Asrock motherboard PSA

Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
3,675
I recently contacted their RMA department and was told they no longer have a service center here in the US and it was moved to China. So if you were thinking of buying one of their boards you might want to take that into consideration. The only reason I'm posting this is because if you look at their RMA form it still says they offer those services.
 

capt_cope

Gawd
Joined
Apr 12, 2009
Messages
948
I recently contacted their RMA department and was told they no longer have a service center here in the US and it was moved to China. So if you were thinking of buying one of their boards you might want to take that into consideration. The only reason I'm posting this is because if you look at their RMA form it still says they offer those services.
That's a bummer. I've only had to deal with an RMA through asrock once, but it was as close to a "pleasure" as an RMA can get. They made the process quick, easy, and painless.
 

Dermen

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 10, 2017
Messages
394
Does anybody know how will this effect their RMAs? Is the service center where they actually refurb boards? I could see them moving that to China and having some place in the US that you would receive your RMA and send you out a previously refurbed board. If they make you send a board to/from China it will add extra shipping time.
 

Hagrid

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Nov 23, 2006
Messages
9,155
Does anybody know how will this effect their RMAs? Is the service center where they actually refurb boards? I could see them moving that to China and having some place in the US that you would receive your RMA and send you out a previously refurbed board. If they make you send a board to/from China it will add extra shipping time.
Extra shipping time and cost. If that board is bad, then rinse and repeat? No thanks.
 

ir0nw0lf

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 7, 2003
Messages
6,404
I recently contacted their RMA department and was told they no longer have a service center here in the US and it was moved to China. So if you were thinking of buying one of their boards you might want to take that into consideration. The only reason I'm posting this is because if you look at their RMA form it still says they offer those services.
Any link or text confirming this? I use mostly their boards for normal builds, this is not great news.
 

Spartacus

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 29, 2005
Messages
2,126
Sounds like they are pulling out of the US market then.
With no US support, word will get around and US sales will plummet.

They would not close their US support if things were going great.


.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
3,675
"ASRock does not have any more repair center it was moved back to ASIA and they did not modified the RMA form service.


ASRock America Support"
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
22,230
Sounds like they are pulling out of the US market then.
With no US support, word will get around and US sales will plummet.

They would not close their US support if things were going great.


.

i've never had a problem with their stuff so i'll keep buying it, but i think the exclusivity contract they have with newegg for online sales screwed them hardcore..
 

RPGWiZaRD

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 24, 2009
Messages
1,217
No change for me being from Finland. Still will buy ASRock especially for its lovely onboard audio that for some reason with my headphones just produces a better sound to my liking than even many times more expensive 3rd party solutions like SoundBlaster ZxR, G5 and ASUS Essence STX II. Would I need to do an RMA process I'd just buy a new one, ship the broken one on RMA and let it take 1 month or two and sell it.

Had others sounded equally nice had been good but those Texas NE5532 onboard amps works brilliant with the Realtek chip.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
3,675
No change for me being from Finland. Still will buy ASRock especially for its lovely onboard audio that for some reason with my headphones just produces a better sound to my liking than even many times more expensive 3rd party solutions like SoundBlaster ZxR, G5 and ASUS Essence STX II. Would I need to do an RMA process I'd just buy a new one, ship the broken one on RMA and let it take 1 month or two and sell it.

Had others sounded equally nice had been good but those Texas NE5532 onboard amps works brilliant with the Realtek chip.

Shouldn't take a month. Recently did an RMA with gigabyte and MSI. Each one took about 2 weeks door to door. Was pretty good I thought.
 

DTN107

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 30, 2008
Messages
4,833
Your RMA is still done in the USA.

They won't repair broken pins and such anymore since it would require shipping it to China.
 

lukart

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
200
I guess they would have some stock for immediate replacement in the US and repair done in china...
 

WhoBeDaPlaya

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 16, 2002
Messages
2,518
I've RMA'ed a few motherboards to the Canadian Asus faculty and never had an issue. I hear the American facility isn't that great though.
Like I said, it's hearsay on my part as I've never had to RMA an ASUS component yet (have had a couple of vid cards, sound cards and motherboards)
 

entropism

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 23, 2004
Messages
3,640
I had to RMA an Asus tablet, and they had it in their possession for 4x the time that I did.
 

jamesv

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 12, 2016
Messages
113
If you want the best service around try Supermicro.
Don’t need an RMA since they do R&D before chasing Intel and AMDs quarterly chip releases...
 
Last edited:
Top