Asrock 775 Dual VSTA Incompatible with Nvidia 8800 series

Joined
Jul 29, 2004
Messages
2,134

Motomouse

n00b
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
1
I have a question for the 4coredual-vsta owners:

Was anybody able to boot with an agp card (bios primary vga set to agp) in the agp slot and the gt8800 in the pci-e slot (In order to flash the GT 8800 bios)?

Thanks
Motomouse
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2004
Messages
2,134
Somewhere back in this thread I think someone tried it and it failed. The most likely config to work in that situation would probably be to set the video slot to PCI, but if I remember right, nothing worked for the guy. It would be slick if it worked, for sure.
 

stickboy

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 23, 2007
Messages
85
can't see how it would work since the 4coredual is unable to communicate with the 8800GT PCIe 2.0 card, thus unable to flash it.

I find it interesting that there are reports of the ATI PCIe 2.0 cards working in the PT880Pro/Ultra boards, though.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2004
Messages
2,134
can't see how it would work since the 4coredual is unable to communicate with the 8800GT PCIe 2.0 card, thus unable to flash it.

I find it interesting that there are reports of the ATI PCIe 2.0 cards working in the PT880Pro/Ultra boards, though.
Any linkage? I might just have to take a second look at the 3870...
 

stickboy

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 23, 2007
Messages
85
just received my 8800gts 640 SSC (112 SPs).

8362 in 3dmark06 on the 4coredual. Considering my ram and cpu speed, looks like the 4x PCIe is causing about a 15% slowdown.
 

stickboy

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 23, 2007
Messages
85
maybe ATI was smart and included some sort of low level detection to switch PCIE modes during post? It seems like it would be very easy to include something like this or include a jumper on the card so the user could manually do it. But i'm a code monkey, what the hell do i know?
 

A-L-E-X

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
156
What cpu do you have? Im running the Q6600 and 7950GT, getting scores around 5500, still trying to decide between the new 8800gts 640 and the 8800gt. I might even opt for the 3970, there were rumors that its coming out for agp in late december...dont know if thats still in the works?


just received my 8800gts 640 SSC (112 SPs).

8362 in 3dmark06 on the 4coredual. Considering my ram and cpu speed, looks like the 4x PCIe is causing about a 15% slowdown.
 

A-L-E-X

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
156
hmmmm since the 3970 pcie seems to work, I wonder if that is the best buy for this board right now?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102713

under comments:

IT WORKS IN THE ASRock 775Dual-VSTA!!!

Pros: Great performance at a good price. 2-slot cooler doesn't vent into case. Also, this card can be used as a double-precision GPGPU. Not that that's of much use right away... but it's one of those things about this card (together with 55nm, implementation of memory virtualization, and DX10.1), that are just worthy of being supported.

Cons: It's hot - much hotter than my previous AGP card. When I removed it, it almost burned my hand. I'm definitely glad that this thing is venting outside the case, not inside. Also, I had quite a bit of geometry (triangle) corruption in games during my brief 10-minute testing, but I think that's just my mediocre 300W FSP power supply - the 12V rail has only 11.3V or so. A bigger PS is on the way, hopefully that'll fix it. Until then, the card has to wait.

Other Thoughts: My greatest relief is that this card works in the ASRock 775Dual-VSTA board, which I also bought at NewEgg. There were some concerns that PCI-E 2.0 cards are not compatible. I can confirm it posted right away. Note that I still left my BIOS setting to primary video: AGP. Presumably the card is then still autodetected as PCI-E. Not sure if this makes a difference.


so how is it ati 2.0 cards work and nvidia dont? If ati cards do have a switching capacity, does that mean that future nvidia cards might as well?
 

stickboy

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 23, 2007
Messages
85
What cpu do you have? Im running the Q6600 and 7950GT, getting scores around 5500, still trying to decide between the new 8800gts 640 and the 8800gt. I might even opt for the 3970, there were rumors that its coming out for agp in late december...dont know if thats still in the works?
I'm actually getting 8930 in 3dmark06 with everything on default with newer drivers and with a modest overclock of the 8800gts 640 SSC (620/940). I think it can be overclocked even more but i had a freeze at 623/953 so i'm sticking with 620/940 to see if its 100% stable. In my opinion, with the crysis bundle, $30 rebate, and higher ram and bus, i think this is a better deal than a GT considering you can't get a GT right now.

I can play the Crysis demo at 1440x900 with everything on high and its pretty smooth. I can play at 1680x1050 with shaders and shadows on medium and its very smooth. I'm set for the next few years with this rig, now. Couldn't ask for more considering this is a pretty outdated mobo.

4coredual
266 FSB
e4400 @ 2.67
2gig Corsair Ballistix DDR2 533 3-3-3-12 1T (1:1)
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2007
Messages
1
God bless this thread!

Successfully flashed to the Asus Gen1 BIOS (on page 5 of this thread) on my new Asus 8800GT and it now works in my 4Core Dual VSTA! Like I expected when I got it, it would power up, but nothing would show on the screen at all.

Got 8417 in 3DMark06 - not yet tinkered with anything though. That's with an E6600 @ stock (still not braved the overclock on my precious baby) and 2GB RAM @ 667 MHz. Oh, and 169.0 forceware.

Cheers guys.
 

androo87

n00b
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
10
Just used the latest Nibitor to edit my original Inno3D bios to GEN1 and replaced the ASUS bios.

http://www.yourfilehost.com/media.php?cat=other&file=i3gen1.rom

The only difference seemed to be the bios version (62.92.12.00.05 vs ASUS's 62.92.12.00.00). Still *feels* better with correct brand of bios :)

I'l post if there is any benchmark difference.

Also - any Civ 4 fans? I seem to be getting artifacts and crashes after 1hr or so of Civ 4 play, but not noticed any problems in other games.
 

stickboy

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 23, 2007
Messages
85
Just used the latest Nibitor to edit my original Inno3D bios to GEN1 and replaced the ASUS bios.

http://www.yourfilehost.com/media.php?cat=other&file=i3gen1.rom

The only difference seemed to be the bios version (62.92.12.00.05 vs ASUS's 62.92.12.00.00). Still *feels* better with correct brand of bios :)

I'l post if there is any benchmark difference.

Also - any Civ 4 fans? I seem to be getting artifacts and crashes after 1hr or so of Civ 4 play, but not noticed any problems in other games.
I had massive artifacts in certain games until I disabled pci-e downstream pipeline in the BIOS.
 

stickboy

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 23, 2007
Messages
85
after a few days of the 8800gts 640 SSC in the 4coredual, all i can say is WOW. I didn't realize how much power these 8800s had. It absolutely destroys the x1950pro that was previously in the machine. I can run all games at 1680x1050 with lots of eye candy. Very friggin cool.
 

IceShadow

n00b
Joined
Sep 28, 2007
Messages
1
Will e-vga's 8800gt KO work with my power supply- Hiper power HPU-4M480. It says in the specification sheet that it has 18A on +12V 1 and 16A on +12V 2.
 

ArtCrazy

n00b
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
7
Wouldn't it be possible to boot it using the on-board graphics card and flash from there? I know people have tried it, but they tried with an AGP card and I didn't know if they went into the BIOS and set it as primary adapter... (it won't post if you set AGP as primary adapter without any inside)... The thing is, if it's not recognized, would you be able to flash it anyways? (if it could POST that is)

I ordered the GPU and it's coming next week, but found out shortly after that it needs to be flashed... I already asked a friend if we could do it on his computer... But it'd be better to do it on mine ;)
The thing is, I don't have any other computers that are PCIe capable inside my house... I only got a few laptops.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2004
Messages
2,134
Wouldn't it be possible to boot it using the on-board graphics card and flash from there? I know people have tried it, but they tried with an AGP card and I didn't know if they went into the BIOS and set it as primary adapter... (it won't post if you set AGP as primary adapter without any inside)... The thing is, if it's not recognized, would you be able to flash it anyways? (if it could POST that is)

I ordered the GPU and it's coming next week, but found out shortly after that it needs to be flashed... I already asked a friend if we could do it on his computer... But it'd be better to do it on mine ;)
The thing is, I don't have any other computers that are PCIe capable inside my house... I only got a few laptops.
There is no onboard graphics with the 775 or 4Core DualVsta.
 

ArtCrazy

n00b
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
7
There is no onboard graphics with the 775 or 4Core DualVsta.
Are you sure? I have one VGA connector that is part of the motherboard (I checked and it it's REALLY part of it) so I thought it had on-board graphics? (I have a 775)

Well, it's probably not it so... I guess I'll have to use my friend <_<
 

ArtCrazy

n00b
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
7
are you sure that's not the serial port? they look kinda similar.
Perhaps... Ah well, I didn't have my hopes up anyways of being able to get it to POST... Guess I'll have to use my friend's computer then

Thanks everyone, you've made me not have to resort to:
1. a more expensive GPU
2. a cheaper but less powerful GPU

I wish Asrock could've done a greater job, but yea... You get what you pay for ;)

Next thing I'm gonna buy is a new mobo... as I've already upgraded everything :). When? Like in the summer <_< (if not later)
 

stickboy

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 23, 2007
Messages
85
Don't discount the 8800gts 640 ssc... newegg now has it for 345. There is a $40 rebate (305 net) and a copy of quake wars. It's faster than the GT, has much better cooling, and has no issues with the PT8800Ultra/Pro boards. Comparing my crysis benchmarks to others with GTs, I'm getting as good or better results than PCI-e 16x boards with GTs and similiar processors at high resolutions (1680x1050). I wish I had a proper board to put this into.
 

ArtCrazy

n00b
Joined
Dec 3, 2007
Messages
7
Well, the 640MB Geforce GTS here costs about 60&#8364; (totaling ~290&#8364;) more and is worse... so yeah, I'll go with the 8800GT ;) (~230&#8364;)

And actually, the 8800GT has been beaten the GTS in almost all benchmarks I've seen... So it's not slower.
 

A-L-E-X

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
156
Would you get the 8800GTS over the 3970, even though the latter supports DX10.1? Also, how long is your 8800GTS and what kind of temps do you get under load? How many PCI ports under the PCIe slot does it block? Im considering getting it over the 8800GT, especially with the bundled Crysis package. My 3DMark06 scores are currently 5500 with the 7950GT AGP... I think based on your experience, I should gain about 3500 pts?

........
Don't discount the 8800gts 640 ssc... newegg now has it for 345. There is a $40 rebate (305 net) and a copy of quake wars. It's faster than the GT, has much better cooling, and has no issues with the PT8800Ultra/Pro boards. Comparing my crysis benchmarks to others with GTs, I'm getting as good or better results than PCI-e 16x boards with GTs and similiar processors at high resolutions (1680x1050). I wish I had a proper board to put this into.
 

stickboy

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 23, 2007
Messages
85
Would you get the 8800GTS over the 3970, even though the latter supports DX10.1? Also, how long is your 8800GTS and what kind of temps do you get under load? How many PCI ports under the PCIe slot does it block? Im considering getting it over the 8800GT, especially with the bundled Crysis package. My 3DMark06 scores are currently 5500 with the 7950GT AGP... I think based on your experience, I should gain about 3500 pts?

........
The 3870 is putting up some good numbers from what i've seen but the 8800GTS SSC would probably be faster in every benchmark except 3dmark06. The new ATI cards seemed pretty skewed on that benchmark. The overclocked SSC is about as fast as a stock GTX. Unfortunately it takes up two PCI slots underneath the PCI-E slot. I had to remove a pro audio card I was no longer using to make room. You might be able to squeeze in a card in the second slot but i didn't want to chance it. If you do, I recommend putting some rubber washers in between to make sure they don't ever touch. My case temp readings have definitely gone up. The card idles around 60-65 and goes up to 80 but i have the fan on automatic and it never spins up past 60%. It is dead silent. If I set the fan to manual and increase it to 70-80%, the temps are better but you can hear the fan. Remember, the GT does not exhaust the heat out the back like the G80 fans do so I would expect the GT to be even worse as far as case temps go.

If your quad core helps out with the CPU part of 3dmark06, then yea, I would expect you to get around 9000.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2004
Messages
519
http://www.legionhardware.com/document.php?id=703&p=0

judging by that review, looks like the high end 8800s trample all over the 3870.

You get what you pay for.
Yup and I don't regret buying the 8800GT KO at all. I'm getting awesome performance in all games except for Crysis and I was able to overclock it to 738MHz (core), 1782MHz (shader), and 2000MHz (GDDR3). Even if I was buying today, I would still choose the 8800GT KO over the new 8800GTS and the HD 3870.

-Optimummind
 

A-L-E-X

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
156
So my choice is either the 8800GT or GTS. Still not sure which one; I want the GTS because I dont have to flash it, I want the GT because it is cheaper and a single slot solution. I have an Audigy 2ZS in the next to bottom pci slot and a dual slot pci fan above that which I dont really want to part with (it blows out as much air as one of my tornado fans!) But maybe the exhaust fan on the GTS also blows out alot of air from the back-- hopefully someone with experience with that card can chime in.

And I guess I can hold off on DX10.1 until the next generation of nvidia gpus come out-- hopefully they'll work on this board like the ati's do!
 

stickboy

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 23, 2007
Messages
85
I actually had one of those dual slot PCI fans myself. It didn't really do that much good for me, honestly, and I removed it after a month. Heat rises to the top so putting an exhaust fan above the PCI slots made a much bigger difference.
 

A-L-E-X

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
156
Ah ok, I should be fine with removing the pci slot fan then, because my case has room for two 80mm fans above the slots and I have two of my tornadoes in there. I think Im going to go with the GTS like you have, based on the fact that it doesnt require flashing of the bios and it comes with Crysis/Quake Wars to boot!

Also cant forget that it has 320 bit memory with 640mb of ddr3.
 

stickboy

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 23, 2007
Messages
85
remember that one bundle comes with quake wars and the other comes with crysis, not both together. The crysis bundle is 20 bucks more, i believe. Quake wars is kinda lame, in my opinion, and runs like a dog for whatever reason.

If you get crysis then make sure and check out this thread on tweaked configs... http://incrysis.com/forums/viewtopic.php?id=14544. I am running the crysis demo at high settings at the same speed as the default medium settings. Had to turn vegetation movement back on, though, that is just too cool.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2004
Messages
2,134
I'd really be tempted by the GTS SSC for a lot of reasons, if not for the following: I need to keep the price as close to $200 as I can, and certainly below $300. And, since I had to go out and buy an 8600GT in a local retail store as an emergency same-day replacement for my AGP card, I am now locked into eVGA's step-up or that $180 layout (bleah!) is a total loss. As far as I can tell, purchases or step-ups from eVGA's online store do not offer the rebate that makes the SSC relatively price-competitive with the 8800 GT.

The 8600GT is better than my 6800GT, but not by enough to allow me to play all the newer games I've been waiting for at the quality levels I desire. So it's as if I get a little more candy on my old games, but I'm still waiting for the "big leap" that gets me into the new ones. And my wait list includes such "new" titles as F.E.A.R., NWN II, and Oblivion. Even Quake 4 is barely playable at 1280x1024 4XAA on the 8600GT. I suffered through a lag-fest at 1280x1024 and either 0XAA or 2XAA the first time I played through the game with the 6800GT, and it would be nice to do 1600X1200 with all settings maxed. I've never done Doom 3 or Quake 4 at Ultra quality either, since I've never had a 512MB+ card. Anyway, I'm rambling now!
 

A-L-E-X

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
156
Thanks...thats what Im going to do. BTW, do you have xp or vista? I dont like vista much at all, but Im thinking of running a dual boot config just to get the DX10 eyecandy of Crysis and future games.

BTW do you play Crysis at a mix of medium and high settings @ 1280 x 1024? From what youve said, it sounds like you have one or two things set to high and everything else to medium?


remember that one bundle comes with quake wars and the other comes with crysis, not both together. The crysis bundle is 20 bucks more, i believe. Quake wars is kinda lame, in my opinion, and runs like a dog for whatever reason.

If you get crysis then make sure and check out this thread on tweaked configs... http://incrysis.com/forums/viewtopic.php?id=14544. I am running the crysis demo at high settings at the same speed as the default medium settings. Had to turn vegetation movement back on, though, that is just too cool.
 

A-L-E-X

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
156
Hell, then that means the 8600GT isnt even as good as my 7950GT, I can play quake 4 at ultra, although I really cant tell the difference in image quality, outside of the fact that it lags just a bit during intense gameplay (though not normally.)

I'd really be tempted by the GTS SSC for a lot of reasons, if not for the following: I need to keep the price as close to $200 as I can, and certainly below $300. And, since I had to go out and buy an 8600GT in a local retail store as an emergency same-day replacement for my AGP card, I am now locked into eVGA's step-up or that $180 layout (bleah!) is a total loss. As far as I can tell, purchases or step-ups from eVGA's online store do not offer the rebate that makes the SSC relatively price-competitive with the 8800 GT.

The 8600GT is better than my 6800GT, but not by enough to allow me to play all the newer games I've been waiting for at the quality levels I desire. So it's as if I get a little more candy on my old games, but I'm still waiting for the "big leap" that gets me into the new ones. And my wait list includes such "new" titles as F.E.A.R., NWN II, and Oblivion. Even Quake 4 is barely playable at 1280x1024 4XAA on the 8600GT. I suffered through a lag-fest at 1280x1024 and either 0XAA or 2XAA the first time I played through the game with the 6800GT, and it would be nice to do 1600X1200 with all settings maxed. I've never done Doom 3 or Quake 4 at Ultra quality either, since I've never had a 512MB+ card. Anyway, I'm rambling now!
 
Top