. Maybe the closer you approach the maximum bandwidth the shorter the cable you should be using. How long is the DP cable that comes with the PG278Q? Has anyone tried using a shorter cable?
     
  4. Papaj

    Papaj Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    155
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2014
    Well, the issue could be the length of cable and/or certification. Now, a cable is not automatically shit just because it is not certified, but the possibility exists that it might not be quite as good if DP certification didn't test it internally to their standards (maybe the wires are 2 AWG too small and the data isn't quite as reliable). My guess is more likely the length, 2560x1600 is supported up to 2m (a little over 6.5ft) without a signal booster on the 1.2 standard. It could also be a combination of pushing bandwidth cap limits at the 2m/6.5ft limitation of a certified cable.
     
  5. aaronjb

    aaronjb Gawd

    Messages:
    608
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    I wasn't clear in my initial reply - that's the scenario that I thought may be asking for trouble as well. But, I can also understand why one might expect even that to not cause any lasting issues.
     
  6. elvn

    elvn 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,099
    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Cable length in my case is definitely an issue. I wasn't suggesting that it wasn't. What I was suggesting is that it made the difference in signal strength between my amd and nvidia card obvious since it worked well on the 6990 and fails a lot on the 780ti's dp out.
     
  7. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    17,133
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    I'm sorry, I was quoting your post to suggest a point about the PG278Q that the amount of bandwidth it is using at 144Hz requires a shorter cable. Should read:
    "Cable length may be an issue with the PG278Q."
     
  8. TMoney58

    TMoney58 n00b

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    I run a 15 foot DP cable to my Swift with 0 issues. I highly doubt any problems are due to any limits as to DP or the cable length.
     
  9. WetMacula

    WetMacula Gawd

    Messages:
    533
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    While waiting for stock, I have been reading the [H], OCN, and Asus threads multiple times per day. If your monitor is not behaving, please identify how many and which model video cards, driver version, number of connected monitors, gpu overclock, cable manufacturer, cable length, and software settings. We might as well hunt for a common cause to some of the reported issues.

    Would also be nice if people with no problems did the same thing but I suspect they are busy playing games.
     
  10. bAMtan2

    bAMtan2 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,479
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    calling this monitor "bad" for photo work is an exaggeration. it is not the best monitor ever for photo work. but it is better than some monitors people do photo work on, and it is better than old IPS panels of a certain age
     
  11. Bobalias_LeShay

    Bobalias_LeShay Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    287
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Also be sure to mention whether you have Oculus Rift drivers installed. I've heard reports of them causing issues. I'll see when my panel arrives tomorrow if it affects me.
     
  12. StoleMyOwnCar

    StoleMyOwnCar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,150
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    1. You don't even understand how unsticking utilities work. The only area getting worked is about 3 5x5 grids. Some of which overlap. That's <75 pixels out of the entire screen.

    2. No, the only way my analogy is remotely off is that I am in no way doing what I am not supposed to be with this monitor, whereas when overclocking a CPU you're definitely doing something outside of the standard use cases. Overclocking isn't covered by warranty. Playing around with stock monitor settings is well within spec. Furthermore, CPU's are (or should be) designed such that they can withstand 100% usage at their stock speeds 24/7. Otherwise, they're faulty. This is the same with the monitor. Whether I'm flashing every pixel on the screen a billion times to unstick one pixel (which is stupid all hell and I am not), or playing a game, it should display the image nonetheless.

    If you have a device that has time-based use/load restrictions, those need to be explicitly printed on the package, because it's not the same product.

    Furthermore, the analogy is doubly true in that I am stability testing ASUS' own overclock after a rather catastrophic failure of the first sample... supposing I was pixel unsticking the entire screen anyway (which I am not...). What do you do to test overclocks? 100% intensive usage for several hours. How am I (hypothetically, because I am not..) doing anything different? I believe I stated the time duration. Mind you that wasn't even as intensive as it could have been, since the area I was flexing was about 75 pixels in size. In theory while gaming you're not actually doing different from the worst case usage scenario you mentioned anyway. Suppose you're panning the camera like crazy in an FPS at 144Hz. What happens to each individual pixel? IT'S CHANGING COLORS LIKE A MADMAN.

    So...

    Not that I'm actually doing that as I mentioned above, but you realize that could actually happen in a game either way right? I mean I'll have you know that my problems didn't happen during my attempted pixel unsticking. They happened during completely normal play.
     
  13. StoleMyOwnCar

    StoleMyOwnCar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,150
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    On an unrelated note, here are those pictures I took before I returned the last Swift. My camera sucks but you should be able to at least see most of what I'm talking about. Image 1 is from the Qnix. Image 2 is from the ROG Swift at stock settings before I returned it. I suggest you view full size.

    http://imgur.com/TuVn2cY,GkWwC5J#0

    Image quality aside, the text on the Qnix looks fine, so do the forum colors. So does everything, really. It's a reliable piece of work...

    Then you switch over to picture 2, and you'll see... many things wrong with the picture. For one, even blaming a lot of fuzziness on the picture quality, the font still looks bad. Moving on, you see how the bottom line of the quote box is green? That's not a picture artifact. It actually looked like that. It looked worse than that. Finally, you see how the top and bottom lines of the quote box have these faint black lines trailing off to the left? Again that is not an image artifact. That's actually how it looked. Again, worse...

    For a more apparently font fuzziness display I should have probably taken a picture of the Windows Explorer, because it was much easier to see there.
     
  14. Simkin

    Simkin Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    144
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Can anyone tell me how the AG coating are on this monitor?

    Is it like the VG278H(E)?
     
  15. Dcode

    Dcode Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    355
    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    The text on the top row is green as well.

    Is your text fuzzy if you enable ULMB? Noticed this on the desktop today and thought mine was fucked then I realized I had ULMB activated. Not all text is blurry, just the text on bookmarks in Chrome.
     
  16. NickJames

    NickJames [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,595
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Out of the box my monitor is really yellow. Is this normal?
     
  17. Dcode

    Dcode Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    355
    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    First off check your cable.

    It should not be yellow, take a pic of a full white screen head on and show us.
     
  18. NickJames

    NickJames [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,595
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Looks pretty yellow to me around the edges. http://i.imgur.com/6qf4Fwm.jpg

    *EDIT* Nevermind, looks like it was the default color profile "User" mode. 100 RGB makes it yellow. I ended up setting it to Normal looks fine now.
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2014
  19. StoleMyOwnCar

    StoleMyOwnCar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,150
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Do you also have those faint, thick white bars about 25% and 75% down the screen actually present on yours when you're viewing that white image in person? I see them on your image and those aren't normal.
     
  20. bigdano

    bigdano n00b

    Messages:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Question:

    I got the rog swift in today. I have a ati radeon 6990.

    Have it setup, but a few issues

    1: The only refresh rates I can set are 60, 85 and 100. Thats all windows shows as a option and pressing the monitors button to change has no effect. It was my understanding even the ATI cards would be able to utilize the 144hz...?

    2: I cant enable ULMB- Seems to be greyed out- Is this a nvidia only option?

    Any ideas?
     
  21. NickJames

    NickJames [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,595
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    nah that was just the camera. Screen looks fine. No dead or stuck pixels and I am loving the refresh rate. Still not sure if I should do ULMB or Gsync though.
     
  22. stringer

    stringer n00b

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    So I was originally running an R290 when I received my Swift.

    It was unstable above 85Hz. All options showed up in CCC, but choosing anything above 85 Hz resulted in unusable flicker or black screens.

    Also, when the PC entered sleep mode, waking it resulted in multiple displayport error messages.

    ULMB is not currently supported by AMD.

    ASUS's response was to offer me an RMA. Instead, I went out and picked up a EVGA 780ti and now everything runs flawlessly. The gaming experience is so good that I am willing to forgive ASUS for giving me an excuse to buy an expensive video card that I didn't really want ;)

    I think that ASUS could have been a lot clearer than they were regarding the problems running this display with the AMD cards. I can't get too irate since it was pretty clear that this was a monitor designed from the ground up for nVidia cards and proprietary features, but still, with current AMD drivers it doesn't even reliably work as a 144Hz display. The perils of being an early adopter I guess.

    Anyway, anyone need a barely used Sapphire R290 ;)
     
  23. Koizumi

    Koizumi Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    151
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Whenever I use ULMB the textures seem to be a bit grainy. Is that normal?
     
  24. Romir

    Romir Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    335
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    100% and 25% brightness on my 2nd Swift. I'm glad this one actually works properly but this is a huge bummer.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  25. sharknice

    sharknice [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,591
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
    You probably are just able to see the details during motion with ULMB whereas without it the textures are motion blurred so you can't see any detail.
     
  26. Marm0t

    Marm0t Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    234
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014

    Wow thats really bad stuff. Way worse than mine was, and i returned it. Good luck on your 3rd (if you go that route)
     
  27. bigdano

    bigdano n00b

    Messages:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    I dont even have any options above 100hz.

    Blah.. not sure if I want to buy a nvidia card. Whatever I get would basically only be a small step up from a 6990 and it would cost 3-400$

    >:/
     
  28. Bluesun311

    Bluesun311 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,523
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Jeez what a nightmare. I was planning to use one on AMD r9s

    I think I would be testing the shit out of custom resolution utility+pixel clock patcher and trying everything I could to make the thing destroy itself.

    Basically I'd pretend it was my Catleap
     
  29. Dcode

    Dcode Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    355
    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Guys please! ULMB users; do you get slightly blurry text on our bookmarks bar in Chrome when its enabled on the desktop?
     
  30. Zepharus

    Zepharus Gawd

    Messages:
    646
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    all these doltz that buy these for use with an AMD card...wtf people? Go buy a Benq.
     
  31. Bobalias_LeShay

    Bobalias_LeShay Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    287
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    I'm not sure what you mean?
     
  32. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    17,133
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Because this is the only 1440p monitor that runs at 144Hz. All the BenQ monitors are 1080p.
     
  33. WetMacula

    WetMacula Gawd

    Messages:
    533
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    I believe he means Gsync only works with Nvidia and others reported it won't run at 144 Hz with an AMD card.
     
  34. Rizen

    Rizen [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,204
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    This is the only 2560 monitor that offers 120hz+, so I'm not sure who the real dolt is here.. I'm not wasting my computer's power at 1080p.

    I am able to use 120Hz fine with the Swift, but I cannot get 144hz to work and AMD doesn't support ULMB. I reached out to AMD and they are investigating the 144hz issue for me, I'll let you know what I hear.
     
  35. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    17,133
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    I was giving an explanation as to why AMD owners would want to purchase this monitor. At no point did ASUS ever say 144Hz would not work with AMD cards. In fact, in their Q&A they say themselves that the monitor would act like a "normal" 144Hz monitor on AMD hardware.

    http://rog.asus.com/339252014/gaming-monitors/faq-rog-swift-pg278q-27-inch-g-sync-gaming-monitor/
     
  36. Zepharus

    Zepharus Gawd

    Messages:
    646
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    ^^^^^
    This I cannot get my hands on one and these knuckleheads are purchasing something for $800 that they cannot even fully use several key features of. Derp
     
  37. Nettwerk

    Nettwerk 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,511
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Getting the "out of range" error out of the blue now with bf4 in fullscreen mode :(
     
  38. WetMacula

    WetMacula Gawd

    Messages:
    533
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Post your card(s), cable type/length, driver, monitor settings, game settings. Asus said they are aware of "out of range" and is working with Nvidia for a driver fix.
     
  39. Nettwerk

    Nettwerk 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,511
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Im using a 6ft Belkin F2CD000b10-E DisplayPort cable and 120hz mode since that will allow my 780 to clock down to idle speeds when not playing. I unplugged and replugged in the displayport cable when it said out of range the monitor came back to life in gsync mode.
     
  40. l88bastard

    l88bastard 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,478
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    I am so glad my F5ing was not quick enough to land one of these on Launch day.....and by launch day I mean piece, of shit lazy half assed, corner cutting, attempted product release. I am usually the beta tester on hardware like this and it actually feels nice to watch from the side lines this go around.

    And yes, all you punks with AMD cards had no business purchasing a SWIFT on launch. You knew AMD cards were not going to be properly supported, yet you stole spaces inline from us deserving Nvidia fanbois instead ;)