Are my network transfer speeds too low?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Archer75, Aug 2, 2007.

  1. Archer75

    Archer75 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,432
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    I have been transferring large files from one computer to another. Windows reports a speed of apprx. 13mb/s. Is that slow for gigabit networking?
    I have a gigabit router, switch, ports on both computers and CAT6 cable connecting it all.
     
  2. Verge

    Verge [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,093
    Joined:
    May 27, 2001
    13 megabytes/sec is over 100mbit speed... however, quite slow...


    u using vista on one of those computers ?
     
  3. RoBo

    RoBo 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,533
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    What are the specs of the computers?
     
  4. Archer75

    Archer75 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,432
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Specs are in my sig for the computer i'm transferring from. It's running Vista 64bit.

    The computer i'm transferring to is:

    C2D e4400
    2x1gb PC6400 mushkin
    Geforce 8500GT
    Foxconn Micro ATX board(don't recall model off the top of my head, but it has onboard gigabit)
    It's running Vista 32bit.

    I did run another bandwidth monitor that tells me i'm getting 130mbps. Vista is now showing a transfer speed of 16MB/s. I think this is fast enough for streaming HD content. I'm told HD needs about 20mbps.
     
  5. Farva

    Farva [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    35,326
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    16MB * 8bits = 128 Mb

    Your transfer speeds are fine.
     
  6. Madwand

    Madwand Gawd

    Messages:
    755
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    The speeds are very slow for these sorts of setups. However if they're fast enough for your purposes, it's probably best to just forget about it. Vista patches in the future should address some of the performance issues automatically, and drivers will mature further.
     
  7. Archer75

    Archer75 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,432
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
  8. smizack

    smizack [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,222
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Agreed. Unless you're on a 10/100/1000 connection. BTW, that's where your cat6 is going to shine.
     
  9. Madwand

    Madwand Gawd

    Messages:
    755
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Grats. I could have told you the command, but not guaranteed the performance improvement. With Vista to Vista, you could be seeing close to drive speed performance (capped by your raw networking speed) -- with the big qualification that all parts need to be working properly, which, with Vista being relatively new, frequently isn't the case. Thus the need for the manual command and OS patches, etc.
     
  10. Verge

    Verge [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,093
    Joined:
    May 27, 2001
    vista patch for file transfers comes out next tuesday i believe