Apache Spark and Scala Project question

JC724

Weaksauce
I am working on my first Apache Spark/Scala project for my class. Just looking for some guidance. I have never done this before.

I am working on the ST WITHIN. I am just trying to get a clear idea on what it is supposed to do and how I should attack this. And maybe some good youtube videos or websites where I can quickly learn how to code in scala.

A major peer-to-peer taxi cab firm has hired your team to develop and run multiple spatial queries on their large database that contains geographic data as well as real-time location data of their customers. A spatial query is a special type of query supported by geodatabases and spatial databases. The queries differ from traditional SQL queries in that they allow for the use of points, lines, and polygons. The spatial queries also consider the relationship between these geometries. Since the database is large and mostly unstructured, your client wants you to use a popular Big Data software application, SparkSQL. The goal of the project is to extract data from this database that will be used by your client for operational (day-to-day) and strategic level (long term) decisions.

The project has two phases. In each phase, you will be given data and a template code written in SparkSQL. In the first phase, you will write two user defined functions ‘ST_Contains’ and ‘ST_Within’ in SparkSQL and use them to run the following four spatial queries. Here, a rectangle R represents a geographical boundary in a town or city, and a set of points P represents customers who request taxi cab service using your client firm’s app.

1. Range query: Given a query rectangle R and a set of points P, find all the points within R. You need to use the ‘ST_Contains’ function in this query.

2. Range join query: Given a set of rectangles R and a set of points P, find all (point, rectangle) pairs such that the point is within the rectangle.