Asrock z77 itx is out

vicbdn

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 28, 2010
Messages
94
Interesting on the mSATA. Maybe i'll pick up one of these so I can stick a killer n1102 in there.
 

Dark79

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
485
I'm currently stressing 4.8GHz with 1.344 - 1.352v on the 2500K. Really wish I didn't have a 6C difference between my hottest and coldest cores, but so far temps are still below 80. I probably need to upgrade my cooling, but I'm pretty happy considering it's a miniITX board. I really doubt the Asus would take me any higher seeing as heat would be the same limiting factor. And the price difference wouldn't be worth the extra .1 or .2 GHz I might get.
 

MissJ84

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
2,154
Nice, and I can relate to your 6C core temp differences. Mine does the same thing and I hate it lol.My 2600k is sitting at 4.2 with 1.200v staying below 60C. I've got a 3570k on the way, so I doubt I'll mess around with higher clocks with this chip. What cooler are you using?
 

Dark79

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
485
Nice, and I can relate to your 6C core temp differences. Mine does the same thing and I hate it lol.My 2600k is sitting at 4.2 with 1.200v staying below 60C. I've got a 3570k on the way, so I doubt I'll mess around with higher clocks with this chip. What cooler are you using?

Using an old H50 I picked up used awhile back with a pair of Scythe Slipstream 1200RPM in push pull. I can probably do better on both the heat sink and fan. But I won't worry about that until the Summer heat kicks in.
 

mkrohn

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,345

LOL overclocking ITX is insanely hard since the lack of space makes proper cooling way too hard. I gave up on ITX when I upgraded my I5-660 and stepped up to mATX gives you so many more options without going too much bigger unless you choose to. BUT most of the good itx cases are about the same size as the smallest mATX cases :(
 

MissJ84

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
2,154
LOL overclocking ITX is insanely hard since the lack of space makes proper cooling way too hard. I gave up on ITX when I upgraded my I5-660 and stepped up to mATX gives you so many more options without going too much bigger unless you choose to. BUT most of the good itx cases are about the same size as the smallest mATX cases :(

Yeah I don't really agree with this. I've seen people close to 5.0Ghz with this board over at OCN and elsewhere. Prior to these Z77 boards there really hasn't been a good ITX board other than the DFI MI P55-T36.
 

mkrohn

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,345
Yeah I don't really agree with this. I've seen people close to 5.0Ghz with this board over at OCN and elsewhere. Prior to these Z77 boards there really hasn't been a good ITX board other than the DFI MI P55-T36.

i didn't say impossible... its just harder than say a full sized case. Lack of space makes proper cooling HARDER which makes overclocking harder... those 2500K's though a good chunk of those chips can really go high without touching the voltage much.
 

MissJ84

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
2,154
i didn't say impossible... its just harder than say a full sized case. Lack of space makes proper cooling HARDER which makes overclocking harder... those 2500K's though a good chunk of those chips can really go high without touching the voltage much.

Ahhh see I thought you meant the board space not the case space. The same goes for any sized board then. It's all relative. Throw an ATX into a Lian Li A05N and you're presented with some limitations. Reverse that and put an ITX into a Bit Fenix Prodigy case and there will be no cooling problems whatsoever. Like I said, I thought you were referring to board limitations, not case limitations, but thanks for pointing out the obvious :rolleyes:
 

j.yonke

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 28, 2008
Messages
109
Wooho, just picked one of these up from Newegg Business with a 15% off code! On top of that I had a $10 GC. Hopefully I can cram my H100 in my PCQ08 with this and keep my same OC.
 

Dark79

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
485
Wooho, just picked one of these up from Newegg Business with a 15% off code! On top of that I had a $10 GC. Hopefully I can cram my H100 in my PCQ08 with this and keep my same OC.



I'm at 4.6 with around 1.3v. Was pretty easy to get to. Anything over that needs Internal PLL Overvoltage set to Enabled which breaks wake from sleep.
 

MissJ84

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
2,154
Well as everyone already knows, I'm keeping the Asrock instead of the Asus, mainly due to price and boot up times being a few seconds less. I wanted to add a few screen shots of the system browser in the UEFI, which I found to be nifty :)

120506040219.png

120506040306.png
 

MissJ84

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
2,154
So, what is the max overclock for 2600K with this board? :confused:

Oh I posted a mini comparison between the two over in the "ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe in stock @ Newegg" thread. Despite the Asus UEFI having more tweaking options, they both needed the same voltages at all clocks with my 3570K. I needed 1.3V to hit 4.5Ghz and temperatures were similar with both boards. As for my 2600K, I have no idea what the Asus can do with it. My 2600K is sitting at 4.5Ghz needing 1.264V. Temps are fine and I haven't really tried pushing higher than that. This is what I've been running for almost two weeks. Now all I have to do is decide whether to try out another 3570K or be content with the current 2600K :p

Edit: Right after this post, my computer shut off, then cold booted. No blue screens, but this has happened with the Asrock one other time prior to receiving the Asus. I thought it was a fluke (power related) the first time, but now that it's happened again, I'm going to reconsider the P8Z77-I Deluxe.
 
Last edited:

MissJ84

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
2,154
It was more of a shutdown than a restart (no bluescreen) and my voltage is a little higher than what was needed for Prime/LinX stability. Going to put the Asus back in later today.
 

Dark79

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
485
It was more of a shutdown than a restart (no bluescreen) and my voltage is a little higher than what was needed for Prime/LinX stability. Going to put the Asus back in later today.

That sucks. Haven't developed any issues with mine yet and I'm crossing my fingers that I dont :)
 

sammi44

n00b
Joined
Apr 27, 2012
Messages
11
hey jocelyn was wondering how much extra width that backplate adds on the 680 sig+, i have this asrock board on the way with an axp-140 and was curious if i'd run into trouble buying a card with a backplate vs one without
 

Kaos_Drem

Gawd
Joined
Oct 16, 2004
Messages
970
It was more of a shutdown than a restart (no bluescreen) and my voltage is a little higher than what was needed for Prime/LinX stability. Going to put the Asus back in later today.

If it was a random shutdown with no error code other than "kernel power error" and it wouldn't cold boot back up on the first time that almost sounds like a slight memory incompatibility error.
A while back Some intel boards would do this where they will random shutdown, no errors anywhere and it was usually memory or power supply related
 

Trevor

n00b
Joined
Jun 5, 2004
Messages
52
AXP-140 works fine on this board. You have to grind off just a tiny bit of the backplate. The MSATA isn't the issue (it barely clears) but there's a small chip next to it that gets into the backplate's personal space. On the topside there's a cap right next to the PCI-Ex slot that I'm sure is touching the AXP-140's frame but it doesn't seem to be an issue.

And BTW...loaded up the generic 4.6GHz preset with my 2600k...5 minutes of Prime95 without it pulling back at all. 4.6 GHz and 116-118w (indicated) - solid as a rock. Seems they've done some work since the Z68. Well done ASRock.
Still running 4.6GHz here after a week. Zero issues. The 4.6GHz preset runs the 2600k at 1.40-1.41v peak so Prime95 puts the chip in the low 80's. I'm OK with it...since IB was released this 2600k has become disposable. If it dies it'll be a forced upgrade. :p

With the fans pulled WAY back (the system is near silent) idle is around 32-34C and normal use is 37-40C and playing Borderlands puts it in the mid 50's (fans start kicking up at 45C).
 

MissJ84

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
2,154
hey jocelyn was wondering how much extra width that backplate adds on the 680 sig+, i have this asrock board on the way with an axp-140 and was curious if i'd run into trouble buying a card with a backplate vs one without
A few mm? I have no idea about the AXP-140, as I've never owned the cooler. I'd check out 3d drawings on Thermalright's website, search the SG05 thread and go from there.


If it was a random shutdown with no error code other than "kernel power error" and it wouldn't cold boot back up on the first time that almost sounds like a slight memory incompatibility error.
A while back Some intel boards would do this where they will random shutdown, no errors anywhere and it was usually memory or power supply related

It was more of hard reboot than a shutdown, there was definitely bios kind stuff going on internally when it was off for a few seconds. I doubt it was my memory as it was running at 1600 9-9-9-24 at the time. I also doubt it was PSU related, because I had a different ST45SF inside when it happened last week and I was only browsing. Lastly, my voltage is set to fixed, not offset.
 

GBH2

n00b
Joined
Aug 8, 2009
Messages
57
Oh I posted a mini comparison between the two over in the "ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe in stock @ Newegg" thread. Despite the Asus UEFI having more tweaking options, they both needed the same voltages at all clocks with my 3570K. I needed 1.3V to hit 4.5Ghz and temperatures were similar with both boards. As for my 2600K, I have no idea what the Asus can do with it. My 2600K is sitting at 4.5Ghz needing 1.264V. Temps are fine and I haven't really tried pushing higher than that. This is what I've been running for almost two weeks. Now all I have to do is decide whether to try out another 3570K or be content with the current 2600K :p

Edit: Right after this post, my computer shut off, then cold booted. No blue screens, but this has happened with the Asrock one other time prior to receiving the Asus. I thought it was a fluke (power related) the first time, but now that it's happened again, I'm going to reconsider the P8Z77-I Deluxe.

Thanks for all the info you have posted about these boards. Sorry to hear you're having trouble with the Asrock board.

I was originally going to get the ASUS but your feedback had me ready to pull the trigger on the Asrock as we seem to have similar desires from a motherboard (the cold boot time is a big plus!). Now I think I will wait for the ASUS to come back in stock and see if there is any other postive or negative feedback from others with respect to the Asrock and make a decision then.

Thanks again for all your feedback!
 

MissJ84

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
2,154
After running some stability testing with the Asus/2600K combo, I definitely need slightly more vcore (1.280-1.288v bounce) for stability @ 4500Mhz. Prime crashes almost immediately @ 4.5Ghz with 1.272v and I can't even get into windows with the same 1.264v that was stable with the Asrock. I passed 12 hours of P95 and plenty of LinX testing with the Asrock board at 1.264v, so maybe this would explain my sudden shut off :confused:
Needless to say, I'm still trying to provide some sort of comparison, but at the same time I'd appreciate any thoughts on this. I have no idea which board I should keep lol

PS Hope it's okay that I'm posting this in both threads :)
 

Dark79

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
485
After running some stability testing with the Asus/2600K combo, I definitely need slightly more vcore (1.280-1.288v bounce) for stability @ 4500Mhz. Prime crashes almost immediately @ 4.5Ghz with 1.272v and I can't even get into windows with the same 1.264v that was stable with the Asrock. I passed 12 hours of P95 and plenty of LinX testing with the Asrock board at 1.264v, so maybe this would explain my sudden shut off :confused:
Needless to say, I'm still trying to provide some sort of comparison, but at the same time I'd appreciate any thoughts on this. I have no idea which board I should keep lol

PS Hope it's okay that I'm posting this in both threads :)

Do you remember what LLC level you were using? I think Level 1 jumps around way too much on load (for me it was like 0.04) whereas Level 2 works really well (jumps only 0.02 or less). Then again I use Offset mode and not Fixed voltage. Other than that, I have no idea what would cause spontaneous shutdown...

In other news, I've taken my DDR3-1600's up to DDR3-1866 and dropped the voltage from stock (1.50 down to 1.45). My old board couldn't even boot Windows at this speed. Cool stuff.
 

Marduk77

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 3, 2011
Messages
219
I recently bought this board and have you guys noticed a slow NIC connection?
 

Dark79

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
485
I recently bought this board and have you guys noticed a slow NIC connection?

What are you seeing exactly?

I downloaded the most current drivers for everything from either each hardware manufacturer's website or from station-drivers.com. I never use the included discs or the website because they tend to have outdated drivers. Other than that I manually set the connection speed to Gigabit ethernet to match my network. No issues here.
 

MissJ84

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
2,154
Do you remember what LLC level you were using? I think Level 1 jumps around way too much on load (for me it was like 0.04) whereas Level 2 works really well (jumps only 0.02 or less). Then again I use Offset mode and not Fixed voltage. Other than that, I have no idea what would cause spontaneous shutdown...

In other news, I've taken my DDR3-1600's up to DDR3-1866 and dropped the voltage from stock (1.50 down to 1.45). My old board couldn't even boot Windows at this speed. Cool stuff.

Yes, I was using level 2. I've read that it's best to use whichever one gives you a vcore in CPUZ that's closest to the bios vcore between 2 and 3. I'm still not sure which I'm keeping, but I'm attributing the sudden shutdown to a vcore that was too low. As mentioned above, I can't even get into windows with similar voltage using the Asus.
 

Marduk77

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 3, 2011
Messages
219
What are you seeing exactly?

I downloaded the most current drivers for everything from either each hardware manufacturer's website or from station-drivers.com. I never use the included discs or the website because they tend to have outdated drivers. Other than that I manually set the connection speed to Gigabit ethernet to match my network. No issues here.

Thanks Dark79 I updated the drivers, reflashed the BIOS and did a clean install of the OS and everything is good now.
 

sbao26975

n00b
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
41
I cannot mount my AXP-140 well with my Ripjaws X since I have to install the Ripjaws X before the AXP-140. Takes a lot of effort and time. I went ahead and ordered a set of that samsung low profile so that I can put in RAM after mounting it.

Right now I have it mounted, but temps are pretty bad because I don't think it seated very well. I'm getting to almost 90s and rising with only 1.25V....then again I don't have a fan on the heatsink (scythe fan coming) but I still think it's pretty bad.
 

encode

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 16, 2011
Messages
68
After running some stability testing with the Asus/2600K combo, I definitely need slightly more vcore (1.280-1.288v bounce) for stability @ 4500Mhz. Prime crashes almost immediately @ 4.5Ghz with 1.272v and I can't even get into windows with the same 1.264v that was stable with the Asrock. I passed 12 hours of P95 and plenty of LinX testing with the Asrock board at 1.264v, so maybe this would explain my sudden shut off :confused:
Needless to say, I'm still trying to provide some sort of comparison, but at the same time I'd appreciate any thoughts on this. I have no idea which board I should keep lol

PS Hope it's okay that I'm posting this in both threads :)
I think ASRock have great experience with powerful ITX solutions - with their Z68M-ITX (with some DIY improvements) I can reach 4.7GHz with my 2700K, with lower voltages you posted. Yes I'm really waiting for Z77 ITX, but I'm expecting to hit at least 4.9GHz stable running Prime95! So, 4.5 for 2600K is nothing. As a note I have 2600K too and with Z68-ITX board I reached 4.6GHz. ASUS looks beefy, but I had a worst experience with ASUS MoBos - three FM1 boards one by one become dead... Crash free bios just as other stuff not worked here! I was really mad. That was when the FM1 boards just arrived to the market. Anyway, when one of these boards will be available in Russia I'll get one instantly! BTW, ATX/mATX Z77 of all kinds available here, no Z77 ITX (H77/B75 are here though)
 

MissJ84

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
2,154
I think ASRock have great experience with powerful ITX solutions - with their Z68M-ITX (with some DIY improvements) I can reach 4.7GHz with my 2700K, with lower voltages you posted. Yes I'm really waiting for Z77 ITX, but I'm expecting to hit at least 4.9GHz stable running Prime95! So, 4.5 for 2600K is nothing. As a note I have 2600K too and with Z68-ITX board I reached 4.6GHz. ASUS looks beefy, but I had a worst experience with ASUS MoBos - three FM1 boards one by one become dead... Crash free bios just as other stuff not worked here! I was really mad. That was when the FM1 boards just arrived to the market. Anyway, when one of these boards will be available in Russia I'll get one instantly! BTW, ATX/mATX Z77 of all kinds available here, no Z77 ITX (H77/B75 are here though)
I already did a comparison between the two boards using a 3570K up to 4.8, and both boards needed the same voltage to hit similar clocks. It doesn't matter what your 2700K needed or needs, as that provides no comparison between the two boards. I was doing an apples to apples comparison between the Z77E-ITX and P8Z77-I Deluxe with a 2600K for myself and others and plan to do the same thing with a different 3570K tomorrow. FWIW, I am leaning towards the Asrock, but just barely.

PS You should read my other posts in this thread, so you understand the context of my last post.
 

jwsg

Weaksauce
Joined
May 6, 2012
Messages
72
Your comparative info between the Asus and Asrock with 3570K is most appreciated, and in particular your experiences with stability, performance & power draw and mechanical issues such as cooler compatability and access to sockets.
 

Marduk77

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 3, 2011
Messages
219
I noticed my RAM in the OS was only showing 7.87 gb's available out of the 8 gb's of RAM installed. The BIOS is showing a full 8 gb's. Is this due to the onboard graphics? I'm using a 5870 1gb video card. Is this normal?
 

MissJ84

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
2,154
I disable onboard in the UEFI and never install onboard video drivers. Disable onboard video options in the UEFI to get your memory back :)
 

Synomenon

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
7,649
So does this ASRock have a true UEFI like the Asus boards or does it require installation of a program within Windows for the UEFI to work?

Also, is the mPCIe slot underneath the board? If it's only SATA2, what's it good for if I'm going to use a larger SSD as my main drive?


I like the ASRock because of the PS/2 port. Is there an option in the BIOS / UEFI to allow powering on with a press of a key on a PS/2 keyboard?
 

nostylez

n00b
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
4
So does this ASRock have a true UEFI like the Asus boards or does it require installation of a program within Windows for the UEFI to work?

Also, is the mPCIe slot underneath the board? If it's only SATA2, what's it good for if I'm going to use a larger SSD as my main drive?


I like the ASRock because of the PS/2 port. Is there an option in the BIOS / UEFI to allow powering on with a press of a key on a PS/2 keyboard?

It's true UEFI, no installation required from what I've tried with my new rig.
 

Dark79

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
485
Also, is the mPCIe slot underneath the board? If it's only SATA2, what's it good for if I'm going to use a larger SSD as my main drive?
I'm using it with a 64GB mSATA SSD for just Windows and programs (I usually use portableapps). If you're already using a larger SSD, then I guess it won't be of much use to you. I'm not sure if it's a dual slot that can also take mPCIe or if it's just mSATA only.

I like the ASRock because of the PS/2 port. Is there an option in the BIOS / UEFI to allow powering on with a press of a key on a PS/2 keyboard?
Yup. It's under the Advanced ACPI section.
 
Top