Anyone have pics of Westinghouse 37" LCD??

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Deutch420, Jan 2, 2006.

  1. ToxicAdam

    ToxicAdam Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    247
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Looks fine to me... obviously your picture setting are wrong or your broadcast provider is sending you some crappy video feeds. Don't blame Westinghouse.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. ToxicAdam

    ToxicAdam Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    247
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
  3. Kherozene

    Kherozene Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    240
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    that is sweet! is that 1080p?
     
  4. Mercyreaper

    Mercyreaper n00b

    Messages:
    49
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Not to mention that if it is fine from one video feed and another one has issues, then the monitor cannot be the problem. If it was bad on all video feeds then ya monitor for sure, use a little half stepping in troubleshooting :).
     
  5. WicKeDcHilD

    WicKeDcHilD Gawd

    Messages:
    568
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    hdtv isnt 1080p, hd signals are 720p or 1080i :)
     
  6. ToxicAdam

    ToxicAdam Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    247
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
  7. jakescakes

    jakescakes Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    360
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    i really am having the line occuring on every channel, its basically 95% now. even SD channels.

    Its like the monitor needs to be adjusted a few pixels, its not center. Im gettin frustrated,
     
  8. junfan

    junfan Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    234
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    That's the cable box, not the TV, I have a cable box made by the same people have the same problem with my Sony HDTV.
     
  9. hamm3rhead

    hamm3rhead Gawd

    Messages:
    537
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004

    What signal are you sending from the tuner 1080i, 720p? What's the source cable, OTA, Sattellite? Are you on specifically HD channels? IF the image is perfect from one source and looks crappy with another, investigate the source...
     
  10. bobbydole

    bobbydole Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    354
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    My guess is that it's your cable box and not the TV. I do get a line much like you when watching NBC programs in HD, that was an NBC problem not much I could do about it.

    I think that white stuff in the last picture is a problem from the source also. What are you using cable, dish or what?

    I had both of these problems, but mythtv was the cause, i sort of doubt you're using that..
     
  11. poison123

    poison123 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    393
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Ya flippin NBC. The Left most pixels are locked to Orange during their HD broadcasts :(
     
  12. jakescakes

    jakescakes Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    360
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    [​IMG]

    well, I hooked the hdbox up to the other TV in the house which is a toshiba 65inch HD rear projection. The line did NOT show up on that tv on any of the channels, HD or SD. However, when I first got the hdbox from COX the picture looked AMAZING on that TV. When I hooked it up again, now it seems that its not even as good as it was. Could this be because the TV has not been in use for over a week. Or should I try exchanging the cablebox for another, would the cable provider let me.
     
  13. ToxicAdam

    ToxicAdam Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    247
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    My first pics off a standard DVD player.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  14. nintendk

    nintendk n00b

    Messages:
    39
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
  15. MentatYP

    MentatYP Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    497
    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Good work! Avia should be the first DVD anybody displays on their new TVs :) How did you find the calibration? Did the TV calibrate well, or did you encounter any problems/deficiencies like color balance or contrast?
     
  16. Gun_Strife

    Gun_Strife 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,344
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    curious as to how one acquires this Avia dvd
    and btw ive only seen a lil bit of shadow skill but it looks interesting and nice pics
     
  17. ToxicAdam

    ToxicAdam Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    247
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    At first I couldn't calibrate it... the black level part wasn't working for me.. the two bars wasn't showing up... then I realize this wasn't a CRT! I raised brightness then the two bars popped on screen lol

    Here my dvd player component settings

    brightness: 58

    contrast: 63

    saturation: 45

    hue: 0

    color temp: neutral

    sharpness: 40

    backlight: 0

    Out of the box this thing is way too bright, have to set the backlight to 0.
     
  18. ToxicAdam

    ToxicAdam Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    247
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    All wrong!!

    LCD is a little harder to calibrate then I thought... especially with me being a perfectionist :rolleyes:

    I needed to take my time and do this... here's my optimal settings


    brightness: 58

    contrast: 57

    saturation: 44

    hue: +2

    color temp: neutral

    sharpness: 20

    backlight: 0

    Contrast and saturation/hue were my big mistakes.
     
  19. junfan

    junfan Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    234
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    What connection?
     
  20. ToxicAdam

    ToxicAdam Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    247
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
  21. Taipans

    Taipans [H]Lite

    Messages:
    66
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Will the settings set effect all connections, or can you set up the monitors settings for "each" connecthing? I never tried it, doubted it, but I'm hoping so anyways. That would make it much easier to get it setup for XBOX / PC / DVD watching.

    Thanks!
     
  22. bobbydole

    bobbydole Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    354
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004

    Yes I think each connection can be setup differently.
     
  23. Teecee

    Teecee Gawd

    Messages:
    928
    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Here are some of my pics of my Westy 37". I just use it as a TV but have been thinking about picking up a Dell 30" or another Westy 37". I also have a Westy 42" in the bedroom. Of course the picture does not do the TV justice. I have the TV mounted on a LCD ARM that will allow me to tilt the TV out so my wife can watch it while in the kitchen.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  24. mutazx

    mutazx Gawd

    Messages:
    973
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    I've installed several of those mounts... May I suggest a couple of pieces of sticky felt where the mount-arm makes contact with the wall? I found that saves the wall from possible dings.

    (It does look like the cabling/zip ties may be performing the same duty)
     
  25. Teecee

    Teecee Gawd

    Messages:
    928
    Joined:
    May 31, 2005

    Will do. Good suggestion. I was skeptical about that mount but the TV is 20lbs under the limit and I have tried to pull it down and it doesnt budge. Since we are on the subject of mounts, do you know of a mount that can hold a 42" in a corner? I want the TV to be caddy corner.
     
  26. nhissan

    nhissan n00b

    Messages:
    51
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    thanks for the screens

    this lcd is totally awesome
     
  27. ToxicAdam

    ToxicAdam Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    247
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
  28. Mysticode

    Mysticode Gawd

    Messages:
    684
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    I am going to take a random guess.. and say you like white things?
     
  29. Ladicius

    Ladicius Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    380
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    I wanna wall mount mine too now :/
     
  30. ToxicAdam

    ToxicAdam Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    247
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    lol, it does look awesome
     
  31. firefx

    firefx n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    What setup is this?
     
  32. kmrivers

    kmrivers Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    211
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Those are actually my pics and you would be right :)
     
  33. Johnie

    Johnie Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    281
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Teecee, where did you get that mount at and how much did you pay?
     
  34. stevephhs016

    stevephhs016 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    99
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
  35. ThreeDee

    ThreeDee [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,635
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Ninja Scroll ...great movie

    I am seriously considering getting one of these bad boys should my proverbial ship ever come in .. :p

    [​IMG]
    [F]old|[H]ard
     
  36. mutazx

    mutazx Gawd

    Messages:
    973
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Not quoting firefx, but his quote of SLiCkFX, as I can't find the original damn post for love nor money.... but, I'm diggin' the PRIDE FC collection in the first photo! :cool:
     
  37. ToxicAdam

    ToxicAdam Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    247
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Well it matches everything nicely. :)
     
  38. ToxicAdam

    ToxicAdam Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    247
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Click for large version
    [​IMG]

    Click for large version
    [​IMG]


    Click for large version
    [​IMG]


    Click for large version
    [​IMG]

    No large version needed
    [​IMG]

    Click for large version
    [​IMG]
     
  39. Shava

    Shava Gawd

    Messages:
    762
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    So now are you back to black things adam??

    Black looks good too.
     
  40. ToxicAdam

    ToxicAdam Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    247
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    That's a friends setup. :)