Aorus FI32U - @ $950(USD} -- For Sale Now

Drags

Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2005
Messages
979
Does HDMI use DSC as well?
Yes according to the TFT Central review that’s used over HDMI 2.1 which creates a colour limitation for PS5 but shouldn’t be a problem for Pc or Xbox gaming
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,317
Does HDMI use DSC as well?
Yes, I believe so, and HDMI might be limited to 4K120 as well.

Honestly, DSC is supposed to be lossless and undetectable, so I'm not even 100% sure that is the problem.

I have a new HDMI cable, I can try later today and see if that helps at all. My guess is that it won't, DisplayPort should work fine at 4K144.
 

PukasJG

n00b
Joined
Sep 6, 2021
Messages
4
So if I could get some FI32U owners to test something out for me, it would be a big help:

I noticed some awful red flickering on a grey texture in a game I was playing, you can see it happening in these:

Video: https://photos.google.com/share/AF1...?key=UTZ6X244cjJUNldhZWt0VXZRcU9nZ2dIZWNPd3ZR
Image 1: Image 2:
I have determined that this only occurs when I am using 144hz, it doesnt happen at 120hz. I have tested this with the DP and HDMI cables supplied with the screen and it occurs at 144hz using either. It occurs on all overdrive settings (including off). It occurs at both 8 bit and 10bit (RGB and YCbCr444). It occurs at limited and full RGB range. It occurs when HDR is enabled and disabled.

I don't need to be in the game to see this effect, if i just observe this screenshot @ 100% maximized in chrome, irfan or windows photo viewer with the screen set to 144hz the same issue occurs when i scroll up and down (i direct linked the download on dropbox because the issue doesnt occur in the google drive photoviewer):
https://www.dropbox.com/s/j0hzzh4tou5cbt7/tm-screenshot.png?dl=1

If any FI32U owners could download this screenshot png, open it in your photo viewer app, maximise the window it is in, set it to 100% scaling and scroll/pan up and down the image and see if they get the same red splotches appearing when the screen is set to 144hz, I would greatly appreciate it before I contact the store I bought this screen from

I ask that you maximize the window because these splotches don't seem to occur even at 144hz unless at least 95%+ of the monitor is displaying the image.

Does anyone have any theories on what could be causing this if I don't have a faulty screen?
I am having same issues while playing Witcher 3 and Escape from Tarkov. Also noticed some glitches while watching YouTube and browsing Amazon. Only solution is to drop refresh rate to 120Hz.

I am using 3080Ti from Gigabyte, while using hdmi cable I can select 4k 144hz 12bit is 12bit even a thing?

Contacted Gigabytes support, regarding the issue. IMG_20210904_205019.jpgIMG_20210904_194345.jpg
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,317
Just tried a high quality 8K HDMI cable and the problem is still there. Must be some sort of firmware problem, they will have to release a patch (hopefully it's fixable).
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,317
I put in a ticket with Gigabyte. Hoping they get enough people to report it that they will do something.
 

pootify

n00b
Joined
Aug 11, 2021
Messages
11
https://store.acer.com/en-us/predat...RmjIai9XBk9w6CWTjZZjwebe2EFkvmhYaArrIEALw_wcB

Looks like Acer is selling Predator XB3 from their online store. Do these basically have identical specs as the Fi32U (including panel?)

I bought the Acer XV322QK from Best Buy to get a better return policy: https://www.bestbuy.com/site/acer-n...31-5-uhd-monitor-hdmi/6473374.p?skuId=6473374
It's effectively the same monitor as the XB3 but $100 cheaper, simpler stand and no RGB lighting. The XB323QK (your linked monitor), XV322QK, and FI32U are all the same panel, according to this link: https://www.displayninja.com/new-monitors/
 
Last edited:

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,317
Does the Acer have BFI mode? Cause the Aim Stabilizer Sync on the Aorus is a killer feature. It almost looks like a CRT quality.
 

DanNeely

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 26, 2005
Messages
4,087
I bought the Acer XV322QK from Best Buy to get a better return policy: https://www.bestbuy.com/site/acer-n...31-5-uhd-monitor-hdmi/6473374.p?skuId=6473374
It's effectively the same monitor as the XB3 but $100 cheaper, simpler stand and no RGB lighting. The XB323QK (your linked monitor), XV322QK, and FI32U are all the same panel, according to this link: https://www.displayninja.com/new-monitors/

same base panel at least. Some of them could be using better bins though (which would show in lower variation in backlight brightness/etc). OTOH +$100 for a rotating stand and RGB doesn't seem an unreasonable premium so they might be an equivalent panel bin.
 

pootify

n00b
Joined
Aug 11, 2021
Messages
11
Does the Acer have BFI mode? Cause the Aim Stabilizer Sync on the Aorus is a killer feature. It almost looks like a CRT quality.
Just hooked up my XV322QK, it does have a toggle called "Visual Response Boost" which appears to be Acer's name for BFI.
 

kasakka

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
2,415
Yes, I believe so, and HDMI might be limited to 4K120 as well.

Honestly, DSC is supposed to be lossless and undetectable, so I'm not even 100% sure that is the problem.

I have a new HDMI cable, I can try later today and see if that helps at all. My guess is that it won't, DisplayPort should work fine at 4K144.
DSC only becomes a problem with a HDMI 2.1 device that does not support it. Which is hopefully none.

I can run my LG OLED with the Club3D DP to HDMI 2.1 adapter using Displayport's DSC vs HDMI 2.0 without DSC and I cannot tell a difference in picture quality. So I consider using DSC a non-issue.

Aorus FI32U seems like a pretty solid display based on TFT Central's review. If they improved the overdrive behavior a bit with firmware updates it would be good. Looking forward to 2nd or 3rd gen versions of this.
 

MistaSparkul

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
1,851
DSC only becomes a problem with a HDMI 2.1 device that does not support it. Which is hopefully none.

I can run my LG OLED with the Club3D DP to HDMI 2.1 adapter using Displayport's DSC vs HDMI 2.0 without DSC and I cannot tell a difference in picture quality. So I consider using DSC a non-issue.

Aorus FI32U seems like a pretty solid display based on TFT Central's review. If they improved the overdrive behavior a bit with firmware updates it would be good. Looking forward to 2nd or 3rd gen versions of this.

Perhaps they'll take feedback on the overdrive and make changes on the M32U? Probably not but hey one can dream.
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,317
So HDMI 2.1 was not limited. I was able to select 4K144 no problem, even with 12-bit color (whatever that does). But the glitch did not go away.
 

Scottyl48

n00b
Joined
Oct 14, 2019
Messages
8
I have a lg 34gp83a-b right now. I'd like to move to 4k. Would this be a good move PIC wise? Or is this panel color is crap?
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,317
The colors are pretty good. Can be very bright, and HDR is alright, plus the BFI mode for clear movement (but at the expense of brightness). If you want 4K I don't think there is a better monitor right now (at least not for under $1000).

I still use the LG 34" on my main machine, and I do enjoy ultrawide, but I was surprised how nice 32" 4K looked. Especially for 16:9 content, it is much bigger (16:9 on an UW is equivalent to 27"). So, yeah, it would probably be worthwhile.
 

PukasJG

n00b
Joined
Sep 6, 2021
Messages
4
Well my monitor just got picked up by DPD and is on its way back to the seller. Gigabyte didn't bother to reply to my support request in 5 days, if they finally do I will post an update here. Went back to my trusty 38" 3840x1600 ultrawide.
 
Last edited:

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,317
Yeah, it's been 3 days for me and Gigabyte hasn't responded.

Luckily, with the games I play, I haven't seen this issue happen. So it's okay for now.
 

Scottyl48

n00b
Joined
Oct 14, 2019
Messages
8
Yeah, it's been 3 days for me and Gigabyte hasn't responded.

Luckily, with the games I play, I haven't seen this issue happen. So it's okay for now.
How in your opinion is the color/pic quality? I have an LG 34950 Ultrawide. I just want a 4k but I dont want to jump down in color/pic..
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,317
It's an IPS, and I would say the colors look better than the LG. Especially since HDR seems a little better, the colors are really vibrant and the picture is sharp.
 

xDiVolatilX

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
327
Hello to all the owners of the FI32U. I am a prospective buyer for this monitor.

I just returned my FV43U only because the PPI Isn't as good when running it in 1440p resolution at 43" because my Seahawk 2080Ti EK-X can't run high enough frames in 4k so I run 1440p on demanding games until I can upgrade to a 3080Ti if/when availability/prices stabilize, if not I'm willing to wait for the 4000 series etc hanging on to my 2080Ti as long as I can because dropping down to 1440p on a 4k monitor that is smaller like 32" with higher PPI than a 43" is more reasonable also clearer & crisper.

Which brings me to this FI32U at 32" which can run 4k or 1440p I presume as my 2080Ti is still fantastic for 1440p. I read all 10 pages of this thread. Aside from a few minor complaints I was not able to find any deal breakers. Anything I should know before giving this monitor a shot? I'm still on the fence but considering this monitor can run 1440p just as well as it can 4k correct I have nothing to lose only potential to gain if I can run a game in 4k great if not just drop it down to 1440p with still high PPi. I still have my 32" Predator 1440p as my daily driver but It's 165hz has anyone tried to overclock the FI32U at all? I wonder if it can push 150hz or 155hz? I'm pretty sure we can squeeze a few more hz out of it right? Gotta get closer to 165 lol
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,317
Yes, this monitor supports 1440p fine. However, the image is softer, so will look worse than a 1440p native monitor. But I'd say it would still be acceptable, if not ideal.

In any case, I'm running this on an RTX 3060 and I can play all games I've tried at 4K but with reduced settings. Even Cyberpunk 2077 on low I can get 60 fps and it still looks great.

To be honest, it looks WAY better to set options to medium or even low to get 4K than to run at 1440p on high settings. But I can understand some newer games can be demanding, so you can always have 1440p as a fallback if you really can't get it to work.

And the 2080 Ti good, you should have no problem running 4K.
 

xDiVolatilX

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
327
Yes, this monitor supports 1440p fine. However, the image is softer, so will look worse than a 1440p native monitor. But I'd say it would still be acceptable, if not ideal.

In any case, I'm running this on an RTX 3060 and I can play all games I've tried at 4K but with reduced settings. Even Cyberpunk 2077 on low I can get 60 fps and it still looks great.

To be honest, it looks WAY better to set options to medium or even low to get 4K than to run at 1440p on high settings. But I can understand some newer games can be demanding, so you can always have 1440p as a fallback if you really can't get it to work.

And the 2080 Ti good, you should have no problem running 4K.
Thanks for the good info bro. Have you tried overclocking it a bit? I would love to know if it could squeeze a few extra hz out of it? Right in the nvidia control panel you can try set a custom resolution & see if It'll hold 150hz or 155hz? It's not uncommon for a monitor to be able ro OC 5-10 hz more easily without any compromise in image quality LOL if it hits 165hz. If I do buy it I will definitely try but curious if n e 1 else has already OC'd with success?
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,317
I tried 150Hz and 148Hz. No signal.

There is a setting for local dimming, I think the choice is Auto or Off. In any case, I haven't really been able to tell a difference.

I set HDR and local dimming to off so I could use the BFI mode on PC (which is great) and I use HDR local dimming on the PS5 (since PS5 doesn't support VRR yet and the framerates are too low for BFI to work well).
 

xDiVolatilX

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
327
I tried 150Hz and 148Hz. No signal.

There is a setting for local dimming, I think the choice is Auto or Off. In any case, I haven't really been able to tell a difference.

I set HDR and local dimming to off so I could use the BFI mode on PC (which is great) and I use HDR local dimming on the PS5 (since PS5 doesn't support VRR yet and the framerates are too low for BFI to work well).

Ah interesting. Can you do me a favor and see if it will run HDR ON with local dimming off? I ask because according to Hardware Unboxed local dimming on adds +10ms of input lag while local dimming of it is 0.5ms extremely low.
 

xDiVolatilX

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
327
Yes, you can turn off local dimming and still use HDR.
Bro I really appreciate your input. Thank you very much. That is great news. It can run HDR at extremely low input lag + super low response time with 4k or 1440p with a very high PPI. This is looking fantastic along with VRR this could be the sweet spot for monitors right now heavily considering this is performs superbly.
 

xDiVolatilX

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
327
One more question! Do you use ALLM? Auto low latency mode? Is it tied to any input like displayport or hdmi only? or is it for consoles? I wonder what input activates it & which inputs grey it out? I wonder if the ALLM even makes any difference for a PC connected to DisplayPort 1.4 using DSC 1.2.
 

Roen

n00b
Joined
Aug 7, 2021
Messages
45
I am having same issues while playing Witcher 3 and Escape from Tarkov. Also noticed some glitches while watching YouTube and browsing Amazon. Only solution is to drop refresh rate to 120Hz.

I am using 3080Ti from Gigabyte, while using hdmi cable I can select 4k 144hz 12bit is 12bit even a thing?

Contacted Gigabytes support, regarding the issue.View attachment 392563View attachment 392565
This exact same thing happens on the Gigabyte FV43U! IIRC it was reported to FV43U thread here hon hardforum, and I also recall seeing it in FV43U user reviews on either newegg or amazon.
Gigabyte firmware bug, Gigabyte hardware bug, or a panel bug (if both are made by the same panel manufacturer), your guess is as good as mine.

is 12bit even a thing?
10bit at 4k 120 requires 40 Gbps bandwidth, and most panels/TVs can't do more even though the max HDMI 2.1 bandwidth is 48Gbps on paper.
12bit at 4k 120 would require the full 48Gbps...from both the display as well as the cable. It's highly likely that chroma subsampling would be forced on.

Hello to all the owners of the FI32U. I am a prospective buyer for this monitor.

I just returned my FV43U only because the PPI Isn't as good when running it in 1440p resolution at 43" because my Seahawk 2080Ti EK-X can't run high enough frames in 4k so I run 1440p on demanding games until I can upgrade to a 3080Ti if/when availability/prices stabilize, if not I'm willing to wait for the 4000 series etc hanging on to my 2080Ti as long as I can because dropping down to 1440p on a 4k monitor that is smaller like 32" with higher PPI than a 43" is more reasonable also clearer & crisper.

Which brings me to this FI32U
It will still look much blurrier than native. Note that everyone in that thread strongly recommends 1440p native over upscaling it on a 4k panel. "Run native, below native without upscaling, or go outside." <-- 4K does nothing to change that, judging from what I've read from people who have tried upscaling on 4k at 32". Why go for something that may look slightly less bad, if you can pick something that's gonna look good?

If you have to run below native it's much, much better to run 1/4 of native so you can make use of the integer scaling that's in the nvidia control panel so you don't get any blur at all. That means 1080p on a 4K native panel. If you keep the panel size reasonably small, as in, a size that would still be reasonable for 1920x1080 itself 'cause that's the amount of 2x2 size pixels you'd be rendering, you're going to get a great looking image. So that means going with 4K at 27" or smaller, since 27" is the largest 1080p is reasonable for. When you do this on a 27" you'll still have to move it back slightly (we're only talking 1 foot beyond the typical almost arm's length here) because you're gonna get an 80ppi image: one quarter of the 27" 4k panel's native ppi. If you sit close, you'd have to look for a 24-25" 4k panel if integer scaled 1080p is to look crisp.

The route I would prefer is to actually intentionally seek out a "lower" PPI panel so I could run things 1:1 without scaling and still have a relatively large image. You just won't be using all of the panel, which on a VA panel is fine imo because the blacks are deep enough you won't see the borders, whereas with IPS glow they could be distracting. Around 93 PPI is a fantastic sweet spot for the purpose of running sub-native resolutions with "older" cards at normal viewing distance without things looking pixelated. This requires either a 48 to 50" 4k native panel, or a 32" 1440p native panel. Those are all the 90-95 PPI options. That said, I realize there isn't too much out there right now in the way of 48-50" LCDs that are fast enough for gaming and you'd need that 3000 series card for HDMI 2.1. For the time being I'm sticking with 1440p native panels for my 2080 Super. Also consider a 32" 1440p panel if you don't like the idea of 27" 4k.

If you can put enough distance between yourself and the panel, there's a unique 38.5" 1440p, 76ppi 16:9 VA option as well. I'm curious to try it because it'd be amazing for old low res games to make them bigger without having to apply unsightly scaling algorithms. I haven't found any high quality in depth reviews of it and I'm sort of expecting it to have sluggish pixel response and/or overshoot and/or flickering with VRR enabled because from what I gather, LC-Power are a budget brand.
 
Last edited:

Burke888

Gawd
Joined
Aug 1, 2004
Messages
547
Does anyone know if new firmware has been released and if there is a changelog? I'm hesistant to update my panel due to the glitches PukasJG mentioned.
 

cybereality

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
8,317
Does anyone know if new firmware has been released and if there is a changelog? I'm hesistant to update my panel due to the glitches PukasJG mentioned.
F02 is the only version, and I flashed it to check and it didn't change anything.

I've only seen that glitch on the image that was posted in this thread. Of the games and movies I've watched, I've never seen it happen. So it's not like it's everywhere, it seems like a rare thing on certain content.
 
Joined
May 20, 2016
Messages
986
I'm thinking of getting this monitor soon. Does anyone can confirm if the "gsync"/VRR works through HDMI on Ampere cards with this monitor? Or do you have to use displayport?
 
Top