are this 10 gig nic and sfp+ cable will work as direct attach (PC to NAS)

oldy

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
79
as explained on the title

can i use these (two of 10 gig nics and sfp+ cable) in direct attach config
(i dont know if they have the feature or not since i read not all sfp+ cables and nic's have direct attach)

i will buy two of these for my PC and NAS :

RT8N1 0RT8N1 DELL MELLANOX CONNECTX-2 PCIe 10GBe ETHERNET NIC SERVER ADAPTER

and one cable :

5M SFP+ 10GB 10GBe 16ft Twinax Ethernet cable Molex Hitachi Dell HP Cisco IBM

i have synology nas ds3615xs and PC wich i need very fast connection between them with as minimum cost as possible

the specific card i listed here is not tested by synology for compatibility but synology nic or other on that list cost much more ($190 and up)
the tested list :
Compatibility | Synology Inc.

do you think this will work ?

i only ask about the native hardware support from the nic and cable in the links for direct attach



since i read a while ago (cant remember where) that not all sfp+ nic's and cables support direct attach and you need to make sure the one you chose support it

i am new to sfp world and need your help :)
thanks
 

rma

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
200
Depending on the driver base in the linux kernel inside the NAS, this may work, try starting out just ordering 1 card and see if it card works, or order the 2 cards, the price is as low as i can be, skip buying the SFP+ cable before you get it up running on the NAS.
 

oldy

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
79
Depending on the driver base in the linux kernel inside the NAS, this may work, try starting out just ordering 1 card and see if it card works, or order the 2 cards, the price is as low as i can be, skip buying the SFP+ cable before you get it up running on the NAS.

i am only asking about the native hardware support from the nic and cable in the links for direct attach

not the software support "that part i will gamble with since it hard to find someone how tried this exact card with synology software"
 

Phantum

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 25, 2001
Messages
1,716
Assuming the OS's support this card; yes. I have one of these in my Win10 machine and it's direct-attach'd to an Intel x520-DA2 in my FreeNAS box using 3meter cable. Speeds topped out around 9.28Gbps so that was great.

FYI it's not that not all cards don't support direct-attach, cuz they do, it's that the cable to attach them may be sub-par. More specifically it's the SFP+ module on the end. Some have/present a particular piece of information to the card and others do not. Some card manufacturers have built-in (or not) a requirement for reading this information and then either working or not. Which is why you'll read in various places about certain cards being 'picky' about which modules/cables you can use/they'll work with. You'll often find cases (such as mine) where the card manufacturer (Intel) says only use Intel modules or works with the following... Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. I got lucky I guess or spent waaay too much time researching and bought stuff I knew for a fact would work.
 
Last edited:

rma

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 16, 2015
Messages
200
i am only asking about the native hardware support from the nic and cable in the links for direct attach

not the software support "that part i will gamble with since it hard to find someone how tried this exact card with synology software"

The Card wont fit unless you have a low profile bracket to mount on it, from what i can see, maybe this is possible to change?
 

oldy

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
79
The Card wont fit unless you have a low profile bracket to mount on it, from what i can see, maybe this is possible to change?

i will remove or Modify the bracket since the card itself is lwo profile

Assuming the OS's support this card; yes. I have one of these in my Win10 machine and it's direct-attach'd to an Intel x520-DA2 in my FreeNAS box using 3meter cable. Speeds topped out around 9.28Gbps so that was great.

FYI it's not that not all cards don't support direct-attach, cuz they do, it's that the cable to attach them may be sub-par. More specifically it's the SFP+ module on the end. Some have/present a particular piece of information to the card and others do not. Some card manufacturers have built-in (or not) a requirement for reading this information and then either working or not. Which is why you'll read in various places about certain cards being 'picky' about which modules/cables you can use/they'll work with. You'll often find cases (such as mine) where the card manufacturer (Intel) says only use Intel modules or works with the following... Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. I got lucky I guess or spent waaay too much time researching and bought stuff I knew for a fact would work.

ok do you have any suggestions for me regarding the cable and nic choice ?
 

Phantum

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 25, 2001
Messages
1,716
i will remove or Modify the bracket since the card itself is lwo profile



ok do you have any suggestions for me regarding the cable and nic choice ?

Well I'm sorta an Intel snob/fan-boy especially when it comes to server hardware but I did buy a mellanox card to go in a workstation. When I get home tonight I can let ya know which card(s) and cables I got exactly.
 

oldy

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
79
Well I'm sorta an Intel snob/fan-boy especially when it comes to server hardware but I did buy a mellanox card to go in a workstation. When I get home tonight I can let ya know which card(s) and cables I got exactly.
will wait
thanks
 

Phantum

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 25, 2001
Messages
1,716
will wait
thanks

Cards:
3x Intel X520-DA2
1x Mellanox MNPA19-XTR

Cables:
2x 10Gtek SFP-H10GB-CU1M
1x Hummingbird Networks SFP-H10GB-CU1M
1x Cisco SFP-H10GB-CU3M (it came with the Mellanox)

I saw a link to a sweet eBay deal on STH and decided for $20 I'd go for it. And since it was going into a workstation and not a server I figured that not getting an Intel card was fine. All of the above cables worked with all the cards so that was nice and all the cards were plug and play so I did some air guitar. This was all to complete phase1 of my 'Move to 10G in 2016' project. Phase2 is getting a switch but frankly unless the prices come down by $50~$200 (or it's a gift, sweet eBay find, etc) I don't think it will happen in 2016.

Here's the STH article I referred to above: Time to go 10Gb Ethernet - Awesome deal on 10Gb NIC and 3m DAC
 

oldy

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
79
Cards:
3x Intel X520-DA2
1x Mellanox MNPA19-XTR

Cables:
2x 10Gtek SFP-H10GB-CU1M
1x Hummingbird Networks SFP-H10GB-CU1M
1x Cisco SFP-H10GB-CU3M (it came with the Mellanox)

I saw a link to a sweet eBay deal on STH and decided for $20 I'd go for it. And since it was going into a workstation and not a server I figured that not getting an Intel card was fine. All of the above cables worked with all the cards so that was nice and all the cards were plug and play so I did some air guitar. This was all to complete phase1 of my 'Move to 10G in 2016' project. Phase2 is getting a switch but frankly unless the prices come down by $50~$200 (or it's a gift, sweet eBay find, etc) I don't think it will happen in 2016.

Here's the STH article I referred to above: Time to go 10Gb Ethernet - Awesome deal on 10Gb NIC and 3m DAC

that helps me alot
thanks

i bought RT8N1 0RT8N1 DELL MELLANOX in pics it looks very similar to your Mellanox MNPA19-XTR

did any of these nic's you have worked on free nas "plag and play" or did you need to do some work ?
 

Phantum

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 25, 2001
Messages
1,716
that helps me alot
thanks

i bought RT8N1 0RT8N1 DELL MELLANOX in pics it looks very similar to your Mellanox MNPA19-XTR

did any of these nic's you have worked on free nas "plag and play" or did you need to do some work ?

I only tried the Intels with FreeNAS and ESXi, but yes they were plug n' play. Same with the Mellanox on my Windows 10 box. Once the hardware install and boot sequence were completed the card(s) were immediately recognized and usable. The cables I got were extensively researched prior to purchase so once I plugged them in and configured the network, BAAM, 10gig connection.
 
Last edited:

oldy

Weaksauce
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
79
i just bought Cisco SFP-H10GB-CU3M cable and been told by the seller it will work with RT8N1 0RT8N1 nic

now i only worry about the compatibility between the nic and synology software

i just hope i dont have to buy $100+ card from synology compatibility list
 

Phantum

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 25, 2001
Messages
1,716
i just bought Cisco SFP-H10GB-CU3M cable and been told by the seller it will work with RT8N1 0RT8N1 nic

now i only worry about the compatibility between the nic and synology software

i just hope i dont have to buy $100+ card from synology compatibility list

Based on the info I could find, albeit quickly and not extensive, the Mellanox ConnectX2's do indeed work with Synology. The only catch22 I saw was that you must be running DSM 5.1 or later. The only reservations I'd have are 1) the card you specified is a rebrand and sometimes, for whatever reason, that causes compatibility issues and 2) there are a few different flavors of the ConnectX2 series so try really hard to make sure the one you get is SFP+ and not RJ45. Apparently from the get-go the ConnectX2 series isn't particularly known for its compatibility and this is further compounded by, what appears to be, varying levels of support and compatibility based on port type (where the SFP+ flavor is on top, then RJ45 followed by infiniband). At least I think that's how it goes... Which is why I've typically forked out more $ to get Intel's (2x I got new and 1x I got used) but your mileage may vary. I'd recommend name brand, used from a reputable seller over a rebrand, new for a cheaper price any day (but I think I've also been pretty lucky in that regard).
 
Top