Are your DESKTOP computers wired or wireless?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Gary King, Jun 7, 2005.

Are your DESKTOP computers wired or wireless?

  1. wired

    156 vote(s)
    90.2%
  2. wireless

    40 vote(s)
    23.1%
  1. mbrewthx

    mbrewthx [H]Lite

    Messages:
    68
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    2 wired
    1 wireless
     
  2. justapix

    justapix [H]Lite

    Messages:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    got 2 wired
    1 wireless

    wireless is nice when u dont want to spend the time & money to do a run to your router, or if u have a laptop there is no better way to go
     
  3. Komataguri

    Komataguri 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,355
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    They are all wired currently, because the XP Zero Config wireless sucks donkey nuts, and instead of spending 3 weeks trouble shooting I just wired it until I bother to trouble shoot it.
     
  4. ashmedai

    ashmedai [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,403
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Only thing that gets wireless is the mouse. It's a desktop, you gotta wire everything else anyway, so why the hell put up with wireless networking?

    Love my wireless mice though, never going back. :D
     
  5. Jebus

    Jebus 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,946
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Gigabit or bust!

    Intel Pro 1000 in all machines, with the file server running 66 MHz PCI.
     
  6. Crosshairs

    Crosshairs Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    23,980
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    4 sytems, all wired..... I wired my whole house a few months ago, I have a router connected to a 24 port switch in my attic..... I put drops in every room..
     
  7. Komataguri

    Komataguri 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,355
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004

    Even the bathroom? :D
     
  8. compslckr

    compslckr [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,882
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    haha, that is one of the best sig quotes i have seen in a while
     
  9. valve1138

    valve1138 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,318
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Wireless for my laptop only when I need it.

    Everything else:

    2 Servers
    Mac G4
    Mac Mini
    iMac
    A64 Gaming rig
    A64 Pro Tools rig
    3 HTPC clients
    Linksys G AP
    Laptop

    Will be on gigabit for most stuff again once I'm done troubleshooting the pesky HTPC server.



    You just can beat the robustness of a wired network IMO. Plus GigE makes me look cool. :D
     
  10. xXaNaXx

    xXaNaXx Gawd

    Messages:
    935
    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    <beavis voice> WIRED!!!! WIRED!!!!</beavis voice> :D
     
  11. xXaNaXx

    xXaNaXx Gawd

    Messages:
    935
    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    [​IMG] and i work in the wireless industry (which is really just reinforcing my resolve to use wired vs. wireless)..... :D
     
  12. xXaNaXx

    xXaNaXx Gawd

    Messages:
    935
    Joined:
    May 15, 2003

    heh, you'd be surprised how much better the Zero Config utility can be over some of the utilities included by some of the wireless card manufacturers out there......i have to deal with them all the time at work......
     
  13. DougLite

    DougLite [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,766
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    My SFF system in my bedroom is wireless. All of my workstations and servers in the basement are wired.

    Consumer SOHO Wireless APs have a nasty habit of failing under load when I host everything on them, so I have the wireless clients on a separate subnet off of my main server/router box. My old Dual PIII 550 and Netgear Enterprise 8 port Gigabit switch trucks right along though, regardless of the load :)
     
  14. xXaNaXx

    xXaNaXx Gawd

    Messages:
    935
    Joined:
    May 15, 2003

    are you still able to have the other computers on the seperate subnet communicate with the rest of your computers with file/printer sharing? if so, please check out This Thread for a problem i am trying to figure out
     
  15. Crosshairs

    Crosshairs Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    23,980
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004



    If the wife would have let me....Probaly afraid of web cams :)