Anyone play GRID PC?

jamesrb

[H]ard|Gawd
Is it just me or is this too hard? I am not a racing expert or anything, but on Basic difficulty I finish so far behind that I can't even see the second to last place car.

On other games like GT4 or Dirt 2, I can at least win the beginner races and place in the middle on some harder races. Playing with a G27.

Is it just me or is this too hard? I am not a racing expert or anything, but on Basic difficulty I finish so far behind that I can't even see the second to last place car.

On other games like GT4 or Dirt 2, I can at least win the beginner races and place in the middle on some harder races. Playing with a G27.

No, it is. The controls are too wacky. The other cars cut corners at like 200mph but you try to even tap to the right or left over 60mph and your car spins out of control.

I have to admit that I never had any issues playing - I used to play it on my 360 pad or my Logitech Momo, but I haven't played it in ages. I really enjoyed that game, even though a lot of people were bothered it's not 'sim' enough.

Yes, one of my favorite racing games.

Controls are not wacky, you just don't know how to drive. :p Seriously once you learn how to drift in the game and how to corner it's easy as pie. I'm in first place every match, with 600k points at least in Drift Matches.

Oh and cockpit view in Eyefinity is absolutely amazing!

I actually found the wheel gave somewhat of an unfair advantage when set up properly, moreso than in other games. I always got the impression that this game rewards excessive steering angle—some turns you can just make the thing work by cranking hard on the wheel, taking corners much faster than what I could do with a 360 controller and its limited range (caused by speed/slip sensitive input code). It can be ridiculous sometimes, like taking the Ford chicanes at Le Mans at over 200mph, something I found impossible with the controller.