Asrock z77 itx is out

MissJ84

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
2,155
dammit....my new H100 backplate will not fit....keeps hitting the mSATA connector. :(

Really? The H60 uses the exact same backplate and the spacer kept it from hitting the msata. It doesn't matter if it's just touching btw.

asrock-z77e-itx-layout-9.jpg


Lastly, make sure you have it oriented like this photo.

mountingbracket.jpg
 

Synomenon

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
7,650
I'm having a weird issue with my build:

Asrock Z77E-ITX
i7-3770T
16GB DDR3-1866
Intel 520 Series 240GB SSD
Intel 320 Series 300GB SSD
SilverStone ST45SF PSU
Teac Slim Blu-Ray Burner
EVGA GTX670 SC 4GB


The issue is, when I turn the system off the GTX670's fan keeps spinning. Even if I unplug the power cable from the PSU, the GTX670's fan keeps spinning.

Is there a setting in the Asrock's BIOS that might be causing this?
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2012
Messages
3
Sorry if this is off topic!

Synomenon, I am thinking about buying the i7 3770T for a M350 build - is the stock 3770T cooler smaller then the normal 3770 cooler?
 

Synomenon

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
7,650
It's not a feature on consumer motherboards. Did you rewire your PCIe connectors? Is your PSU grounded properly?
I didn't rewire anything. What do you mean grounded properly? The power cable to the wall is connected to a 3-prong (grounded) outlet.



Sorry if this is off topic!

Synomenon, I am thinking about buying the i7 3770T for a M350 build - is the stock 3770T cooler smaller then the normal 3770 cooler?
My 3770T was an OEM part so it didn't come with a heatsink.
 

WiSK

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
2,207
I didn't rewire anything. What do you mean grounded properly? The power cable to the wall is connected to a 3-prong (grounded) outlet.

Presuming that residual power stored in the capacitors is driving the fans, I'm just trying to eliminate possible causes.

Have you called Evga about it yet?
 

Synomenon

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
7,650
Yes, the fan was spinning all night even though the power cable to the PSU had been unplugged from the wall and the PSU.

I did find out what was causing the fan to spin though. I am using three Dell monitors. One U2410 and two U2311s. The U2410 is connected to the 670 w/ a displayport to displayport cable. The two U2311s are connected to the 670's DVI ports with displayport to DVI cables.

When I unplug the DVI cables from the 670, the fan finally stops spinning.

Anyone have any idea what's happening here? Are the 670's DVI ports tied to its power connections?
 

Synomenon

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
7,650
The monitors are all connected to a new UPS which is grounded properly...
 

WiSK

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
2,207
Thing is, electricity chooses the easiest path. But when part of the circuit is off, the potential difference between two points could conceivably become + instead of -. This is a shot in the dark, but can you see if your GPU fans are spinning normally or reversed?
 

Synomenon

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
7,650
How do I tell that? Which way should they be spinning? Clockwise or counter?
 

WiSK

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
2,207
Get a strip of paper, test which way it spins when the PC is on, then switch it off and test again.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2012
Messages
2
I'm having a weird issue with my build:

Asrock Z77E-ITX
i7-3770T
16GB DDR3-1866
Intel 520 Series 240GB SSD
Intel 320 Series 300GB SSD
SilverStone ST45SF PSU
Teac Slim Blu-Ray Burner
EVGA GTX670 SC 4GB


The issue is, when I turn the system off the GTX670's fan keeps spinning. Even if I unplug the power cable from the PSU, the GTX670's fan keeps spinning.

Is there a setting in the Asrock's BIOS that might be causing this?

Hello,

I just setup a similar spec machine to yours. I noticed the system takes noticably longer time to reboot (it infact shuts down completely then starts up again) When shutting down from either softkey on keyboard or from Windows menu, it takes a good 20 - 30 seconds for it to fully power off.

Simply, give it some time to power off....?
 

AnubisPrime

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 31, 2002
Messages
259
I just picked up this an ASRock Z77 ITX and a 3750k - having trouble with the cooling solution. I'd love to drop in an AXP-140, but I can't find one for sale to save my life. It's discontinued at this point, looking for a used one has turned up nothing.

I can't do a closed loop liquid system like the H80 because the whole point of this rig is as a travel box. TSA frowns on any type of liquid setup from what I've heard, and I don't want to deal with it. I work on the road much of the year, and this box will be packed in my carry-on. the SG08 case fits in a standard carry-on with a bit of room for some foam padding :)

Has anyone been able to fit either of the Noctua units, the NH-L12 or even the NH-C12P SE14? I know some folks have got these going with the Asus Z77 variant. Sounds like it's a no-go on this board? (I need my PCIe slot for my 7950 :eek: )

SILVERSTONE NT06-E 1
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835220033

That plus a 120mm fan? Maybe?
 
Last edited:

Synomenon

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
7,650
I tried two different liquid cooling units (Antec 620 and Corsair H60). Even went through two of each and every one of them had some kind of very audible and distracting pump or liquid noise.

So I went with an Arctic Cooling Freezer 11 LP. I hope it works well. Should be enough for my low-TDP 3770T.
 

zbx

n00b
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
5
Greetings from new user of forum and owner of asrock z77 itx. I'm having little troubles to make virtu mvp work with my radeon hd7850. Board simply doesn't switch hd4000 to main card while I'm running games. Added profiles to mvp but still nothing. So I guess there must be some sort of bios doobie which stops card from switching.
Is any of you experienced enough to help me make it work as it should? I know virtu mvp is not considered as superb soft however I need it badly since I got monitor with vga plug and I'm getting flickering screen while playing(common issue on hd7xxx serie with vga screen). Step by step guide including bios options, drivers version would be highly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Edit: Already sorted virtu :) But I noticed that one of the erm 'screws'(bad english alert^^) from antena plugs isn't sitting tight, actually it's free, am I the only one? Well it's tiny detail easy to fix at home, just out of curiosity ^^
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 2, 2012
Messages
2
Hi, I use CoolIT ECO ALC. I have used it for over a year in the AMD Phenom x4 and now on the Core i5 2500K. Simple setup in an SG05 case - 120mm fan pushing air over the radiator and out of the front of the case.

This setup works well. No issue with backplate touching the mSATA port. The 2500K is running at 4.6GHz keeping it around 60c under load. Very quiet too, pump is silent.
 

mococaido

n00b
Joined
Apr 29, 2012
Messages
10
After reading most of this thread, I decided to go with, the Asrock Z77 itx

Are there any issues with the, Zalman CNPS20LQ backplate?

Thanks
 

Digikid

Weaksauce
Joined
Feb 26, 2012
Messages
119
I forgot to report back about that H100. it fit perfectly and that bracket DOES NOT need to be modified in ANY WAY.

:D
 

updawg

Gawd
Joined
Mar 20, 2010
Messages
609
Can the wireless card see N 5GHZ networks with a 40mhz channel width? I can only connect to 2.4 ghz networks at the moment. Any help would be appreciated!
 

akromatic

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
220
soCQS.png


Hmm i removed my board out of the case just now to fit in a new CPU cooler and I've found of the caps (circled in red) bent and out of place. It seemed slightly raised but the solder joints are fine and the legs are not broken however it does look like the legs has been yanked out slightly. I didn't take actual photos of it though

I'm wondering what function is that cap and how important it is and if it is enough for me to send it for RMA considering the board is less then a week old.


On the side note I'd confirm that the Noctua NH-U9B fits on the board if you cut part of the foam on the backplate and it fits in the SG08 if you replace the 180mm fan to a standard 25mm thick fan(stock 180mm is 30mm thick) which in my case is a 140mm Noctua.

Sad that the CPU fan header doesn't support voltage control while the chassis fan header does, now I have to rig a fan controller and maybe use the Corsair link as it fits in my redundant 3.25" bay so I can manage it via software of some sort.
 

morgwon

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
7,906
Yes, the fan was spinning all night even though the power cable to the PSU had been unplugged from the wall and the PSU.

I did find out what was causing the fan to spin though. I am using three Dell monitors. One U2410 and two U2311s. The U2410 is connected to the 670 w/ a displayport to displayport cable. The two U2311s are connected to the 670's DVI ports with displayport to DVI cables.

When I unplug the DVI cables from the 670, the fan finally stops spinning.

Anyone have any idea what's happening here? Are the 670's DVI ports tied to its power connections?

Where did you get your displayport cable from? I had the same exact thing happening except it was with an HSI 6950. Lookup displayport 20 pin power. The displayport spec allows for power via the cable for low power displays. I ended buying my cables directly from dell (the ones they include with their u3011) and the problem went away. The ones I had bought first from monoprice gave me the same issue you are experiencing. I RMA'd to try 2 different sets and I had issues with both sets.
 

morgwon

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
7,906
I would just use the dvi cables on your u2311. I bet you the problem goes away.
 

Synomenon

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
7,650
I thought the mSATA slot on the underside was SATA-II. I installed a 240GB Mushkin mSATA SSD and in the "System Browser" in the UEFI, it shows this for the mSATA slot:

Mini PCIE2: MKNSSDAT240GB-DX
Size:240.0GB, Max. UDMA:6, Max. Speed:Gen3 (6Gbps), S.M.A.R.T:Supported
 

MissJ84

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
2,155
I thought the mSATA slot on the underside was SATA-II. I installed a 240GB Mushkin mSATA SSD and in the "System Browser" in the UEFI, it shows this for the mSATA slot:

Mini PCIE2: MKNSSDAT240GB-DX
Size:240.0GB, Max. UDMA:6, Max. Speed:Gen3 (6Gbps), S.M.A.R.T:Supported

Well the system browser and other things like crystal disk info, HWInfo, etc., will always show what the SSD is capable of, not what it's running at. The only exception I can think of would be Intel RST control center, which will say Sata II.
 

KoTb

n00b
Joined
Sep 26, 2012
Messages
6
hello, can you help me, if i'll use no_overcl. i5?
what will be the bext choice Scythe Kozuti (SCKZT-1000) ore Xigmatek Praeton LD964
thanks
 

Masejoer

Gawd
Joined
Mar 11, 2001
Messages
698
Can someone tell me the actual POST time, from power button to Windows loading screen on this mb? Preferably using onboard video and few peripherals due to them potentially slowing down POST. I'm trying to find an ITX mb to replace my current Zotac Core2 carpc one that takes 13 seconds to get past POST. My Asus boards have always been quite slow at POSTing also, even with everything disabled in the BIOS. I read some good things about Asrock POST speed over at http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2242873
 
Last edited:

Agenesis

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 24, 2011
Messages
1,425
Can someone tell me the actual POST time, from power button to Windows loading screen on this mb? Preferably using onboard video and few peripherals due to them potentially slowing down POST. I'm trying to find an ITX mb to replace my current Zotac Core2 carpc one that takes 13 seconds to get past POST. My Asus boards have always been quite slow at POSTing also, even with everything disabled in the BIOS. I read some good things about Asrock POST speed over at http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2242873

My H77 Asrock ITX board takes 3 seconds from a cold boot to login screen in Windows 8 using a SSD, so I would assume this would be the same as well.

The post literally just flashes and you sometimes have to spam the bios button just to get into it.
 

Masejoer

Gawd
Joined
Mar 11, 2001
Messages
698
My H77 Asrock ITX board takes 3 seconds from a cold boot to login screen in Windows 8 using a SSD

I assume you mean startup screen? I was assuming that the H77 board would POST about as fast as the Z77, if not a little faster. 3 Seconds would be VERY ideal. It was either this thing, or the H77 Asus, which I assume would be much slower from my experiences with other Asus boards, including my workstation's Z77 ATX board.

Now if only the i3-3225 wasn't so expensive for what it is. I just need the low power consumption and decent-ish graphics (coming from E8400/GeForce 9300).
 

Machupo

Gravity Tester
Joined
Nov 14, 2004
Messages
5,402
you have a MC near you? the i3-3225 is the monthly cpu/mobo combo
 

MissJ84

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
2,155
I assume you mean startup screen? I was assuming that the H77 board would POST about as fast as the Z77, if not a little faster. 3 Seconds would be VERY ideal. It was either this thing, or the H77 Asus, which I assume would be much slower from my experiences with other Asus boards, including my workstation's Z77 ATX board.

Now if only the i3-3225 wasn't so expensive for what it is. I just need the low power consumption and decent-ish graphics (coming from E8400/GeForce 9300).
It boots fast!

you have a MC near you? the i3-3225 is the monthly cpu/mobo combo

This^ I went through the exact same thing for my upcoming build. If you have a MC, Asrock Z77E-ITX + 3225 is the way to go. Unfortunately I don't, so I ended up buying then reselling a used 2105 > 3770K > 3570K and only paid ~$155 for the 3570K in the end.

I realize you're looking for CPU with low power consumption, but if you don't have a MC near you, I'd look for a used 3570K in the F/S section. First, the 3570K isn't going to use anymore power, because it'll get things done quicker, get back to idle sooner, and they both (3225 & 3570K) use the same power at idle. Second, the 3225 just came out so it has a high price and there aren't a lot of used ones floating around for sale.
 

Masejoer

Gawd
Joined
Mar 11, 2001
Messages
698
I realize you're looking for CPU with low power consumption, but if you don't have a MC near you, I'd look for a used 3570K in the F/S section. First, the 3570K isn't going to use anymore power, because it'll get things done quicker, get back to idle sooner, and they both (3225 & 3570K) use the same power at idle. Second, the 3225 just came out so it has a high price and there aren't a lot of used ones floating around for sale.

No Microcenter.

I need all the power savings I can get. The power supply puts out 6A on the 12v. My E8400 system is currently using a psu that maxes out at 5A on the 12v, and it drops down closer to 4A at 10v input, or above like 14v input. My E8400 system consumes like 60-70W total.
 

mister_r

n00b
Joined
Nov 17, 2010
Messages
17
I have been having an absolutely awful nightmare with this Mobo unfortunately. Does anyone else have the same problems?

Same problem here. The red CMOS light is always on.
I had 'ghost' startups as well where my machine would just switch on by itself, so I had to turn the power off every time I shut down. On top of that the MB forgets my BIOS settings as well when power is lost. So I replaced the MB battery and that helped for about a month and now it is happening again, meaning that battery is being drained at an insane rate. On top of all of that only half the USB ports are working and the USB 3.0 ports are only working at USB 2.0 rates. Had to live with this for a year now.
What a gigantic disappointment :(
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2010
Messages
697
the board wont recognize my SSD. i want my ssd.

hdmi port ghosts on me every time i boot.

i do have an OS on a 3.5 sata II that i got to work which was weird.

other than that everything works well. bumping a 3 month old thread. RIGHT?
 
Top