Apparantly you CAN attach to Server 2012 Essentials without Domain

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by TechLarry, Oct 8, 2012.

  1. TechLarry

    TechLarry Can't find the G Spot

    Messages:
    29,670
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    I don't know if this is buried here on HOCP or not, but here it is just in case.

    There is an article on SuperSite that explains how to add a computer to a Server 2012 Essentials machine (i.e. install the connector software) without it taking over the workstation and adding it to the domain.

    Article...

    Hopefully MS won't put some sort of bullshit block in for this in the final RTM.
     
  2. CrimsonKnight13

    CrimsonKnight13 Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress

    Messages:
    7,037
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Nice to know. Might allow more people to use it w/o worrying about domain administration.
     
  3. TechLarry

    TechLarry Can't find the G Spot

    Messages:
    29,670
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Speaking of which, when IS the RTM being released? It's past due isn't it?
     
  4. CrimsonKnight13

    CrimsonKnight13 Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress

    Messages:
    7,037
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    It's the only server version that hasn't gone RTM yet, I think.