Apartment Building has CAT5 ports, can I use them?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by livejamie, May 11, 2016.

  1. livejamie

    livejamie n00b

    Messages:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Cable going into cable modem, going into a router. Internet works off of the router and on wireless.

    [​IMG]

    I tried plugging a network cable from my router into one of the ports (tried both) and trying to use it in a different room but it doesn't seem to work.

    Anybody with experience know if there's something I need to do to get it to work?

    I'm going to ask the maintenance guys here but I figured it would be worth asking on the internet as well.
     
  2. Quix

    Quix 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,707
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    They probably run to a cabling closet somewhere, likely inside an actual closet in your unit. You just need to find out where and then hook up a switch. My condo is wired up with Cat 6, very convenient.
     
  3. livejamie

    livejamie n00b

    Messages:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Yeah it looks like this inside: https://goo.gl/photos/zBkpSeMxgxUaYQV86
     
  4. CamaroZ28

    CamaroZ28 Gawd

    Messages:
    740
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    From the looks of the cabling panel, each wall box has 2 cat5e cables going to it. One cable terminates to the board on the left with the ethernet ports, and the other being tied into the right side board with punch downs which are probably all paralleled together for use as a regular phone line. You can try to plug your router into one of the two ports on the wall and test with your computer on those ethernet ports in the cabinet to identify which ones go where. eventually, you will need to hook up a switch to all those ports to make them all active on a network.
     
  5. silent-circuit

    silent-circuit [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    16,133
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    First thing I would do if I was you, after seeing that closet, is get rid of that huge splitter (unless you're actually using multiple coax jacks on the walls) and replace it with a coupler that just goes straight to the jack you're using for the modem.
     
  6. goodcooper

    goodcooper [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,771
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    instead of that, i'd just put the modem there in that closet.... put your networking gear in there too and just plug in the network ports
     
    rma likes this.
  7. silent-circuit

    silent-circuit [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    16,133
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    That does make more sense.