asrock a320m hdv r3 2700x rtx 2080 freeze

eurgbp

n00b
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
51
Hi
asrock a320m hdv r3

Cannot solve this problem
frown.gif


when there is no load pc works fine
but in 3dmark bench tests freezes after 10 to 30 seconds

nothing is overclocked
bought it new from ebay germany

updated bios
updated amd chipset
latest rtx drivers

etc

is this cpu defective?

How do I hard throttle to stock 3.7 Ghz?
I need to disable auto boost right?

PSU 700 Watt

Please help

logs are here log.zip

here is temp logs hwinfo64 specs
temp logs and stats are here


AMD Ryzen 7 2700X

[General Information]
Processor Name: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Original Processor Frequency: 3700.0 MHz
Original Processor Frequency [MHz]: 3700

CPU ID: 00800F82
Extended CPU ID: 00800F82
CPU Brand Name: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X Eight-Core Processor
CPU Vendor: AuthenticAMD
CPU Stepping: <AMD Zen/Pinnacle Ridge>
CPU Code Name: Pinnacle Ridge
CPU Technology: 12 nm
CPU Thermal Design Power (TDP): 105.0 W
CPU Max. Junction Temperature (Tj,max): 85 °C
CPU Platform: AM4
Microcode Update Revision: 800820B
SMU Firmware Revision: 43.20.0

Number of CPU Cores: 8
Number of Logical CPUs: 16

[Operating Points]
CPU HFM (Base): 3700.0 MHz = 37.00 x 100.0 MHz
CPU Boost Max: [Unlimited]
CPU Current: 4091.2 MHz = 41.00 x 99.8 MHz @ 1.3438 V

CPU Bus Type: UMI


Row: 0 - 8 GB PC4-19200 DDR4 SDRAM Team Group TEAMGROUP-UD4-2400

[General Module Information]
Module Number: 0
Module Size: 8 GBytes
Memory Type: DDR4 SDRAM
Module Type: Unbuffered DIMM (UDIMM)
Memory Speed: 1200.5 MHz (DDR4-2400 / PC4-19200)
Module Manufacturer: Team Group
Module Part Number: TEAMGROUP-UD4-2400
Module Revision: 0.0
Module Serial Number: 134480897
Module Manufacturing Date: Year: 2018, Week: 51
Module Manufacturing Location: 0
SDRAM Manufacturer: SpecTek
Error Check/Correction: None

[Module Characteristics]
Row Address Bits: 16
Column Address Bits: 10
Module Density: 8192 Mb
Number Of Ranks: 1
Device Width: 8 bits
Bus Width: 64 bits
Die Count: 1
Module Nominal Voltage (VDD): 1.2 V
Minimum SDRAM Cycle Time (tCKAVGmin): 0.83300 ns
Maximum SDRAM Cycle Time (tCKAVGmax): 1.50000 ns
CAS# Latencies Supported: 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18
Minimum CAS# Latency Time (tAAmin): 13.320 ns
Minimum RAS# to CAS# Delay (tRCDmin): 13.320 ns
Minimum Row Precharge Time (tRPmin): 13.320 ns
Minimum Active to Precharge Time (tRASmin): 32.000 ns

Supported Module Timing at 1200.0 MHz: 16-16-16-39
Supported Module Timing at 1066.1 MHz: 15-15-15-35
Supported Module Timing at 1000.0 MHz: 14-14-14-32
Supported Module Timing at 933.3 MHz: 13-13-13-30
Supported Module Timing at 866.7 MHz: 12-12-12-28
Supported Module Timing at 800.0 MHz: 11-11-11-26

Minimum Active to Active/Refresh Time (tRCmin): 45.375 ns
Minimum Refresh Recovery Time Delay (tRFC1min): 350.000 ns
Minimum Refresh Recovery Time Delay (tRFC2min): 260.000 ns
Minimum Refresh Recovery Time Delay (tRFC4min): 160.000 ns
Minimum Four Activate Window Delay Time (tFAWmin): 21.000 ns
Minimum Active to Active Delay Time - Different Bank Group (tRRD_Smin): 3.299 ns
Minimum Active to Active Delay Time - Same Bank Group (tRRD_Lmin): 4.900 ns
Minimum CAS to CAS Delay Time - Same Bank Group (tCCD_Lmin): 5.000 ns

[Features]
Module Temperature Sensor (TSOD): Not Supported
Module Nominal Height: 31 - 32 mm
Module Maximum Thickness (Front): 1 - 2 mm
Module Maximum Thickness (Back): <= 1 mm
Address Mapping from Edge Connector to DRAM: Standard


Row: 1 - 8 GB PC4-19200 DDR4 SDRAM Team Group TEAMGROUP-UD4-2400

[General Module Information]
Module Number: 1
Module Size: 8 GBytes
Memory Type: DDR4 SDRAM
Module Type: Unbuffered DIMM (UDIMM)
Memory Speed: 1200.5 MHz (DDR4-2400 / PC4-19200)
Module Manufacturer: Team Group
Module Part Number: TEAMGROUP-UD4-2400
Module Revision: 0.0
Module Serial Number: 2164458497
Module Manufacturing Date: Year: 2018, Week: 51
Module Manufacturing Location: 0
SDRAM Manufacturer: SpecTek
Error Check/Correction: None

[Module Characteristics]
Row Address Bits: 16
Column Address Bits: 10
Module Density: 8192 Mb
Number Of Ranks: 1
Device Width: 8 bits
Bus Width: 64 bits
Die Count: 1
Module Nominal Voltage (VDD): 1.2 V
Minimum SDRAM Cycle Time (tCKAVGmin): 0.83300 ns
Maximum SDRAM Cycle Time (tCKAVGmax): 1.50000 ns
CAS# Latencies Supported: 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18
Minimum CAS# Latency Time (tAAmin): 13.320 ns
Minimum RAS# to CAS# Delay (tRCDmin): 13.320 ns
Minimum Row Precharge Time (tRPmin): 13.320 ns
Minimum Active to Precharge Time (tRASmin): 32.000 ns

Supported Module Timing at 1200.0 MHz: 16-16-16-39
Supported Module Timing at 1066.1 MHz: 15-15-15-35
Supported Module Timing at 1000.0 MHz: 14-14-14-32
Supported Module Timing at 933.3 MHz: 13-13-13-30
Supported Module Timing at 866.7 MHz: 12-12-12-28
Supported Module Timing at 800.0 MHz: 11-11-11-26

Minimum Active to Active/Refresh Time (tRCmin): 45.375 ns
Minimum Refresh Recovery Time Delay (tRFC1min): 350.000 ns
Minimum Refresh Recovery Time Delay (tRFC2min): 260.000 ns
Minimum Refresh Recovery Time Delay (tRFC4min): 160.000 ns
Minimum Four Activate Window Delay Time (tFAWmin): 21.000 ns
Minimum Active to Active Delay Time - Different Bank Group (tRRD_Smin): 3.299 ns
Minimum Active to Active Delay Time - Same Bank Group (tRRD_Lmin): 4.900 ns
Minimum CAS to CAS Delay Time - Same Bank Group (tCCD_Lmin): 5.000 ns

[Features]
Module Temperature Sensor (TSOD): Not Supported
Module Nominal Height: 31 - 32 mm
Module Maximum Thickness (Front): 1 - 2 mm
Module Maximum Thickness (Back): <= 1 mm
Address Mapping from Edge Connector to DRAM: Standard



[Cache and TLB]
L1 Cache: Instruction: 8 x 64 KBytes, Data: 8 x 32 KBytes
L2 Cache: Integrated: 8 x 512 KBytes
L3 Cache: 2 x 8 MBytes
Instruction TLB: Fully associative, 64 entries
Data TLB: Fully associative, 64 entries
 

eurgbp

n00b
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
51
how do I throttle down 2700x to match motherboard voltage output?
how to fix cpu at 3.7 Ghz max?
 

gigaxtreme1

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 1, 2002
Messages
3,528
B320 chipsets may not be able to handle the load as they are low end. Upping the voltage for CPU may help but VRMs may not be able to handle the load of 105watts. Try upping the voltage for RAM might help or upping the voltage to the CPU.
 

eurgbp

n00b
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
51
but A320M HDV R3 is officially supporting 105W,
would asrock lie?

CPU Support List
Socket Family Model Power Core Frequency Cache CPU Rev. Since BIOS
AM4 Ryzen 7 PRO 2700X(YD27BXBAM88AF) 95W Pinnacle Ridge 3.6GHz 4MB B2 All
AM4 Ryzen 7 2700X(YD270XBGM88AF) 105W Pinnacle Ridge 3.7GHz 4MB B2 All
AM4 Ryzen 7 2700E(YD270EBHM88AF) 45W Pinnacle Ridge 2.8GHz 4MB B2 All
AM4 Ryzen 7 PRO 2700(YD270BBBM88AF) 65W Pinnacle Ridge 3.2GHz 4MB B2 All
AM4 Ryzen 7 2700(YD2700BBM88AF) 65W Pinnacle Ridge 3.2GHz 4MB B2 All
AM4 Ryzen 7 PRO 1700X(YD17XBBAM88AE) 95W Summit Ridge 3.4GHz 4MB B1 All
AM4 Ryzen 7 1700X(YD170XBCM88AE) 95W Summit Ridge 3.4GHz 4MB B1 All
AM4 Ryzen 7 PRO 1700(YD170BBBM88AE) 65W Summit Ridge 3.0GHz 4MB B1 All
AM4 Ryzen 7 1800X(YD180XBCM88AE) 95W Summit Ridge 3.6GHz 4MB B1 All
AM4 Ryzen 7 1700(YD1700BBM88AE) 65W Summit Ridge 3.0GHz 4MB B1 All


https://www.asrock.com/MB/AMD/A320M-HDV R3.0/index.asp#CPU
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
19,620
so RAM's under voltage is causing this issue, you think?
ive seen it a few time. my old ddr3 corsair has been at 1.6v for 6+ years without an issue, at stock 1.5v it crashes. I think, just my theory, is that they are rated for intel platforms and amd seems to need a bit of extra juice. as ive only ever had the issue on amd systems.

you cpu should work fine on that board but the vrm could over heat if you're giving it an extended load as there are no heatsinks on the vrms.
 

eurgbp

n00b
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
51
is there a way to properly glue heatsinks with vrms together?
anybody done that?
what glue to use?
what heatsinks to buy?
aren't they gonna fall off eventually?
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
19,620
but try just putting a fan over them first. that could be enough and then you can do the sinks to help.
 

funkydmunky

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
2,492
but A320M HDV R3 is officially supporting 105W,
would asrock lie?
I wouldn't say they were lying, they just put it down based on specs and didn't test it because they assumed NO ONE IN THEIR RIGHT MIND WOULD RUN IT!
How did you end up with this combination if I may ask?
AMD's highest performing and power hungry CPU. Nvidia's 2nd fastest and power hungry mainstream card. AMD's lowest budget, made for OEM build garbage bottom mainboard with limited features and no OC'ing ability. Hmmmm?
I am sure the CPU and GPU are fine. Just TOO much for that board when it want to rev-up.
Go get a real board and call it a lesson learned.
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
22,010
the board supports 105w, it just can't handle XFR/PB2 which will exceed the 105w and is still officially considered an overclock by AMD so no asrock didn't lie per-say, they just designed it to support the bare minimum. either way i would not be putting a 2700x on a board like this.. these a320's were really meant for the 1400/1500 4c processors even though the vrm's could technically support higher loads.
 

eurgbp

n00b
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
51
in case I fail, which mobo to buy?

GIGABYTE B450M DS3H vs ASUS Prime B450-Plus
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
19,620
So I have mine like this based on what somebody told me but I was looking at some boards and none have the chokes with heatsink.... Should I just take them off? If so where else can I put them.

View attachment 144057
green- should get a heatsink
red- doesn't need them
blue- is the main vrm that GB already has a heatsink on
yellow- wheres your 4pin?

upload_2019-2-24_12-30-31.png
 
Last edited:

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
6,588
in case I fail, which mobo to buy?

GIGABYTE B450M DS3H vs ASUS Prime B450-Plus
stop trying to save money on discount motherboards for starters......my board is rock solid

try running your ram at a slower speed and or timings is the very first thing in stabilizing am4;)
 

elite.mafia

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 23, 2004
Messages
12,821
green- should get a heatsink
red- doesn't need them
blue- is the main vrm that GB already has a heatsink on
yellow- wheres your 4pin?

View attachment 144060
What do you mean where is my 4pin? it's literally right where you circled

also what about the blue heatsink between the 4 pin and the gigabyte heatsink? should that even be there? I put it there bercause it felt hot
 

eurgbp

n00b
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
51
stop trying to save money on discount motherboards for starters......my board is rock solid

try running your ram at a slower speed and or timings is the very first thing in stabilizing am4;)
cmon ram is running at 2400
and SOC cannot be changed in bios v1.7 a320m hdv3
could not find

i just disabled turbo
and c states

now it runs on max 3.6 ghz downclocked

rock solid
 

eurgbp

n00b
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
51
stop trying to save money on discount motherboards for starters......my board is rock solid

try running your ram at a slower speed and or timings is the very first thing in stabilizing am4;)
you are nuts

these mobos are good for stock

look at them sexy vrm heatsinks
make me horny and salivate


GIGABYTE B450M DS3H < ASUS Prime B450-Plus ?
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
19,620
in case I fail, which mobo to buy?

GIGABYTE B450M DS3H vs ASUS Prime B450-Plus
asus if you can find a deal on it. im normally partial to GB but that one doesn't have very good reviews.

would them 9 mm heatsinks fit between those chokes?

can't find 6 mm heat sink here in europe
not sure, like i said you'd need to measure. try ebay?
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
19,620
What do you mean where is my 4pin? it's literally right where you circled

also what about the blue heatsink between the 4 pin and the gigabyte heatsink? should that even be there? I put it there bercause it felt hot
just blind...
the blue is fine.
 

eurgbp

n00b
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
51
although i am not happy these vrms are covered by plastic case...
bad thermal conductivity ?
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
19,620
although i am not happy these vrms are covered by plastic case...
bad thermal conductivity ?
that's how they are all made. they dont always need it as they are usually good to 125c. that's why I mentioned just trying a fan over them...
but try just putting a fan over them first. that could be enough and then you can do the sinks to help.
 

funkydmunky

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 28, 2008
Messages
2,492
you are nuts

these mobos are good for stock

look at them sexy vrm heatsinks
make me horny and salivate


GIGABYTE B450M DS3H < ASUS Prime B450-Plus ?
Being where you are coming from, any brand, any model B350/450 or preferably X370/470.
I would be worried that your current MB could blow and possibly take some very expensive parts with it!
 

eurgbp

n00b
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
51
did I say top rated?
I need cheapest that is good enough for 2700x no hanky panky no overclocking shenanigans

also should be microatx
 
Top