Anyone tinker with the new Nvidia Virtualizable CPU's?

Discussion in 'Virtualized Computing' started by Grimlaking, Sep 17, 2018.

  1. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,365
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    We are interested perhaps with our Citrix VM's to speed up the applications shared over Citrix for our end users. Anyone see any real benefit to using these?

    Specifically the Tesla M10 cards.

    To reiterate we would be running Citrix Hosts as guests on a ESXi host with one or more of these cards installed specifically to accelerate normal non 3d apps on a 2016 server running Citrix for our couple hundred end users. (multiple vm hosts on multiple ESXi hosts of course.)

    Curious if anyone else is doing this and what their experience has been.
     
    Outlaw85 likes this.
  2. Outlaw85

    Outlaw85 Gawd

    Messages:
    650
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Following.

    I don't have the same use case but we were looking at the same cards for vdi users.
     
  3. Eickst

    Eickst [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,766
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    The performance is great on these when we tested them, licensing not so much. Retail on the vdi license for grid is like $50 a year.....per user......
     
  4. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,365
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Ouch, per user? Yeesh. Still compared to some of our other spends for lets say 600 users 30k a year.. yea that's still a slap in the face.
     
  5. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,365
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Maybe if I tell Nvidia if we order some I want a 2080 ti? ;) LOL.
     
  6. Eickst

    Eickst [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,766
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    It's concurrent user at least...so....that helps maybe?
     
  7. Grimlaking

    Grimlaking 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,365
    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    I'm still looking at average peak around 400 concurrent users.. still that's not exactly terrible if the performance gain is worth it. Especially with IE under 2016 rendering maps and such puts a good bit more load.
     
  8. Eickst

    Eickst [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,766
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    For our tests they felt like desktops. All subjective for sure, you'd have to up the license to the workstation one if you wanted to do CAD stuff. The only thing we ever had problems with was full screen videos, with scene changes or large scale pixel changes it would stutter a frame. That's more vdi protocol than anything else, we could never get rid of it. If our users didn't use so much full screen video for stuff we would have gone full VDI. Since we couldn't get that ironed out....normal desktops win. It's a wash cost wise for us anyway with the licensing costs of VDI, backend infrastructure, etc.
     
    danswartz likes this.