Are there any NUC style PCs with dual NICs?

Discussion in 'Small Form Factor Systems' started by hellosky, Jan 18, 2015.

  1. hellosky

    hellosky [H]Lite

    Messages:
    111
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    I've been looking around everywhere and can't find what I'm looking for.

    Ideally it would be a small compact PC like Intel NUCs with a built in mobile CPU (i3/i5) and at least 2 Intel NICs.

    The few that I found have Realtek which I'd rather not use for pfSense.

    Is there anything else out there? Wish Intel would make a NUC with 2 NICs on there... :(

    I've been reading about people building their own systems with the Rangeley Atoms but I think that's out of my price range.
     
  2. trick0502

    trick0502 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,906
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
  3. Siba

    Siba Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    341
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    I've been looking for something like this in the sub $300 range hopefully, as I would like to do the same.

    I think a nuc with an added intel gbit adapter (via mpcie or some such) and maybe a machined case could be an option also.

    In my research I ran across a few thin client and embedded solution boards, check this out:
    http://www.axiomtek.com/Default.aspx?MenuId=Products&FunctionId=ProductView&ItemId=6396

    Do you think the fitlet has enough compute power to hit gigabit transfer speeds, especially for vpn/encrypted traffic? I like that the 6400T processor on the fitlet should support aes encryption pretty well, but does that work with PFSense?
     
  4. deruberhanyok

    deruberhanyok [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,079
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
  5. backfeed

    backfeed Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    473
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    But unfortunately only one of the NICs on that board is Intel, the other is RealTek.

    Fitlet looks highly interesting, but I suspect a painfully high price?

    What I did myself was to build a low-budget mini-itx machine based on an Intel D2500CC board, which has two Intel NICs. I needed two more NICs, so I also got Intel's expansion card which connects to mPCIe. Put it in a horribly ugly case, but firewall/router machines don't have to be pretty now, do they? :D
     
  6. iFreilicht

    iFreilicht [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    An expansion card that gives you two NICs an fits in a mPCIe slot? That's interesting, do you still have a link or the product name by any chance?
     
  7. Siba

    Siba Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    341
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    This may be the one:

    http://www.logicsupply.com/components/expansion-cards/admpeidla/

    The fit-PC2 goes for slightly above $300usd on Amazon, and the fit-barebones is supposed to be 1/2 the cost. Not sure what that means for the rest of the fitlet lineup, but most PFSense setups would require at least fitlet-i (dual nic) or fitlet-x (4 nics). Might hit the market in Feb this year, if you trust their press releases
     
  8. iFreilicht

    iFreilicht [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Ah, good find! Most boards have half sized mPCIe these days, though. But I don't think you could even fit all the required circuitry on that.
     
  9. Siba

    Siba Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    341
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    The axiomtek board I listed earlier supports it:

    1 x Full-Size PCI Express Mini Card w/mSATA supported

    That's in a 3.5" form factor too, which is more ideal for a router. I think mITX is at the limit of what I would consider acceptable for a router, but to each his own.

    Sent off an email via their website to try and find out the cost...

    The fitlet would be a great solution too if a suitable SKU for < ~$300 was available
     
  10. Moogoos

    Moogoos Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    334
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    I replaced my shuttle pfsense box with this one:

    $360 shipped

    http://www.lannerinc.com/products/x86-network-appliances/desktop/fw-7525

    Awesome, small, quiet, fast, capable. I first used a CF card but that failed after about 6 months so I highly recommend getting their 2.5 adapter and putting a small SSD or HDD in there. Works awesome headless. I'll be happy to help you get it going if needed.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Atom C2358 CPU built-in Intel QuickAssist Crypto acceleration
    Fanless design
    Optional rack mounting kit support
    Screw-locked power plug
    Intel AES-NI new instructions, improves security without slowing response times
    Support up to 8 GB DDR3 Memory
    Intel i210AT LAN controller
    Support Gen.2 LAN Bypass function
     
    gigatexal likes this.
  11. lhl

    lhl n00bie

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    I'd check out the Jetway JBC320U93:
    http://www.jetwaycomputer.com/JBC320U93.html

    CPU is a bit weaker, although probably good enough for Gb routing (Bay Trail N2930 4Q 1.83GHz 7.5W) and has 2 x Intel 82583V Gigabit Ethernet. Very reasonably priced (~$200), and passively cooled.
     
  12. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    15,675
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
  13. hellosky

    hellosky [H]Lite

    Messages:
    111
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    The Lanner appliances look good but where do you buy these things?
     
  14. Siba

    Siba Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    341
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    That Jetway JBC320U93 looks perfect! But where can you order it?
     
  15. Moogoos

    Moogoos Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    334
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
  16. Siba

    Siba Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    341
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    The Atom 2930 doesn't have AES-NI, which is useful for encrypted traffic. Is there a similar Jetway model that has an E3845 instead?

    Screw it, I'm building a full server with an i5 4590s to just avoid all the little nitpicks, heh.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2015
  17. backfeed

    backfeed Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    473
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Yup, it's that one. I forgot that it's Jetway and not Intel, but what really matters is the Intel chipset it uses. :)
     
  18. Siba

    Siba Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    341
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    I'm just going with this setup:

    Antec isk110 w/ 90w psu (this is driving most of the other decisions)
    Asrock E3C224D2i
    Intel i5 4590s

    I can't seem to find ANY 'L' series processors for sale that aren't ridiculous markup from the tray price, so the only options are processors with 65w tdp or less. That rules out the E3 V3 series, and puts me in the market for either L, T, or S processors with AES-NI and VT-d

    Hopefully the asrock mobo will boot with my generic PNY non-ecc ram, and hopefully ESXi takes all the hardware together; I've already prepared a USB stick with an injected image for the Intel i210 nics on the asrock. Will post back with some results after this weekend
     
  19. Moogoos

    Moogoos Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    334
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    I don't understand why you would spend the money and space on that setup when the lanner looks to have what you need for a pfsense box and is much much smaller.

    I own 4 of those asrock boards 2 with onboard atom CPU and 2 socket 1150s and they all worked well.

    EDIT. Sorry didn't realize you wanted to run ESX.
     
  20. Siba

    Siba Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    341
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    It's not just for PFsense, though initially that will be the primary use. The physical space isn't really increased by much more, and I'll be able to use it for other VMs without as much hassle. The flexibility is what really got me, I'll basically be able to use it as a start to a homelab for any little project, while the appliances listed here would be pretty limited at anything other than a PFsense gateway

    I find it attractive to have the all in one box with an idle power draw not much more than a basic router and also allows for much more in terms of future expansion. Also, the cost of those appliances seemed pretty high for what they were, and if I'm reusing basic desktop parts, I'm only really out the mobo/cpu/case cost

    tldr my scope expanded to a VM host as well
     
  21. lhl

    lhl n00bie

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    I thought Newegg carries them, but they have the dual HDMI version, not the dual NIC version. Just drop Jetway a line and I bet you can just buy one directly from them.
     
  22. Juggleboy720

    Juggleboy720 n00bie

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Logic Supply was already mentioned, but they've just announced a new system with a dual NIC option - Introducing the Next Generation Industrial NUC: The ML100

    [​IMG]

    EDIT 5/1: Anandtech did a review of the i5, vPro version - Anandtech Reviews the Logic Supply ML100G-30
    EDIT 6/15: A review of the dual NIC system from Silent PC Review - Silent PC Review of Our Dual NIC NUC, the ML100G-10
    EDIT 10/5: Recently published video with details about both systems - VIDEO: The ML100 Series – Intel’s NUC, Evolved
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2016
  23. XcPNehVYlE4A3C

    XcPNehVYlE4A3C Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    197
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    i looked at some of those jetways, i'd be cautious as theres lots of reviews online of the cooling being inadequate causing overheating.