Anyone tried 2990WX with Windows 7 x64?

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by spacedrone808, Sep 1, 2018.

  1. spacedrone808

    spacedrone808 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    96
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
  2. AXm77

    AXm77 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    128
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    I don't think so. I did try to update to newest BIOS in my 1950X (Asrock X399M) and it prevent Win7 to boot (hang out on logo animation).
     
  3. The Cobra

    The Cobra 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,593
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Windows 7 is not supported for both the 19XX and 29xx series Threadripper CPUs. I tried on my 1950x and all I got were BSODs. Windows 10 only.
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  4. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,090
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
  5. AXm77

    AXm77 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    128
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    My 1950X have no problem with 7:

    image.jpg

    and with newest BIOS-es (pre 29xx series) I did install Win7 on Gigabyte X399 Gaming7, MSI Gaming Pro and Asrock MATX boards
     
  6. cyberguyz

    cyberguyz Gawd

    Messages:
    694
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    I got the brainwave to install Win7 a while back on my 1950x. Windows 7 really does not like Win 7 and NVMe drives at all as it sits out of the box. could not get it installed without creating a driver disk containing all the AMD chipset and Samsung NVMe. Too much hassle. So I simply put my Win10 image back on (I always make a boot drive image before doing anything major on my system).
     
  7. majic12

    majic12 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    137
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    How is that w8100 working for you?
     
  8. prne10

    prne10 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    218
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    For giggles I threw in my old windows 8.1 SSD on my 2990wx, and it bawed at me about not being supported.
     
  9. chithanh

    chithanh Gawd

    Messages:
    757
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Recent AGESA for Raven/Pinnacle Ridge dropped support for old versions of ACPI that Windows 7 requires to boot.
    So only Windows 8.1 and newer. And even 8.1 will stop receiving Windows Updates unless you work around this.
     
  10. AXm77

    AXm77 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    128
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Good, for Solidworks assemblies with more than "couple" parts.
     
  11. spacedrone808

    spacedrone808 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    96
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    AXm77, please could you remind me what mobo do you have exactly and the last version of bios which supports Windows7?
     
  12. spacedrone808

    spacedrone808 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    96
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    So, i suppose 1950X is the last cpu which is possible to use under Windows 7 wing..
     
  13. cyberguyz

    cyberguyz Gawd

    Messages:
    694
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    I've never been able to get Win 7 to install on mine without a buttload of drivers to install as a part of the process - the install crashes or hangs every time. I am way too lazy to make such a driver disk or integrate the drivers in the install image. So I guess I have to run my 1950X with Win10.
     
  14. spacedrone808

    spacedrone808 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    96
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Axm77 confirmed that it is possible.

    Still we don't have any confirmation that somebody made 2990x running under Windows 7. I've searched web and youtube without any luck.
    Pretty sure that it is impossible..
     
  15. Monkey God

    Monkey God Mangina Full of Sand

    Messages:
    6,722
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    1950X definitely is possible as I run it myself on a Zenith Extreme mobo with W7. Don't know about the 2nd gen ones. If I had the hardware I would try by taking an existing working 1950X/Win7 setup and replacing the CPU.
     
    spacedrone808 likes this.
  16. spacedrone808

    spacedrone808 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    96
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Please report back if you do so. I am very curios regarding this cpu.
     
  17. mashie

    mashie Mawd Gawd

    Messages:
    4,167
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Just run Windows 7 as a virtual machine and the CPU/driver issues are moot. A bit of GFX pass through and gaming should work just fine as well.
     
  18. Jandor

    Jandor [H]Lite

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Take care Microsoft did some update in February or March 2017 which prevents W7 to boot on UEFI. The evil thing is that the update was optional but Microsoft passed it as mandatory and so about all Asus mainboards froze at boot. There is no real solution to the problem except to put your BIOS in full CSM mode is the option exists. Other option : hide the upgrade in Windows 7 Pro before updating. The last option : full install and avoid the update and stop them to february 2017.
     
  19. Jandor

    Jandor [H]Lite

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    You lose benefits of the hardware by running virtual machines. The problem is to run all cores at full speed on Windows 7 (Pro).
    For instance 3DSmax 2018 takes full advantage of all cores and hyperthreading for rendering (up to 128 cores real or virtual core). And Autodesk Robot Structural Analysis 2019 alos uses all cores for structural computation. Problem is you can get Robot 2019 by upgrading your older Building Design Ultimate or an older Robot license, you could upgrade every year. Now Autodesk AEC collections are not for sale but only for rent. If you have bought an older Autodesk product and upgraded it up to 2018 or 2019, and now stop the upgrades, your licence may be rendered obsolete by some Microsoft mandatory update on Windows 10 only, and you won't be able to do anything. Autodesk won't support their software as it becomes obsolete on Windows 10. They will tell you to go for their solution to rent. Microsoft Windows 10 updates is even known to uninstall working Adobe software, and Adobe won't help you reacquiring a license for free when trying to reinstall.
    No such problems on Windows 7 Pro ! Also Windows 7 pro seems to do very well with multi-core, even better than Windows 10 Pro.
     
  20. mashie

    mashie Mawd Gawd

    Messages:
    4,167
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    31 cores with HT is better than not running at all though.
     
  21. spacedrone808

    spacedrone808 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    96
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Mashie, thanks for pointing out! Could you name the number of this update?
     
  22. Jandor

    Jandor [H]Lite

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Depends on your motherboard, your settings in the BIOS, and your avoidance of about 5 incompatible Windows 7 updates you have to hide during the update process.
    Not done myself, but based on the return of several people running Threadripper 1950 on Windows 7 Pro very stable as they say. First problem is to downgrade the PCIe x16 3.0 to 2.0 in the BIOS if the BIOS is able to do so. USb2/3 thing is the same as for Ryzen AM4 boards. Not a big deal.
    Not sure why 32 cores wouldn't work as the 16 core part does. On Windows 10 pro the limitation is well known and affects efficiency. Threadripper 2990 will be slower than 2950. It is related to the thread scheduler and Windows kernel and it seems there is no workaraound. Windows 7 Pro has no such limitation.
     
    spacedrone808 likes this.
  23. Jandor

    Jandor [H]Lite

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Not sure what update you're asking. The update of Windows 7 pro to avoid against UEFI is KB3133977. If you installed it, you better had not an Asus motherboard, UEFI activated at install. Every change at boot will trigger the secure boot who will block your system at boot. Crazy stuff that can happen on a old working systems.
     
    spacedrone808 likes this.
  24. spacedrone808

    spacedrone808 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    96
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Thanks for answer!
     
  25. DogsofJune

    DogsofJune 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,293
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Fixed. The statistics of finding a high end processor using an older OS is pretty slim.
     
  26. mashie

    mashie Mawd Gawd

    Messages:
    4,167
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    That is why I suggest running Windows 7 as a virtual machine in VMWare on top of say Linux (which I do on all my systems). The underlying hardware will be invisible to the Win 7 install.
     
  27. Jandor

    Jandor [H]Lite

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    What is the best performance you can get from running a VMware virtual machine on Linux ? Compared to what to expect without virtualization. I believe you can make a reservation of like 30 cores/60threads with 100GB out of 128 GB into Vmware. Can you expect full compute power of those cores in VMware ? I can imagine there is no huge need of a graphics card with Cuda or OpenCl once you have something close to a Threadripper 2990 running with 100GB of RAM. However what is the best graphics hardware you can virtualize in VMware ?
     
  28. mashie

    mashie Mawd Gawd

    Messages:
    4,167
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Some people set up VT-d for GPU pass through, at that point they can do gaming with full hardware acceleration in their Windows VM's. I don't know what the license limitations are for VMWare Workstation Pro when it comes to assigning cores and RAM, I only have 6c/12t/64GB in my main box to play with.
     
  29. spacedrone808

    spacedrone808 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    96
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    So we still don't have any real life confirmation that 2990wx works in Win 7.
    No info, no content on youtube.
    Anyone?
     
  30. prne10

    prne10 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    218
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Do you mind if I ask why anyone would run a 2990wx using windows 7?
     
  31. spacedrone808

    spacedrone808 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    96
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    How typical. I am interested personally, can't say anything regarding others.
     
    ZodaEX likes this.
  32. prne10

    prne10 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    218
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    From AMD:

    *OS Support
    Windows 10 - 64-Bit Edition
    RHEL x86 64-Bit
    Ubuntu x86 64-Bit
    *Operating System (OS) support will vary by manufacturer.

    I have a 2990wx running Ubuntu. I could test Windows 7 for you, but you need to give me a good reason.

    What is the use case for Windows 7?
     
    DogsofJune likes this.
  33. spacedrone808

    spacedrone808 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    96
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017

    As you know Ryzen 7 is not supported also. Amd line. But in fact it is working.

    The reason is simple: i don't like Win 10. But not yet ready to fully switch to Linux.
    I am doing many production work: gfx, 3d, photo, music, video.
    And i need time to optimize my workflow.

    If you find time to test it out i am sure that many people will appreciate your testing job.
     
  34. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,090
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    why dont you test it?
     
    prne10 and DogsofJune like this.
  35. spacedrone808

    spacedrone808 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    96
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    I need to buy to test it.
    That's too expensive just for the test.
     
    ZodaEX likes this.
  36. N4CR

    N4CR 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,518
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Win7 keys are under 10 bucks bro...

    If I can get zen+ working on win7 (win10 is pc cancer imo) then surely a 2990x would be fine. Hardest part is usb drivers (use the gigabyte usb driver tool, worked on my msi lol) and switch bios to legacy mode..
     
  37. spacedrone808

    spacedrone808 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    96
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    To buy cpu, not win 7 key. I just want to be exactly sure that 2990x runs win 7.
     
  38. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,090
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    no it is not supported. there is a reason you cant find any info on it...
     
  39. AXm77

    AXm77 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    128
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    To spice things up, after some conversation with MihaiN, I retested X399M with latest BIOS 3.50 and it working with Win7 .
     
    spacedrone808 likes this.
  40. ZodaEX

    ZodaEX 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,660
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Lol you thought he was talking about the cost of the Windows license. XD